We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bistro on the Beach”
Review of Orange Fever

Orange Fever
Ranked #15 of 35 Restaurants in Orient Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean, Pizza, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
297 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Bistro on the Beach”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We spent one of the most delightful days at Orient Beach. What made it even more memorable was the delicious pizza and warmed goat salad we ordered for lunch here at Orange Fever. The service and hospitality were terrific. We also rented their cushioned lounge chairs and umbrella for the day $7 each which also came with a potent rum punch or soft drink of your choice. With lunch they offered a complimentary home-made rum aperitif. It topped off a perfect day and look forward to returning again today and trying some of their other menu delights.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Audrey3091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    58
    22
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Best place to relax on Orient Beach!”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The last few times I was in St. Martin, I used to Cafe Zen Concept, but the owners sold the business 2 years ago, and the name was changed to Ethnic. I decided to try Orange Fever, which is right next door, and boy am I glad I did! The service is fantastic: Luc, Olivier and Patrick are all wonderfully friendly and welcoming! The food is terrific. I've had mussels (fresh on Wednesdays and Thursdays, maybe Fridays if they last), several pizzas (very thin, Italian-style crust, and huge!), burgers and salads, all of which were superb. Our group ended up visiting Orange Fever about 5 times over a one-week period! Prices are very reasonable: a beach chair and umbrella is $7 person person (euro = dollars, cash), and included a free drink (beer, wine or rum punch, which is delicious and made fresh to order). Drinks are strong! The mango colada (frozen) is also amazing. Finally, after meals, they serve a wonderful homemade banana rum, which is by far the best I've tasted in St. Maarten/St. Martin.

Coincidentally, we found La Villa restaurant in Grand Case independently, where the food was also truly delicious, and it turns out that both places are run by the same couple (Luc, and his wife Florence). Needless to say, on our next visit to SXM, we will definitely be coming back to Orange Fever, and to La Villa as well!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank andrewjsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great seafood and pizza”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We ate here twice during our trip to Orient Bay--the tuna tartare($15) and mahi mahi ($14) were great and prices can't be beat. Escargot for appetizer was fabulous. We had pizza the first day and it was the best we have had in a long time! We got a pizza to go on second visit after we had our seafood meal to take back to the room for dinner. 6 beer were $10.00. If you pay in cash 1 dollar = 1 euro. View can't be beat. Great meal with casual, fun atmosphere!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maxie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

During four days of our stay in St. Martin, we rented chairs from them at Orient Beach, a good bargain at $7 per person including a free "simple" drink.
For lunch, Margarita Pizza was simply the best we have ever had, better than the ones we ate in NYC or Rome. Dont forget to sprinkle some of their "hot" sauce. It is a huge big bottle on each table. The watery, oily sauce looks more like olive oil than hot sauce. It is not really hot but adds a delightful little zing to the pizza.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank msiqbalmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
359 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Not worth the hype”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We decided to spend some time at Orient Beach and went to this food shack because of the reviews I had read. We order a drink and sat down to read the menu. The selection looked pretty good so we decided to eat there, our food was pretty good and the other meals looked pretty good too. The only problem I had was when I asked for him bill they put my drinks on the check, which I had already paid for. I showed it to my server and he went over and spoke to someone for a while and finally came back with the drinks taken off the check. Not sure if I would eat there again, we walked down the beach and saw some other establishments that had better menu selection and nice eating areas.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NNWSLARRY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orange Fever also viewed

Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
 
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
 
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Orange Fever? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing