We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Loved this little slice of heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alamanda Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Alamanda Resort to your Saves list
Alamanda Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie Orientale (Orient Beach), Orient Bay 97071, St. Maarten-St. Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved this little slice of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Loved it here.. The hotel was quaint and cute... The location is fantastic right across the street from the beach.. We had a second floor room with a "view" but it was really a partial view because of the foliage.. Unfortunately we had to cut our trip short due to a death in the family..The care and corcern from the staff was fantastic....Geraldine at the front desk, Cassandra at the breakfast service and Vincent the hotel manager will never be forgotten.. Hopefully, we will return to Alamanda during happier times..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sailorphyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    179
    44
    31
    13
See reviews for
54
228
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights and found it a nice quiet place to relax. There is a nice pool with sun loungers and all the rooms overlook the pool although the first floor rooms do get a bit of a sea view as well which is about 30 seconds walk away!

Breakfast is continental 9 euro but you can pay extra for eggs bacon pancakes etc. There is no restaurant for evening meal but all the bars and restaurants are seconds away and we didnt get disturbed by any noise from the bars.

The rooms are spacious with kitchen, microwave coffee maker etc and towels are changed regularly. They also provide beach towels. Sun beds on the beach are also provided to the left of the resort on the beach but you are not allowed to sit on the front row as these are reserved we were told for the cruise ship passengers.

Staff at the resort from the reception to the cleaners are all very polite and courteous. Especially Geraldine and the 2 guys who always had time to say hello and ask how our day had gone. They also arrange taxis from the resort. Ask for Augustine who is larger than life, always reliable and laughing. We even got a big hug from her when she took us back to the airport which has never happened before from a taxi driver. She is very knowledgeable about her island and gives a great island tour.

Another must see is the Carnival in Grande Casse on a Tuesday night, only a small procession of drummers and dancers but lots of stalls, good restaurants and a great atmosphere.

Orient Bay is a very long beach which for us was very crowded but if you can switch off from other people and want a nice beach to walk along this is fine. The sea is crystal clear and there were no large waves on our visit.

There is also a nudist beach connected to this beach if you are not already aware which we were not but still enjoyed walking along and getting strange looks as did all the other swimsuit clad people out for their morning walk!!

Room Tip: Upstairs ocean view and therefore no noise from guests moving about above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at the Alamanda this spring while waiting for a cruise, and unfortunately we had a death in family necessitating us to return to Boston immediately and the staff a the Alamanda was wonderfully helpful, helping us make phone calls, being wonderfully supportive.

The resort is wonderful with the beach just across the street, and the resort is right in the village surrounded by wonderfully little restaurants much like Port Royal in Marigot. Although we only stayed there for 3 days, I am definitely planning to return, as it's become my go-to place in St Martin.

A wonderful little place with a helpful and friendly staff. Not to be missed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Capt_Dang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Literally situated 50 feet from beautiful Orient beach on the French side of the island, the hotel lies at the midway point of the mile long beach. The location offers great access to the many beach bars and restaurants. The hotel has an arrangement with the Kaibo beach bar which offers ocean side chairs and umbrellas. If the free spirit of Orient beach (nudists on south end of beach, topless elsewhere) is a problem, there are 39 other white sand beaches to choose from on the island.
The Alamanda is adjacent to the village of Orient Baie which allows for multiple dining options within steps of the hotel. These restaurants apply the charges directly to the room (tips need to be in cash) and eliminates the need for credit cards, etc. It gives the feel of an all inclusive without confining you to one location.
Rooms are simple and clean with a small kitchen and refrigerator. The cable TV has been upgraded. The staff is very friendly and is willing to help with any problems you might have. A favorite of our visits (we have stayed 7 or 8 times) is the simple continental breakfasts that are served every morning at 7 a.m. A more extensive menu is available for a fee.
The excellent location and reproducibility of our experience at Alamanda are the reasons we return every year.

Room Tip: 2nd story offers the best views, but no elevator if steps are a problem and metal roofs may be a dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Tx
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a very nice hotel right next to the beach. The hotel photos are an accurate representation of the property. The 2nd floor rooms seem to be better in terms of view and space. The value of the rooms is very good compared to other properties on the French side.

Breakfast was included in our rate, which is served outdoors on umbrella shaded tables. It is a typical French side breakfast offering. WiFi was essentially useless from our room, however you can go to lobby/breakfast/pool area and get a strong signal. The rooms are large and nicely decorated, but the TVs are small although we did not use them much.

The hotel has an arrangement with one of the beach bars(Kakao) allowing you to have a beach chair and umbrella for each guest. This was really convenient and we used it daily. Kakao will server drinks and food on the beach. The Orient Bay gets crowded when the cruise ships come in(you will see the crowds not the ships), but the beach is large enough that you don't feel cramped.

It backs up to a small town square that has several restaurants including, Sushi, Italian, Pizza and a couple with French cuisine. While none of these restaurants compare to food experience in Grand Case, they are still very good. In addition there are 4 beach restaurants that serve a more casual menu within walking distance. The hotel will provide you with a card that allows to charge your meals from all of these restaurants to your room. There is a small grocery store across from the square, which also has some prepared food items.

The beach is loaded with activities, para sailing, kayaks, jet skis, etc.

There were some older comments about the security of the hotel and the area being run down. However we did not see any issues with security and felt very safe at the hotel. Most of the hotels that we stay in, at least on the French side, are not all inclusive conclaves like you find on other islands. So you do have to venture out some to grocery or the local restaurants. That may be disturbing to some, but to us it is part of the charm that keeps coming to St. Martin.

This is a charming convenient hotel at a great price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goodtwogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our second trip to Orient Beach and what a disappointment. The Alamanda Hotel shut the water off on the guests on 3 of the days we stayed there, with no warning to the guests. They gave us bottled water, but there was no running water to shower, bathe, shave, use the toilet, etc. We came back from a beautiful day at the beach only to be be sandy and salty. On two of the days we "washed" in the pool. That was the way we had to return home, by using the pool to wash after the beach. Not a pleasant way to sit on an airplane.
Why they shut the water off, we were not told. We were told it was "everywhere".
Were we compensated in some way? No. Not at all. We stayed 5 nights and paid the full rate.
I think they should have been more honest about the situation and helped us to get a hotel room elsewhere. Had we known this would be a continuing problem while we were there, we would have left.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PSull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I spent 10 wonderful days at the Alamanda Resort and hope to return next year. The location is terrific - right across from Orient Beach. The ambience is charming - various pastel painted sections of the resort (check out the photos on line), with breakfast served daily outside under umbrellas by the pool. Our room with balcony, refrigerator, coffee maker and small range was spacious and very comfortable. Special praise is deserved for the super-persopnable, knowledgeable staff. They made us feel welcome when we arrived at midnight and each day when we asked for recommendations, etc. This is a lovely spot. In the evenings we walked out the resort's front door around the corner to a plaza of about 8 excellent restaurants. There is also a small grocery store across from the plaza. All within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank painted_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orient Bay
2.6 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 stars 1,572 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Playa Orient Bay
La Playa Orient Bay
#4 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#3 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
2.6 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 stars 654 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Plantation
Hotel La Plantation
#2 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamanda Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamanda Resort

Property: Alamanda Resort
Address: Baie Orientale (Orient Beach), Orient Bay 97071, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alamanda Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alamanda Resort is situated on Orient Beach, the largest and most animated beach on St. Martin. Small in scale with its 42 deluxe Oceanfront rooms and suites, you'll vacation in style at Alamanda, St Martin's newest and most intimate full service hotel. The charming restaurant opens daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and hotel guests have charging privileges at 6 beachside restaurants serving French, Spanish or American cuisine. Multilingual staff, daily maid service, room service, 3000 sq ft convention center along with fax and internet facilities. If you are looking to relax, where better than poolside in fresh water pool, sunning in the patio or sipping a drink to the poolside bar lush tropical garden? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Alamanda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamanda Hotel Orient Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing