We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very pleasant studio”
other travelers have booked this property
The Interior (night ambiance)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Interior (night ambiance)
Orient Bay The Residence
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
The Interior (night ambiance)
Orient Bay
The Residence
Swimming Poom
The Sofa
The King Size Bed
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bathroom
Bathroom
The Interior
Orient Bay
swimming pool
swimming pool
swimming pool
entrance of the residence
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin, St Martin / St Maarten

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
jel1228
Cedar Key, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very pleasant studio”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
4
people found this review helpful

This is a review of room 4309 in the Saba building at Mount Vernon. This complex is a defunct hotel where the units are now privately owned so the condition of each will vary considerably depending on how the owner has renovated it. Amaury and Thibault, two brothers from France who own Bistrot Caraibes restaurant in Grand Case, own several units in this complex. 4309 has been very nicely renovated and is well equipped with a small kitchenette with all the kitchen supplies needed. A car is really necessary at this location - really anywhere you stay on the island. We picked up the key to the studio at the brothers restaurant in Grand Case at their request. So after getting our rental car we drove to Grand Case - 30 mins, another 10 to the studio. You leave the key in the studio when you leave. The only thing I would be aware of (not related to the unit) is the road that leads up the hill to Mount Vernon is both long and in disrepair. (many pot holes and speed bumps) Not a big deal but a bone- jarring ride each time you leave or return. The easiest parking for this unit is on the lower dirt parking lot near the tennis courts - plenty of parking and shortest walk to the unit. The unit has a partial beach view which is very nice from the balcony. The room is equivalent to a high end hotel room as far as the renovation is concerned and we found it very well done. There is a dishwasher and a clothing washer so you really do not need to bring nearly as many clothes as you think. You dry your clothes on a clothes hanger on the balcony which works well. You will do a little walking from the parking lot to your room or the room to the beach on inclines but I can't say it is a problem unless you have some disability. There is a very good pool that is well maintained at the complex with chairs available. WIFI/internet were very good in the unit. We were provided with a key to a small safe as well. The bed was very comfortable. There is a TV with French and American stations. The air conditioning was quite and effective. We ate one dinner at the brother's restaurant and had a good meal there. They are both very friendly and you will enjoy meeting them and they will enjoy meeting you.
We typically walked the beach in the morning to the "Good Morning" cafe behind La Playa for breakfast. (good place for breakfast - 15 min walk) (You will typically see nude couples from Club Orient walking this end of the beach early in the morning. The entire beach is topless of course) There is also a Casino market near the cafe where you can pick up some groceries. The best grocery store nearby is "Simply" which is a 5 minute drive from Mount Vernon on the way to Grand Case. They carry many French imported products. We shopped there and prepared meals/lunches in our room some of the time - the table on the balcony makes a pleasant place to have meals. I would recommend this unit.

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Road to complex in disrepair
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Reviewed April 15, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: March 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bsfindme
Greenfield, In
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We loved the room & the view”
Reviewed April 7, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This is our second year in this same room and we loved it, again! Comfortable bed, great view on the best beach on the island. What more could you ask when on vacation?

Date of stay: March 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewed March 2, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: January 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hollyShel...
Shelby Twp., MI
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Our other home”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We have stayed at the studios several times and are never disappointed. We love Orient Beach and it's atmosphere and culinary scene as well as the restaurants of Grand Case. This is an ideal location at an ideal price. It is not however a hotel and if you are a room service kind of a traveler, this may not work out. We enjoy the relaxation of fending for ourselves, making some simple meals if we feel like it and not being bothered by anyone. The studios are supplied as advertised with adequate dishes and cookware to make a meal.

The property of Mt. Vernon continues to improve every time we visit. The pool is beautiful and clean and there were alot of studios being renovated while we were there. This property can only get better. Mt. Vernon is built on the side of a large hill, so if you have trouble walking you should be advised that you may feel like you are always walking uphill. But take your time, because the walk is worth it.

We have stayed at all of the other hotel properties on Orient Beach in the past. Alamanda, LHoste and Esmerelda. Once we found the advertisement for Studio SXM and tried it, we felt we had found a home away from home.

Date of stay: February 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Reviewed January 26, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: January 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Karen A
Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“a great place to stay”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We loved our stay at our Orient Bay Condo...Our unit was the perfect size with a great view of the ocean...we were a first floor unit in the Antigua building and we were very happy....sitting out on the patio with an unobstructed view of the ocean ...as good as it gets!!!.. The condo is simple, but nicely done with most necessary equipment. If you happen to like a frozen drink..pack a small blender...And one suggestion we have is that you pack some kind of a meal for when you arrive...or make sure you stop at the Simply market before you reach the condo..if you are like us, you have travelled all day and are tired and a bit testy and really want to just relax...we were in a hurry to get to condo, so thought we would go out later for groceries....then so tired we were just going to have the pizza there ( which is wonderful) but it was closed on Saturday....so out to grocery store when its the last thing you want to do.......Your first impression of Mount Vernon will be a bit negative....very sad that the reception area has been converted to a parking garage, and the walk down to the condo it looks run down and unkempt...but don't judge to quickly...once you get to your lovely condo and the next day when you are not tired...you will fall in love.....lots of restaurants to walk to on the beach....there are about six at the Orient Mall which is at Bikini Beach....the beach is quiet and safe to walk at night. The island is easy to get around...Automax was an excellent and reliable car rental...and the comments about Amaury are so true...he answers his emails promptly and is there for you when you need him....awesome

Date of stay: January 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the view and location
Liked least: the property was not in great condition- but I think they are working on it....
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing