We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Terrible hotel.”
Review of Alamanda Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alamanda Resort
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Playa del Rey, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location. Terrible hotel.”
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Can't beat the location if you want to stay at Orient Bay. It is a stone's throw away from 3 beach bars: Kakao Beach, Bikini Beach, and Waikiki Beach. It's also adjacent to the village which has 5-6 restaurants.

I paid extra for an ocean view room, however, our room could barely see the ocean. I complained and the front desk said they would relocate us the next day while we were at the beach. This didn't happen. By the 3rd day we were so unpacked we didn't want to move so we never brought it up again but I was angry that something was promised and not delivered.

The hotel itself is very dated. Lots of rust, very old doors, furniture, uncomfortable bed. One issue with the shower is that there are windows and covers, however, the covers don't block the window entirely and we had to hang a beach towel on it.

TV is very old and gets poor reception.

Internet only works in the lobby.

The hotel ran out of beach towels during the day.

I'll miss Waikiki beach. I won't miss the Alamanda.

Room Tip: 2nd floor - middle of the row
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank awwwyeah206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    201
    50
    32
    14
See reviews for
63
265
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We went for a long holiday weekend (Easter - do not recommend Easter weekend because of holiday closures). We rented a car from the airport and drove to the hotel at night. The hotel itself isn't far, St. Maarten/St. Martin is fairly easy to get around in. However, the map the car rental agency (Hertz) gave us was pretty poor and the directions were rather unclear. So, we got lost and it took us a while to find Alamanda Resort, which is tucked away in a corner, so to speak.

However, once we arrived, the staff were friendly. The room was clean and neat. Even had a little kitchenette which is nice. No frills, but lovely all the same. Orient Bay is a great place to be. Lots of restaurants about a 30 second walk from the hotel - at which you can charge your meals to the room. The hotel also included breakfast in the morning - croissants and tea/coffee, french toast, etc. was extra.

The beach was about a 2 minute walk - just across the street. The hotel itself is not on the beach, but you can see it from the room. What a crazy beach Orient Bay is. The water was nice, the sun was out and we lounged for days.

I would definitely recommend going into Phillipsburg if you are a shopper. Marigot also has some nice shopping, provided it's not Easter. lol

Alamanda Resort - while not fancy, was very charming and conveniently located. Staff were friendly enough that I will definitely return for a visit during a non-holiday.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoMo1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here in mid July 2011 (low season) and we knew going in that it wasn't a 5-star resort, but it was a great location. And that opinion still holds after our trip.

As others have noted, it was hard to find as there are no signs and no grand entrance and our taxi driver even had to ask someone walking nearby where it was. I’ve attached a hand-drawn map they provide to you at check-in, but I would advise checking out the color scheme of the entrance from their website, head to Kakao beach, and look for that color scheme on the buildings right across from the Kakao beach bar and restaurant.

The resort feels more like it was converted from villas and as others have pointed out, could use a renovation. The door locks are actual keys, not key cards, and while the rooms are generally nice and give off the feel of a French Caribbean room, they do need touching up.

First the negatives about the room. We stayed in the Junior Suite and the impression was that it was kind of small for being the second largest room in the hotel, although the large wrap-around balcony with furniture was nice. The small refrigerator had significant visible rust across the bottom of the front door, but it worked, and each of the ceiling fan blades were ripped. The wall-unit air conditioner can only be controlled by a small remote which we never figured out, but it did its job; just don’t expect an easily controlled thermostat. We had a mosquito or two each night in the room as the sliding doors were not airtight and there was no netting around the bed, so we got bit a couple of times. There is no iPod docking station but if you bring the right cable, you can plug one into the TV and play it that way. And finally, there was no clock in the room which seemed odd.

For the positives about the room, the bathroom in the Junior Suite was a good size and the décor was nice. They also give you extra beach towels so that we never had a case where we had to re-use one until the room was cleaned. The bed was large and comfortable and the maid service never came before 10:30am so we never had to shoo them away. And even on the hottest days, the a/c kept the room nice and cool.

There are few-to-no amenities at the Alamanda. One of them is the continental breakfast at Café Alamanda, which is a covered patio near the pool with a number of tables and chairs. The free breakfast is a cup of fruit salad per person, coffee/tea/espresso, and a basket of about six 6-inch toasted baguettes with 2 croissants. If you go to breakfast alone, they remove one of the croissants from the basket. There is a small additional menu of items for a fee. They are 2 eggs, an omelet, pancakes or French toast, chocolate crepes, and I think one other item. Each of these costs between 6 and 9 Euros. Other than breakfast, there really aren’t other amenities. The resort does have a pool surrounded by a nice deck with good chairs and plenty of shade (we hung out there the day the huge Oasis of the Seas came to St Martin and Kakao beach was packed). But there is no fitness room, no on-site spa, no on-site lunch or dinner options, no on-site laundry, no on-site store for necessities, etc… Most of these can be arranged by the front desk or found nearby though.

There are plenty of options in the area for lunch and dinner, including the Orient Village which is adjacent to the Alamanda and has a number of places to choose from for dinner, and at most of them you can charge the bill to your room so you don’t have to carry cash with you. This is a big plus for the Alamanda as it was very nice not to have to carry cash or credit cards to the beach since most of the beach bars also allowed this, and when we had dinner one night, a woman came to the bar and asked if she could charge the meal to her room at the Esmeralda and they told her no. Within the village itself are the Taichi (Thai cuisine), Cote Plage (French), Le Cadre (French), Little Italy, Le Piment (Italian), The Safari Grill (steak house), and a burger restaurant I don’t recall the name of. Just across from the Village (10 second walk) is the Paris Texas restaurant (tex mex). At a minimum, the Taichi, Safari, and Paris Texas have bars you can get drinks at as well, and I think Le Cadre does too. During our 8 nights there, we ate at Taichi, Cote Plage (x2), Safari Grill (x2), Little Italy (x2), and Paris Texas, and we had great meals at all of them. I regret not going to Le Piment which is very highly rated as well. The dinners are not cheap as the appetizers will cost about 13-20 Euros per person, entrees will go from 15-30 Euros per, and drinks will cost between 5 and 10 Euros each. So our typical dinners cost around 105-120 Euros including tip, then we’d hit a bar and spend another 50 Euros.

I would highly recommend bringing or buying mosquito spray for the dinners. They are all open-air and we got chewed up the first night, to the point where the Safari Grill waitress brought over a can of Go! spray when she saw us itching like crazy. She liked that brand because it is safe for kids and thus easier on the skin. She said the mini-mart across the street (2 stores down from Paris Texas) has it and we got a can the next morning. We used it every night before we went out and it worked great as we saw the mosquitoes but we were largely untouched. There are plenty of shops in the village and in the strip mall across the street so whether you want clothes, books and mags, food, sunblock, laundry services, bakery goods, etc… you can get them within a minute or two walking distance from the front of the hotel. I don’t know about an ATM though as I brought enough for the trip and didn’t have to go to one. Off-hand I didn’t see any there, but I also wasn’t looking for one.

The Alamanda won’t awe you, but it’s a decent place to stay at to enjoy all the activities around the hotel and on Orient Beach.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Perkeo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAsalesoffice, Directeur général at Alamanda Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2017
Thank you for posting your experience at Alamanda Resort on TripAdvisor following your stay with us.

Thank you again for your kind recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip in Sint-Marteen!

Best Regards,

Vincent Reymond
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O' Lakes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed a week in mid July. The only negative is it was difficult to find with no signage. Otherwise it is quiet, friendly and very relaxing. We rented a car and drove all over the island. So I can say in fairness parts of St. Martin are run down, and if you want to be picky this is not the island to visit. But if you want friendly helpful people, reasonable pricing and a quiet restful location this would be the place. A very short walk to Orient beach, and clean and cool pool area. Very comfortable rooms. pricing was good and the breakfast was just right. Food prices anywhere on St. Martin are a little on the pricey side, but the 4 or 5 restraunts right behind the Alamanda are nice and the food quality is terrific. You can walk to them in 1 minute! We ate at 3 of them and all meals were excellent. Would have no trouble recommending this place. Most of the negative reviews I have read about anyplace on St. Martin this one included talk about quality or lack there of. This is not the Waldorff, but it is a clean quiet island getaway that most people can afford and enjoy. If you want someone to wait on you hand and foot go to a 5 star location. But if you want friendly quiet and affordable here is your spot and the best place on the French side of the island!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fixedoperationsmgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAsalesoffice, Directeur général at Alamanda Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2017
Thank you for posting your experience at Alamanda Resort on TripAdvisor following your stay with us.

Thank you again for your kind recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip in Sint-Marteen!

Best Regards,

Vincent Reymond
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2011

We stayed in St. Martin June 30-July 4, 2011. This was our first couples vacation in several years since our last two children were born, and our first true Caribbean vacation. We'd visited Puerto Rico several years ago and do not recommend it.

We weren't entirely sure what to expect, but found the people on the island very friendly and informative. Most islanders speak English well--certainly better than we speak French or Dutch. The hotel has Eurpoean flair requiring an adaptor for US electronic devices (easily found at Best Buy before your vacation). The included breakfast suited us well, including guest's choice of coffee and juices, lightly toasted baguettes and croissants.

While you cannot exchange your US currency at the hotel, most restaurants along the beach accept cash for a $1-1 Euro rate. Fredericka also said there is a currency exchange place a 10 minute drive away.

It was our first trip to the island, and we opted to take taxis. Would definitely reommend renting a car to save money on the cab fairs alone, though I am glad we took a cab to the hotel from the hotel as it was well after 11pm by the time we landed. Next time we will definitely rent our own vehicle as a trip to Marigot or Grand Case can cost $40 or more round trip.

The beach is lovely with decent snorkeling. Anything you could imagine for water activities is available--jetskis, kite surfing, windsurfing, giant water trampolines. While the beach does allow for nude/topless bathers, there are unspoken boundaries with families staying nearest the hotel beach access and more adventurous bathers walking farther south toward Club Oriente.

The feel of the beach changes when the cruiseship passengers arrive; much more raucous and boisterous. Fortunately they clear out around three to leave the island guests to their peace and quiet.

We definitely recommend Orange Fever--a fab little beach chair rental place with good burgers. Be sure to say hello to Oliver who owns it. He's accomodating and so very friendly!

There are restaurants behind the Alamanda which are pretty good, though it is far more economical to simply split a margerita pizza at any given restaurant. All beverages are bottled and add up as a result.

And as per other reviews, the beds are not amazing. We ended up sleeping in three different rooms through the course of our stay and some beds were better than the others. Just avoid room 206 as that bed was particularly lumpy and hard.

All in all, it was the perfect get away for a couple looking to reconnect and thoroughly relax.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RPerkins726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAsalesoffice, Directeur général at Alamanda Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2017
Thank you for posting your experience at Alamanda Resort on TripAdvisor following your stay with us.

Thank you again for your kind recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip in Sint-Marteen!

Best Regards,

Vincent Reymond
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

On the up side it was clean, safe, a great location and quiet. On the down side it was in serious need of a makeover. Drapes were torn from the rod and did not open more than 20 percent. There were 2 dead light bulbs in the bathroom. The sliding glass door frame was torn apart making it impossible to fully open the door. The bed linens were seriously faded. You needed to be Houdini to lock and unlock the door which also required a key to lock and unlock from the INSIDE. There was no clock or alarm in the room. They gave us a 2 story mini suite but locked us out of the second floor. This was our 3rd trip to the island and we will never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnTimeDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

This hotel is great! It is close to some nice restaurants and a grocery store. The place looks like something out of a dutch postcard (see my photos). The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good too (mainly French bread + croissants). The hotel is well situated on Orient Beach (smack dab in the middle) so it is very convenient! The pool is almost never used because of the beach so close by, but it was a relaxing spot to go when the beach got too hot or hectic!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zackbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAsalesoffice, Directeur général at Alamanda Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2017
Thank you for posting your experience at Alamanda Resort on TripAdvisor following your stay with us.

Thank you again for your kind recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip in Sint-Marteen!

Best Regards,

Vincent Reymond
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orient Bay
2.7 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
2.6 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,784 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Playa Orient Bay
La Playa Orient Bay
#3 of 8 in Orient Bay
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#2 of 8 in Orient Bay
309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Esmeralda Resort
Esmeralda Resort
#4 of 8 in Orient Bay
419 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
2,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamanda Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamanda Resort

Property: Alamanda Resort
Address: Baie Orientale (Orient Beach), Orient Bay 97071, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alamanda Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alamanda Resort is situated on Orient Beach, the largest and most animated beach on St. Martin. Small in scale with its 42 deluxe Oceanfront rooms and suites, you'll vacation in style at Alamanda, St Martin's newest and most intimate full service hotel. The charming restaurant opens daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and hotel guests have charging privileges at 6 beachside restaurants serving French, Spanish or American cuisine. Multilingual staff, daily maid service, room service, 3000 sq ft convention center along with fax and internet facilities. If you are looking to relax, where better than poolside in fresh water pool, sunning in the patio or sipping a drink to the poolside bar lush tropical garden? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, West Indies, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alamanda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamanda Hotel Orient Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing