We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alamanda Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Alamanda Resort to your Saves list
Alamanda Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie Orientale (Orient Beach), Orient Bay 97071, St. Maarten-St. Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Spent 8 nights at Alamanda with no complaints-excellent value on St. Martin for the money. I'm amused at some of the comments....the 'smell' described is NOT cats, its the cleaning solution that they mop the floors and halls with-you know, sort of like our Pine Sol. This hotel was very clean, and I'm always amazed at what people think that they should get for the price they pay. Alamanda was very clean; breakfasts were fresh and excellent for being included. This hotel is absolutely the best for location-check it out on a map. Just a few steps to the beach and other hotels are much further away.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor-liked the large balcony and view as compared with the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pooppoop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    179
    44
    31
    13
See reviews for
54
228
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The resort is lovely and the staff is very friendly I must say the front desk agent Anou made our stay perfect he was so peasant and helpful when we asked for assistance with our room.The resort is right across from the beach and the restaurants are a short walk we enjoyed all of the restaurants especially little italy and le petite.The staff at breakfast at the hotel were always pleasant and we enjoyed it every morning.

Room Tip: We had a sunny corner suite which made our stay perfect1
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzy051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Having read reviews from past guests, I had a basic idea of what to expect.

The resort is quaint and low key. It is a 1 minute walk to the beach and water sports activities.
A short 5 minute walk to Orient Beach.

The property is maintained nicely.

The advertised continental breakfast is closely monitored - you'll pay more if you want fruit and cereal as opposed to either/or. The fruit was fresh and the criossants delicious.

There is a small market, pizza, a bakery and the restaurant square. The choices are limited, but everything was fresh. It would be nice to have a larger selection since there is no meal plan, but for a week stay, it was fine.

Go and see Patrick at the Bikini Beach bar - he makes a mean guavaberry colada.
All in all - a relaxing vacation and a beautiful place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twinsmom21787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

You have to realize this isn't a 5 star resort when you book.What it is,is a wonderfully quaint freindly hotel.The staff are very friendly and helpful,The rooms are spacious and well appointed.They are not brand new but everything was there and it all worked.We got upgraded to the second level two room suite.The veiw was incredible from the second floor bedroom.My wife was able to have the window open at night to listen to the ocean.
The breakfast consisted of fruit,bagettes and crossiants.Very good,other traditional breakfast choices are also availible.
I can't say enough about the location.Everything is close.The resaurants in the Orient village are a 30 second walk away.They all looked good,we fancied Le Piment.Again great food and service.
Overall a wonderful vacation experiene.We are already planning our next stay here

Room Tip: All rooms are nice,second floor room have beeter view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SYHomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is one of the most disgusting hotels I have ever stayed. There is absolutely no way this place has any stars at all. We just arrived a few minutes ago and I do not know whether to cry or lose my money. What I have found so far:

Room smell like urine and/or insect killer
Shower is full of mold
Wi Fi only available in the yard where one is attacked by mosquitos
Roaches a big as 5in crawling in the hallway
Door hanging lose from the frame in the kitchenette area
Refrigerator looks filthy at the bottom

How can anyone give this place a good rating? If you do not want to have your vacation totally ruined by such a disgusting place, do yourself a favor and look for a clean hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flexibleguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Our stay at the 3 Star Alamanda Hotel was extremely enjoyable. We stayed in their 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom (over 2 levels) with our 2 teenagers. The simply furnished rooms (with a large balcony) are very comfortable and kept very clean. All rooms either look over the pool or the beach. Amazing location, right on Orient Beach which is a great place to spend the day lying in the sun or doing one of the many watersports available. The staff at the Alamanda are friendly and helpful and we found the Hotel to be great value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blueyloons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This hotel is small but nice. Rooms were big but decorated in a simple way. Service of staff was good. They are willing to help and advice. No dinner in hotel possible, but behind the hotel is a little sqare where you can eat. Do not expect the world, but for a couple of days, this is fine. Beach is 5 minute walk but is very crowded. Free beach chairs for hotel guests at one of the local beach bars.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephaniedebrauw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orient Bay
2.6 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 stars 1,572 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Playa Orient Bay
La Playa Orient Bay
#4 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#3 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
2.6 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Plantation
Hotel La Plantation
#2 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamanda Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamanda Resort

Property: Alamanda Resort
Address: Baie Orientale (Orient Beach), Orient Bay 97071, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alamanda Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alamanda Resort is situated on Orient Beach, the largest and most animated beach on St. Martin. Small in scale with its 42 deluxe Oceanfront rooms and suites, you'll vacation in style at Alamanda, St Martin's newest and most intimate full service hotel. The charming restaurant opens daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and hotel guests have charging privileges at 6 beachside restaurants serving French, Spanish or American cuisine. Multilingual staff, daily maid service, room service, 3000 sq ft convention center along with fax and internet facilities. If you are looking to relax, where better than poolside in fresh water pool, sunning in the patio or sipping a drink to the poolside bar lush tropical garden? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Alamanda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamanda Hotel Orient Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing