We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location, friendly staff, nice amenities” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alamanda Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alamanda Resort
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff, nice amenities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

This resort is located right on Orient Bay, just steps from the beach. It's also located within walking distance of a supermarket and multiple restaurants. Free beach chairs are available at the closest beach bars. Location was perfect!
Staff was very helpful, knowledgeable, and friendly. They helped us with dinner reservations and information about the surrounding area. Free breakfast included several French pastries, fruit bowl, and drinks.
The room itself was very large and comfortable, with a king sized bed. It included a kitchenette, with a refrigerator, hot plate, and lots of gadgets (including a corkscrew!). We had both a shower and bathtub in our spacious bathroom. We also had a patio overlooking the pool with lounge chairs.
This hotel was just what we were looking for to relax and enjoy Orient Bay! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    189
    48
    32
    13
See reviews for
56
243
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

nice and clean good welcome i love the breakfast and the service good staff and watter front
we love st maartin from 9 years good restaurant like the cadre in the place du village very good food to and good service perfect for the familli
we comme back every years for vacation since 9 years

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is the second year in a row that my husband and I have spent 9 days at the Alamanda. Rooms are large, with handy kitchenette (microwave, fridge, small stove, glasses, utensils, etc.), large bathroom, safe in room, and lovely patio. Free breakfast of fruit and croissants is just right. Free internet access is so handy, even if it is a bit slow, but hey, you are on vacation! Beach is absolutely heavenly. We have been many, many places and never have felt so relaxed. Beach bar restaurants (Chez Leandra, Aloha, Kakao, Orange Fever are excellent but are only open until about 4:00). Housekeeping is very timely, efficient, and room was always very clean.

We will return next year, same time, same place!

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor both years as we didn't feel it was worth it to upgrade to the seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed only three nights at Alamanda earlier in May. Shared a duplex with my two adult children. Clean rooms, lots of space, wonderful breezes. In response to a negative review below, the ONLY bug I saw was a mosquito that bit me during the night because I left the porch doors wide open to enjoy the ocean sounds. (But it is the Caribbean afterall...) I loved the casual comfort of the place, the proximity to the gorgeous beach, the pleasant continental breakfasts and the friendly staff -- including the cleaning crew. Also really enjoyed the surrounding community. I don't go for high rise resorts so this hotel was perfect for us. Definitely coming back!

Room Tip: The two-floor duplex is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leucadia81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Spent 8 nights at Alamanda with no complaints-excellent value on St. Martin for the money. I'm amused at some of the comments....the 'smell' described is NOT cats, its the cleaning solution that they mop the floors and halls with-you know, sort of like our Pine Sol. This hotel was very clean, and I'm always amazed at what people think that they should get for the price they pay. Alamanda was very clean; breakfasts were fresh and excellent for being included. This hotel is absolutely the best for location-check it out on a map. Just a few steps to the beach and other hotels are much further away.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor-liked the large balcony and view as compared with the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pooppoop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

The resort is lovely and the staff is very friendly I must say the front desk agent Anou made our stay perfect he was so peasant and helpful when we asked for assistance with our room.The resort is right across from the beach and the restaurants are a short walk we enjoyed all of the restaurants especially little italy and le petite.The staff at breakfast at the hotel were always pleasant and we enjoyed it every morning.

Room Tip: We had a sunny corner suite which made our stay perfect1
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzy051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Having read reviews from past guests, I had a basic idea of what to expect.

The resort is quaint and low key. It is a 1 minute walk to the beach and water sports activities.
A short 5 minute walk to Orient Beach.

The property is maintained nicely.

The advertised continental breakfast is closely monitored - you'll pay more if you want fruit and cereal as opposed to either/or. The fruit was fresh and the criossants delicious.

There is a small market, pizza, a bakery and the restaurant square. The choices are limited, but everything was fresh. It would be nice to have a larger selection since there is no meal plan, but for a week stay, it was fine.

Go and see Patrick at the Bikini Beach bar - he makes a mean guavaberry colada.
All in all - a relaxing vacation and a beautiful place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twinsmom21787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orient Bay
2.6 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Playa Orient Bay
La Playa Orient Bay
#4 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#2 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Esmeralda Resort
Esmeralda Resort
#5 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#1 of 3 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamanda Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamanda Resort

Property: Alamanda Resort
Address: Baie Orientale (Orient Beach), Orient Bay 97071, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alamanda Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alamanda Resort is situated on Orient Beach, the largest and most animated beach on St. Martin. Small in scale with its 42 deluxe Oceanfront rooms and suites, you'll vacation in style at Alamanda, St Martin's newest and most intimate full service hotel. The charming restaurant opens daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and hotel guests have charging privileges at 6 beachside restaurants serving French, Spanish or American cuisine. Multilingual staff, daily maid service, room service, 3000 sq ft convention center along with fax and internet facilities. If you are looking to relax, where better than poolside in fresh water pool, sunning in the patio or sipping a drink to the poolside bar lush tropical garden? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, West Indies, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Alamanda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamanda Hotel Orient Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing