We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excuse Moi!, Do you know haute cuisine? (Excusez-Moi!, Connaissez-vous la haute cuisine?)”
Review of Waikiki

Waikiki
Ranked #26 of 35 Restaurants in Orient Bay
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excuse Moi!, Do you know haute cuisine? (Excusez-Moi!, Connaissez-vous la haute cuisine?)”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Best on the beach! Forget the beach, Waikiki could have a Michelin star if it was in Paris. Every dish is par excellence. Baby clams, sea bass, shrimp tempura, burders are breath taking, and the wonderful tarte de beouf. In season, try the Lemon Tart for dessert, absolutely to die for. Great wines, excellent beers, best Rum on the beach. Outstanding service!

Oh by the way, don't miss the fashion show and dancing on the tables on Sunday afternoon. Super fun for the whole family.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jfarmeribm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    114
    76
    40
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Go for the view!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Sometimes the location is so perfect that anything will suffice as far as food and service. This place was just fine for a beach day lunch. We opened with beef carpaccio that the group devoured and all the entree portions were larger than average. The restaurant deck is right on the sand, we dined under an umbrella and they were quick with the drinks.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flstorms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice beach area”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Beach chairs at Waikiki are included with the room at Palm Court. After reading some of the reviews about pushy beach attendants, and poor beach chair positions for the palm court guests, I was fully prepared to find the best location on the beach and just pay for the chairs. We walked the entire beach from the area known as Palm Beach, all the way to Pedro's. As far as I am concerned, the Waikiki area is among the best. We picked a couple of chairs that were already set up in the front row. Put our palm court towels on them and enjoyed the beach. About 10 minutes later Bengiman came by just to confirm we were staying at Palm Court and to see if we needed anything. He was available throughout the day, but not at all pushy. I noticed a few "reserved" signs at some of the chairs. I asked him how we could do the same. He asked how long we would be there and said that if we like where we were, those would be our chairs for the week. Simple as that. We had lunch at Waikiki. My wife had a large salad with grilled shrimp, I had the salad with grilled chicken. The food is OK, not anything special, but not bad. €20 each for lunch, €7 each for drinks . With the $ to € conversion $68 plug tip for lunch. Yes it's a bit high, but the chairs are free and you'r on vacation. The next day, our chairs were reserved for us as promised. (Cameron and Bengamine always made sure we had what we needed)
Orient Beach
.......The sand itself is almost white and powdery soft. No gravel or pebbles here. If you walk out to just where the surf breaks, you will notice the sand is just a little bit more coarse. Beyond that it is like powder again as far as you can go. The sand is perfect for sand sculptures. It never gets too hot to walk on barefoot. The water is crystal clear and it looks like several different shades of blue and green. There is a lot of seaweed right now. I think it is a seasonal thing. When we were here in July there was not at all. The seaweed is not a problem though. The beach attendants work hard to remove it. Unlike in the states where we tow giant rakes behind a tractor, they do it all by hand. They get there early and rake all the seaweed into a big pile at the end of the beach. By the end of the week, tropical storm Rapheal was upon us. Friday brought high wind and rough surf. Saturday was a complete wash out.

Helpful?
Thank Sandsculptureman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Still a great place but not what it used to be”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Waikiki still a great restaurant to have some good times with friends and family. The food is great but make sure that you bring your wallet with you since the prices are hefty. This restaurant used to be the King of Orient Beach. The food still very good, but they were out of many things on the menu which is not acceptable for a restaurant of this quality.

The tempura shrimps for appetizer are still the best on the island. My daughter had the hamburger and it is a show piece.

Regardless, this is a must visit if you are looking for a good meal on a fun and beautiful setting.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CANADA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Buffet on saturday”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I recommend the brunch on saturday, Excellent food for a reasonnable price, in addition chairs on the beach are included

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PHILOUCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waikiki also viewed

Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing