We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great for families with teen/young adults”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alamanda Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alamanda Resort
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great for families with teen/young adults”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

we had the two floor duplex, second bathroom was great, especially a real shower! If only the shower curtain was a bit longer and wider, the floor would have stayed dry! Beds were a bit hard, and tv small, but it was vacation, and not the point to watch TV.(except it was bowl week for college football! ) Nice porch facing the pool and the beach, ample space and closet. Mini fridge was handy too. Nice staff, great morning breakfast included on the patio by the pool.

great location between the "square" of restaurants and the beach with small parking lot between. Only negative was that the beach faced away from the sun, so you'd lose sun behind mountains late in the day, around 4 ish. Also we got a bit tired of the vendors on the beach selling coverups and aloe foot massages. Water was a bit rough for smaller kids, but take a day trip over to Pinel Island, quieter beach, calmer water , short boat taxi for 7$ round trip. Restaurants and snorkeling over there, and hiking on the island if you want.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAsalesoffice, Directeur général at Alamanda Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2017
Thank you for posting your experience at Alamanda Resort on TripAdvisor following your stay with us.

Thank you again for your kind recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip in Sint-Marteen!

Best Regards,

Vincent Reymond
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    199
    50
    32
    13
See reviews for
61
261
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed for four nights over New Year’s. We normally stay in hotels probably one step up and I knew this wasn’t going to be fancy but we really wanted to stay on Orient Beach. But we knew that going in and were just looking for a clean room and a good night’s sleep. While the property is well maintained (I had actually stayed here 15 years ago and it has held up fairly well) and rooms are clean, they are not quiet!
The walls are paper thin at this hotel. You can easily hear other people talking even in quiet voices, sneezing, TV’s, etc. We could live with the hard beds, but the noise really impacted our sleeping. Add to that the curtains that do not block out the sun and we were up at sunrise with the Europeans (who hadn’t adjusted to the time zone yet) talking in their room next to us every morning. We wore ear plugs after the first night but just really didn’t sleep well at all. Getting a good night’s sleep is a basic for us.
Service at the front desk and breakfast was perfunctory but not what I would call friendly. They were completely unapologetic when the water stopped working one night right before dinner (nothing like a nice French dinner when you still have sand and sunscreen everywhere). We ordered taxis every night into Grand Case and the guy at the front desk kept calling his brother, who I don’t think was actually a taxi and would drive 20 mph because his car sounded like it was going to fall apart. This got to be annoying, especially after we had another driver the last night and made it over to Grand Case in no time.
The property did its job in giving us the Orient Beach location, but we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emorygrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Family voted Alamanda 4 stars because of its excellent location. Beautiful beach is just right across the street and near Vela watersports site. You can hear the howling wind and slapping waves on the shore as if you're listening to a nature's relaxation music- very soothing when you wind down at night. Kids loved the pool, it's refreshing after a day's out on the beach. It is near to some attractions e.g.The Butterfly farm (10 mins. drive, entrance fee is good for the time you stayed in St. Martin and Lotrie Farm, Pic paradis. Kids enjoyed the Ti-tarzan activity. Hotel is next to Village Baie Orientale with variety of stores and restaurants from French/ Italian/ Asian/Creole cuisines. Tai-chi was our favorite because of its service and tasty food. Complimentary breakfast, wine coupons and friendly staff were extra bonus to our stay.

In terms of room amenities, it is not what you expect. Beds / pillows / towels/ TV need upgrade (they're a bit hard beds, thin beddings, rough towels, small size TV for the room ). Bathroom fixtures need renovation too,

Try to rent a car instead of hiring a taxi. It's way worth it!

Overall, we had a great time.

Room Tip: Oceanview 2-br. with refrigerator for a family of 4. Large rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asparafans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAsalesoffice, Directeur général at Alamanda Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2017
Thank you for posting your experience at Alamanda Resort on TripAdvisor following your stay with us.

Thank you again for your kind recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip in Sint-Marteen!

Best Regards,

Vincent Reymond
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoover, alabama
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

We had an excellent experience at the hotel. On arrival we found we had been upgraded to a second floor room. The room was very lovely, spacious, clean with a very ice patio. The pool area was great, breakfast a real treat and the staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank susanHoover_Alabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAsalesoffice, Directeur général at Alamanda Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2017
Thank you for posting your experience at Alamanda Resort on TripAdvisor following your stay with us.

Thank you again for your kind recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip in Sint-Marteen!

Best Regards,

Vincent Reymond
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We've been here about five times. It's our favorite place. The beach is the best in the world, in my opinion. The breakfast included has amazing croissants. The beach bars have amazing drinks and food. The hotel itself is nothing luxurious - it's just a little place on a perfect beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank winterbeachbum40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAsalesoffice, Directeur général at Alamanda Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2017
Thank you for posting your experience at Alamanda Resort on TripAdvisor following your stay with us.

Thank you again for your kind recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip in Sint-Marteen!

Best Regards,

Vincent Reymond
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We've been staying at Alamanda every year for five or six years now. It is not fancy, but by St Martin standards it is among the best. It had been getting run down, but it has had a lot of needed revisions in the last year - new air conditioning, TV, safes, and fresh paint. The bathroom is odd but clean. Staff is friendly and reliable. The location is the best on St Martin, right on Orient Beach,with Orient village right there with a good selection of excellent restaurants. It is a simple hotel, but I cannot imagine staying anywhere else on St Martin - we've stayed at La Samanna and Le Meridien (now Radisson) in the past - both lovely, but we'll take Alamanda, thank you. We'll be back there next December.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveTheL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAsalesoffice, Directeur général at Alamanda Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2017
Thank you for posting your experience at Alamanda Resort on TripAdvisor following your stay with us.

Thank you again for your kind recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip in Sint-Marteen!

Best Regards,

Vincent Reymond
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

There is probably no better location for a hotel on St. Martin than the Alamanda. The staff is very friendly and helpful but the bed in room 102 was rock hard. We asked for a pad but they had already given out the 2 they had (just 2 for a 42 room hotel?). They ended up giving us several velour blankets which helped some. We ended up buying a mattress pad, and they thankfully credited us the cost of the pad.

It is just across the road from Orient Beach, which is one of the nicest beaches I have ever been to. Also within a few seconds walking distance to some very good restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpoutingHorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAsalesoffice, Directeur général at Alamanda Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2017
Thank you for posting your experience at Alamanda Resort on TripAdvisor following your stay with us.

Thank you again for your kind recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip in Sint-Marteen!

Best Regards,

Vincent Reymond
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orient Bay
2.7 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
2.6 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Playa Orient Bay
La Playa Orient Bay
#3 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#2 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Esmeralda Resort
Esmeralda Resort
#4 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamanda Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamanda Resort

Property: Alamanda Resort
Address: Baie Orientale (Orient Beach), Orient Bay 97071, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alamanda Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alamanda Resort is situated on Orient Beach, the largest and most animated beach on St. Martin. Small in scale with its 42 deluxe Oceanfront rooms and suites, you'll vacation in style at Alamanda, St Martin's newest and most intimate full service hotel. The charming restaurant opens daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and hotel guests have charging privileges at 6 beachside restaurants serving French, Spanish or American cuisine. Multilingual staff, daily maid service, room service, 3000 sq ft convention center along with fax and internet facilities. If you are looking to relax, where better than poolside in fresh water pool, sunning in the patio or sipping a drink to the poolside bar lush tropical garden? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, West Indies, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alamanda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamanda Hotel Orient Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing