We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best vacations I have ever had!”
Review of Alamanda Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alamanda Resort
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2010

I know my review is almost 1 year later but I did wanted to make mention of the wonderful Alamanda resort.
The hotel, the staff, the village, the beach, the food (in St Martin) the people
Everything was awesome. Never left to go to Dutch side. We were French all the way!
Made some really nice friends here, very intimate resort with so much to do on Orient Beach. The complimentary breakfast was delish! PS-I'm a New Yorker on the picky side. This is not the Ritz Carlton, but who cares? I'm not on vacation to stay in my room!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAsalesoffice, Directeur général at Alamanda Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2017

Thank you for posting your experience at Alamanda Resort on TripAdvisor following your stay with us.

Thank you again for your kind recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip in Sint-Marteen!

Best Regards,

Vincent Reymond
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (510)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 510 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2010

This was the third time in four years that my business partner, myself and our spouses have stayed at the Alamanda. Unfortunately if you don't perform basic maintenance, especially in the Caribbean, things go down hill fast. The mattresses are well beyond needing replacement, the shower curtains are partially hung, there's mold on the wall under the ac unit, the towels are getting threadbare, etc.... There used to be a small and intimate bar outside by the pool but that is now gone. Many of the old staff left to go work somewhere else so alot of the charm is gone too. Of course the location still can't be beat, just across the "road" from the beach. However, I can't justify the five star prices for what is quickly becoming an interstate exchange motel. You can rent a villa with another couple for the same price.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tallcoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAsalesoffice, Directeur général at Alamanda Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2017

Thank you for posting your experience at Alamanda Resort on TripAdvisor following your stay with us.

Thank you again for your kind recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip in Sint-Marteen!

Best Regards,

Vincent Reymond
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

First this place is heaven!! And my wife and I have done it all.
If you go onto the Alamanda website, (where you have to pick English or French) and the music comes on, you are on the right site.
We just got back after nine nights on Feb. 13th 2010.
If I could include our "Smilebox", (will see how I might be able to get it to you), you will see that it is just what you see on their site. My pictures are even better.
We have traveled and stayed all over the Carribean. This topped everything!!
My wife and I are not easy to satisfy. We live in CT a few miles from NYC and, so you know, HATE stuffy. Been there and done that so many times.
No way without going there yourself can you really understand what a great vacation this is.
What you see on their website does not even compare to what you get. For those of you that travel alot know that is not usual. Pictures are somtimes taken when things were at there best.
NOT so with this place!
Anyone who may have read a few negitive reviews, ( 90% are great), they are a laugh, and from people who have traveled little.
I read on line from a couple that was their when we were and saw their complaints!
How can people who are in absolute Heaven complain? We know as have seen these people for years. Cause they would be miserable at the Four Seasons. You know, they hate their spouses, and come to the islands mad, and leave mad, and are unset about the money they spent.
I will tell the truth.
We rented a car, as we alway's do, on any Island, even the one's that are concidered "dangerous". We cover the whole island and miss little.
Also go to and check out every resort near by and every restaurant. And we will stay at the best and eat the best. Every day and every night.
We only live once!!
Now if you like stuffy and boaring, can stay in the hills, at the Radison.
Been their and done that. And a hand is always waiting for you to park your car. NO DOGS around. Probably would shoot then if they came close to the property.
Ready to have fun, yet expect to still spend a good amount of money. If you let money stand in your way, you will not be happy.
GO TO ALAMANDA!!
Do not go to Esmaralda, ( the sister resort that you will pay more for and not be on the beach unless you get the $1000.00 or more room, also now owned by Concord), or god forbid The Princess, or any of the other resorts up on the hill on Orient Bay.
When you finally pull into the Alamanda parking lot, not easy to find, but you will always remember, no one will parl your car. Will be met, if at night by Franklin, and you will love him. If in the morning you will be met by Tiffany and you will love her too. Always 24 hour service. Be Careful. Some Hotels on the beach give you a telephone number to call and NO ONE there. Pretty scarey late at night even though Orient Bay is completely safe. But having travelled on many islands can be frightful at night when you arrive in the dark.
Wake up to the best time of your life, and we mean that!!
Watch the sunrise from you room, have a great breakfast under the best trees you have ever sat under, walk by the pool, and steps from you are held private chairs and umbrella's on the beach. And I mean, just like the Alamanda web site shows, and nice sandy path to you great rest!
And it does not stop there. All day on the Beach you will have fun and entertainment. Nothing like the stuffy resorts. Eight really fun restuarants on the beach. Nothing like New York or CA. Put Venice Beach in CA, together with the best beaches on Long Island, and through in Italy and France.
Than Dinner at night. Will list the best. Forget the lolos. Get get that crap at home! But be ready to spend some money, that you will not regret. We can spend the same amount just in a restaurant near home, but NOT LIKE THIS.
Fun restaurants in the Village just behind you, and entertainment too.
Grand Case is just two miles away.
Go to L'Auberge Gourmande, Le Cottage. L'Escapade, Le Pressoir, Le Tastevin. and Le Calfornia.
On the beach don't miss any of "The five Stars" Especially Kontiki Beach and of course Bikini Beach, they run one after the other as you walk along, just like in France.
And when you get back to Alamanda, you will be wellcomed HOME!!
With no hands held out!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rwcrans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAsalesoffice, Directeur général at Alamanda Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2017

Thank you for posting your experience at Alamanda Resort on TripAdvisor following your stay with us.

Thank you again for your kind recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip in Sint-Marteen!

Best Regards,

Vincent Reymond
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

We just came back last week from a 5 day stay at the Alamanda. We didn't see many of the beaches on St Martin/Maarten, but Orient Bay is great as long as you don't mind some toplessness and occasional full nudity. The water is nice and clear, the sand is soft, and the beach is long and has plenty to do. We were travelling with our less-than-two-year-old and the water was a little rough for him - even though he loved it, there are probably better beaches for the very young.

Back to the hotel - the location is great. There is a little square behind it with several restaurants - most seemingly good. There is live music some nights, and there are young kids running around being kids. You are also right next to several beach bars and grills where you can eat and drink - some I think for partying at night. Some of these places are great for lunch and even have playgrounds behind them. You are also right next to places that you can set up jetskiing, parasailing, windsurfing, snorkeling, etc.

Our room (oceanview) was very spacious and clean. We had a large patio. I don't know if we lucked out with a newer bed, but we thought it was plenty comfortable unlike some of the other reviewers here. The pillows were good too, and trust me, I am a pillow snob. The kitchenette was adequate. The bathroom was fine and spacious. The room was definitely not luxury, but it was nice. My only partial complaint is that we paid extra for the oceanview and its not a full ocean view - its blocked quite a bit by trees etc. Still nice but not like some of the hotels I have been to where you are right smack dab overlooking the water. There is also a small dirt road between the hotel and the beach - this is true with all the hotels on Orient Bay, I believe.

The staff was very helpful (in particular Tiffany) with helping us with a variety of issues: setting up babysitters, making phone calls, helping us set up horseback riding with Lucky Stables (recommended, Danny was our guide and he was funny), trying to find a doctor on a Sunday, etc. Also, the continental breakfast was pretty good - croissants, fresh fruit, juice, fresh bread, etc. You could pay extra for eggs/bacon/etc. The breakfast area is nice.

The pool seemed fine but we didn't use it.

So, you are partially paying for location. And the location is great. I would definitely recommend this hotel to those wanting to stay on Orient Beach.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the_mcv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAsalesoffice, Directeur général at Alamanda Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2017

Thank you for posting your experience at Alamanda Resort on TripAdvisor following your stay with us.

Thank you again for your kind recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip in Sint-Marteen!

Best Regards,

Vincent Reymond
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

We stayed for a week in February with our almost two year old. We had a fantastic experience. Tiffany at the front desk made our experience even better. She found a great, reliable babysitter for us, which allowed us to really enjoy the vacation. And then I injured my toe - and she went above and beyond to help.
The beach was great. One thing that we learned is that you have to "claim" your beach chairs in the morning with your towel - not a big deal. The breakfast was really good. The rooms were nice and spacious - and I thought quite clean. Any of those reviewers who thought it wasn't clean enough must be happier at a large, sterile more commercial hotels. We personally like a bit of charm and character. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank careytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAsalesoffice, Directeur général at Alamanda Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2017

Thank you for posting your experience at Alamanda Resort on TripAdvisor following your stay with us.

Thank you again for your kind recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip in Sint-Marteen!

Best Regards,

Vincent Reymond
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

Room smelled like extremely nauseating mildew they opened the upstairs after waiting 2 days to finally figure out we werent going to be moved. Paid for ocnvw NOT . The upstairs wasnt any better. Yes. Tiffany is from the states u would think she would be HAPPY to live in such a beautiful place. Attitude please! Thats an understatement. This hotel appears to be overlooked in many ways by Concorde. & yes the beds r not too swift! Get a rental go out, eat on the island.! LoLOs! The restaurants r pretty $$$.( Find Andys)on the beach or Coco beach for breakfast. Only liked the Suite for dinner these r all within walking distance. Believe me better accommodations r on the Orient! It's a DUMP. Oh & they left numerous rooms unsecured I found a temp. knob for the frig. & hey it actually got cold after I attached it to ours! Good Luck if u book it. Really.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank carribbeansun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2010

We just returned from 5 fabulous days in St. Martin. The Alamanda Resort was true to many of the reviews we read prior to choosing to stay there. The location is fabulous if you want to be near Orient Beach and close to a few restaurants. Orient Beach is the best area on the island we believe but have only stayed near Maho Beach Resort on the Dutch side before. Tiffany at the front desk was a pleasure and Muriel was great to see and speak with every morning at breakfast. Our room was adequate but a bit dated for the cost. The bed was a horror show as others had mentioned and we usually don't have issues with hotel beds. We were located on the far end of the hotel which was a problem as well for noise. On Sunday, a local club cranked the music until 4am and there was nothing to be done to silence it in our room. We would stay there again for the location but recommend getting a room on the interior around the pool. Hopefully they will invest in some reasonable beds before your arrival.

Other things to mention: We did rent a car and found it really useful to explore outside of Orient Bay. Grand Case is a must for sunsets and dinners. Le Cottage was fantastic for dinner.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penguinboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orient Bay
2.6 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,818 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Playa Orient Bay
La Playa Orient Bay
#4 of 8 in Orient Bay
606 reviews
2.6 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.2 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#2 of 8 in Orient Bay
331 reviews
6.4 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamanda Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamanda Resort

Address: Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97071, St Martin / St Maarten
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range: $188 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alamanda Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alamanda Resort is situated on Orient Beach, the largest and most animated beach on St. Martin. Small in scale with its 42 deluxe Oceanfront rooms and suites, you'll vacation in style at Alamanda, St Martin's newest and most intimate full service hotel. The charming restaurant opens daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and hotel guests have charging privileges at 6 beachside restaurants serving French, Spanish or American cuisine. Multilingual staff, daily maid service, room service, 3000 sq ft convention center along with fax and internet facilities. If you are looking to relax, where better than poolside in fresh water pool, sunning in the patio or sipping a drink to the poolside bar lush tropical garden? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alamanda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamanda Hotel Orient Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing