We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return”
Review of Alamanda Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alamanda Resort
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
215 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

First time in St. Martin with my daughter. We spent 5 nights at the resort. We asked for a clock and pads for the beds to make them more comfortable and we were accomodated immediately.
The hotel is in a perfect location. A 30 second walk to the beach and to many restaurants. We were given a room on the first floor overlooking the pool. The room comes with continental breakfast which was great. Wonderful croissants and french breads. You can order other things off the menu as well. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The beach was gorgeous. You get chairs and umbrellas when staying at the hotel. Looked at a duplex for next year. Hope to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAsalesoffice, Directeur général at Alamanda Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2017
Thank you for posting your experience at Alamanda Resort on TripAdvisor following your stay with us.

Thank you again for your kind recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip in Sint-Marteen!

Best Regards,

Vincent Reymond
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    201
    50
    32
    14
See reviews for
63
265
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This hotel was in the perfect location if you plan on spending time on the Orient Bay beaches. Room was clean, staff was nice, breakfast pastries were very good. The free beach chairs at Kakao's was a plus. We stayed on the top floor (2nd floor), but would not pay extra next time since the view is obstructed by trees and the beach is across a little dirt road (1 minute walk to the beach). First floor would have been just fine too. Pool looked nice, but we never actually got in it because we spent all of our time at the beach. Great beach access! Behind the hotel was a small square with restaurants and a small grocery store. The Tia restaurant was the best place to eat by far. We had groceries delivered to our room so we were stocked with drinks and snacks when we arrived. We packed in a soft zip up cooler as a carry on and this saved a ton of money on drinks! Hotel had a ice machine we used to fill the cooler and take to the beach. There were stray cats and dogs that walked around the hotel and the beaches. This seemed to be common for the island. We were there the week of May 7th, 2012 and had a great time. We would go back again and stay at the Alamanda because of the great location. The only negative experience was that there was no water most mornings between 10:00 and 1:00 pm. We took showers at night and the water pressure was good and plenty of hot water in the evening. The mattress was a little hard but not uncomfortable. We rented a car for the week since car rental's are very affordable. We drove to a few other beaches on the island. Orient Bay was the best if you like people watching, water sports, and walking to restaurants!

Room Tip: We stayed on top floor and never heard noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lawson6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAsalesoffice, Directeur général at Alamanda Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2017
Thank you for posting your experience at Alamanda Resort on TripAdvisor following your stay with us.

Thank you again for your kind recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip in Sint-Marteen!

Best Regards,

Vincent Reymond
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We spent a week mid-April at Alamanda. We were given a room on the first floor, looking towards the ocean (there's a dirt road between the hotel and the beach, so not much of a first floor view). We later learned that another couple was offered a second floor room at the same rate - those definitely have better views and more privacy, and I would opt for one of those next time if offered. The room itself was pretty good - newly painted and quiet. The safe worked fine, although the half fridge wouldn't close properly. The bed was comfortable enough and the staff kept the room very clean (very nice breakfast staff as well). The rooms are not as nice as the ones at Palm Court, where we stayed the year before, and the Palm Court breakfast was much better (loved that egg boiling gizmo!). But it's a bit of a walk from Palm Court to the beach, and the location of Alamanda is what makes it - it's the best on Orient beach, and right behind the "town square" - so it's a 1 minute walk to the restaurants or shops there. We took a taxi to and from the hotel, and didn't mind being without a car at all (of course, we get pretty lazy on the beach and don't really want to go anywhere). The hotel is not luxurious, and doesn't try to be, but if you spend most of your time on the beach, it works fine. It even has a good sized pool that was kept very clean and was empty most of the time. The one downside I would report is the attitude of the manager at the front desk - she clearly did not want to be bothered by those pesky hotel customers. When we ended up needing a prescription for an antibiotic, she was no help at all. Our doctor wanted to email the prescription from the U.S. to her so she could forward it to the St Martin pharmacy (so she could speak French to the pharmacist). Her response was that her boss was away - it was a Friday - and so she didn't have internet access. That of course makes no sense, and she appeared to be typing emails when we first approached her. She ended up calling the pharmacy for us, but acted as if she had done us a great favor. We worked it out on our own, but some effort to help without looking so put out would have gone a long way (it wasn't our idea of a great vacation day either). Hotels are tested when something is needed or goes a little bit wrong, and it's amazing how appreciative guests can be when hotel staff helps resolve a problem. Would we go back? Yes - the location is the best, we met nice people, the room was fine, but next time we're packing antibiotics, just in case.

Room Tip: Second Floor, ocean view. Avoid any room that looks towards the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruby50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
629 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

On our way to orient beach we pass the Alamanda every day. We noticed that they are now serving breakfast to the public so we gave it a try having loved the breakfast during our many stays at the Alamanda.

We had the contenental plus eggs and bacon. Breakfast includes French bread toast and pastrys along with a fresh fruit cup with coffee and juice. Eggs any style come with crispy bacon and a Mc Donalds style hash brown potato. Very good portions and good price for the island location.

The breakfast lady readily recognized us and thought we had actually checked into the hotel and was very accommodating. The gal at front desk seemed less interested.

It was readily evident that the hotel was undergoing a face lift with rooms being updated and chronic physical problems fixed. We were sorry that we didn't stay here this visit as our impression of the palm court was just average in many ways.

Location wise this is the best on the beach. The large open court yard and fantastic pool is a plus.

Friendliness of staff can vary. Tiffany was always first class but now has gone back to the states. Sometime you get an I don't care attitude from some staff but overall your experience will be good. Plan your own excursions as they are not helpful in that area.

You will enjoy the girls that always serve breakfast with a warm welcome and great coffee.

One person was upset about being treated like second class citizens at Kakao where Alamanda has beach chairs available. Sure you can't have front row but who really cares when chairs have great spacing with few kids to upset your relaxation. Nickolas and Cedric treat you like kings regardless. Simeon is great in the main resturant for service and Tony at beach bar is great to hang out with.

We will return here for our visit in October. Glad to see the long past due improvements. With new bed mattresses this place would rock.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scott1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAsalesoffice, Directeur général at Alamanda Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2017
Thank you for posting your experience at Alamanda Resort on TripAdvisor following your stay with us.

Thank you again for your kind recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip in Sint-Marteen!

Best Regards,

Vincent Reymond
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, ontario
Level Contributor
66 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

The most recent review titled "intimate and relaxing french hotel" is right on target so I won't bore everyone with the same information. I will however mention a few additional items.

Right around the corner is Orient Village that contains 7 or 8 restaurants. We tried a few and enjoyed them. For those who have not stayed at the hotel recently, you will definitely see some upgrades....painting, refinishing, etc. They have great satelite tv with a 100 chanels, some French but mostly english...all of the standard ones from the U.S. A/C works great and is pretty quiet. Housekeeping cleans the room early and will provide extra towels if requested.

Truthfully the only thing that I would like upgraded is the wi-fi. While it works in the room it is painfully slow. Vincent (the manager) who is very attentive to the needs of his guests is aware of this deficiency and I trust that this will be rectified soon. I truely can't think of anything else that I would suggest needs upgrading.

This was our 4th or 5th stay at Alamanda and it keeps getting better. We've stayed at a few other hotels on the French side but for us this is the one. We'll be back in December and are already looking forward to it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ab0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAsalesoffice, Directeur général at Alamanda Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2017
Thank you for posting your experience at Alamanda Resort on TripAdvisor following your stay with us.

Thank you again for your kind recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip in Sint-Marteen!

Best Regards,

Vincent Reymond
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

This was my second stay at this wonderful French hotel. Alamanda is a small, intimate hotel (about 30 rooms, 2 levels) located on the Northeast side of French St. Martin. Guests were mostly from France or the US. Alamanda is right on Orient beach, which is accessible by a small walkway from the hotel. In general you will need a car to get to points of interest on the island. Car rental at Orient beach is overpriced and the best deals are found at the airport (around $25/day at the airport, $45/day at Alamanda). Below is a summary:

The good: The hotel was well maintained, the rooms and common areas had a lot of teak furniture, and the staff was very friendly. Each room had a small kitchenette and there was a small convenience store and pizza place within walking distance. The bathrooms were huge and had both a bathtub and shower (well, it was either a bathtub or a very large bidet … either way I used it as a bath). The pool is decent sized and was usually very quiet, offering a perfect escape from the heat and noise of Orient beach. Orient beach is just steps away. The hotel is situated in the middle of Orient beach. Free beach chairs were available from one of the beach bars (Kakao Beach). Drinks and meals can be ordered at several local restaurants and beach bars and charged directly to your room. European-style breakfast was included and consisted of French bread and croissants. Other meals, such as pancakes and eggs could be ordered a la carte.

The not-so-good: I can’t think of too much the hotel can improve on. The hotel could put furniture pads on the chairs in rooms on the second floor. Because the floors were tile, whenever someone on the 2nd floor moved a chair across the room it would sound like a roaring jet engine to the person trying to sleep in the room below. Although Orient beach is generally quiet at night, occasionally a local restaurant or beach bar would have a live band until around midnight. Getting around could be easier if the hotel had a coop car guests could use (even just to go to a large grocery store).

If you are looking for a cute, quiet boutique-style hotel Alamanda is the hotel for you! This was my second stay and I will definitely go back again!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zackbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAsalesoffice, Directeur général at Alamanda Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2017
Thank you for posting your experience at Alamanda Resort on TripAdvisor following your stay with us.

Thank you again for your kind recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip in Sint-Marteen!

Best Regards,

Vincent Reymond
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Lets start out that there are no Four Seasons or Ritz's on Orient Bay. This is a typical European type Hotel in my opinion. The Rooms need a little Sprucing up but they are plenty big enough.

The room we had had its own Fridge which we got some Diet Coke's, Beer and Wine for a little appetizer before Dinner. You are a one minute walk to the Orient Beach and if you can't enjoy this beach something is wrong. For ten Euros or so you can get Chair and a few Drinks and just enjoy the beach. Mostly a couples place and I would bring any Kids.

The little Town on Orient had quite a few Restaurants that were very nice if you just want to get dinner and Crash. A 20 dollar taxi Ride and you can go to different areas for Dinner.

It rained virtually every Day but for 10-20 minutes and was spectacular the rest of the time.

The Breakfast was nice and the Staff was quite helpful.

It is not an inexpensive island.

United has a non Stop from Chicago on Sat and Sunday.

All in all it is a great trip but if I had to do it over I would have made it a ten day trip and spent five days here and five in Anguilla.

Room Tip: You will need to be on the second floor too see any of the ocean. Pool might be noisy in the afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willtippet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orient Bay
2.7 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
2.6 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,784 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Playa Orient Bay
La Playa Orient Bay
#3 of 8 in Orient Bay
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#2 of 8 in Orient Bay
309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Esmeralda Resort
Esmeralda Resort
#4 of 8 in Orient Bay
419 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
2,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamanda Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamanda Resort

Property: Alamanda Resort
Address: Baie Orientale (Orient Beach), Orient Bay 97071, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alamanda Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alamanda Resort is situated on Orient Beach, the largest and most animated beach on St. Martin. Small in scale with its 42 deluxe Oceanfront rooms and suites, you'll vacation in style at Alamanda, St Martin's newest and most intimate full service hotel. The charming restaurant opens daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and hotel guests have charging privileges at 6 beachside restaurants serving French, Spanish or American cuisine. Multilingual staff, daily maid service, room service, 3000 sq ft convention center along with fax and internet facilities. If you are looking to relax, where better than poolside in fresh water pool, sunning in the patio or sipping a drink to the poolside bar lush tropical garden? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, West Indies, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alamanda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamanda Hotel Orient Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing