We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palm Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palm Court Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We recently spent 5 nights in mid-April 2012 and could not have chosen a better location or found a more friendly staff. Clean, spacious, and secure accommodations which are located only a 2 minute walk from the Waikiki Beach area made this very convenient. There are multiple restaurants and beach bars within walking distance only minutes away or you can take a short ride to Grand Case for even more selections. The hotel offers a great breakfast and a happy hour around the pool in the afternoon. Alex and her staff could not be more accommodating to include "poopie" the hotel mascot. We would return again without question.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor provides a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hellonwhl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    77
    14
    7
    5
See reviews for
24
172
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

We stayed here for a week at the end of January. We've stayed previously at Le Grand Blue and Grand Case Beach Club. I'd rate Palm Court above both.

Liked

-The free breakfast was great! Plain and chocolate croissants, fresh bread, cheese, hard boiled eggs, cereal, fresh juice and fruit are complimentary and served on a nice patio overlooking the pool. It also gives you an opportunity to meet the hotel's other guests.
-Rooms are clean and updated. However, the bright red color of the walls and moroccan themed decoration don't feel very Caribbean.
-Reception was friendly and helpful. They even helped me sort a rental car issue.
-Only two block to the beach and the hotel's central location mean you're very close to Orient Village where you can find shopping and restaurants (we liked the pizza at safari cafe).
-Given its central location I was surprised at how quiet our room was. We were on the second floor closer to reception. All rooms overlook the pool. The hotel consists of several (four I think) A frame buildings with several units on the first and second floors and only one unit on the third floor. Some of the third floor units may have ocean views. First floor rooms are likely quite dark.
-The bed was comfortable. Not too hard.

Not So Much
-By American standards the water pressure of the shower is poor.
-No screen door on the balcony door means you have to run the AC constantly and can't enjoy the breeze.
-Hotel guests receive complimentary access to beach chairs and a charge card at Waikiki Beach. It's a walk down the beach from the hotel. It would have access to multiple beach clubs. Especially as Waikiki' beach chairs/umbrellas look a bit tired compared to others and their food is a B-. Also, Waikiki does a huge business with cruise ships. Stay away from the reserved section of chairs that they rope off. Finally, it's a tradition of ours to enjoy a bottle of champagne on the beach on the last day of Caribbean trips. The folks at Waikiki hassled us about this as we brought our own bottle rather than purchasing one from them. I'm not sure what arrangement PC has with Waikiki, but my expectation is that part of what you're buying with your hotel booking is a beach chair and umbrella. However, at Waikiki your beach chair feels more like a chair at a restaurant. Technically it doesn't cost anything to sit in the chair but the expectation is you'll order food and drinks.

This may go without saying, but I'd be wary of coming here with children. I didn't see any staying at Palm Court while we were there. Also, our first night in Orient Beach we went for a drink at the Bikini Beach bar where we witnessed a group of swingers doing nude body shots on the bar. We later discovered that they were staying at PC.

Tips

Le Pressoir was the best meal we had in St Martin by far. Le Astrolabe was good. I would not return to Tastevin. The hike to Pic Paradis is great. Do a dive with Octopus. We and several of our friends have done discovery dives and everyone loved it. Go to Blue Martini in Grand Case especially on Thursday to see Dreadi. Calmos and the LoLos are also great places to eat.

Room Tip: I would ask for something closer to reception (farthest away from the parking lot) and avoid rooms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Goweje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

Adorable hotel, good enough to meet anyones expectancies in Orient Bay. Orient Bay is not for everyone but will suite most people, and so will this hotel.

I loved the details, the spicey scents in the room, in the bathroom. The staff was very nice and helpfull. Alexandra from the reception was adorable and always willing to help!

Honestly it is the perfect hotel in orient bay, close to the beach, super calm, relaxing, clean spacious rooms. I have absolutely no complaints!!

Parc de la baie orientale is a wonderful gated residential area.

Room Tip: No views, so any room is good. All rooms have pool view. They are not noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AGdahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

My husband and I recently spent five nights here. Clean, secure and well-maintained property. One block walk to Orient Village, two blocks to the beach.
We met several repeat guests. Last trip we had stayed at Alamanda, but Palm Court is better quality, service and price. We would definitely choose Palm Court next trip.

At night you can visit restaurants in Orient Village. We like Le Piment and Safari in the village and Bikini Beach is also right nearby for good food and drinks day or night until around 930 or 10. Another option is to take a short drive or taxi ride ($15 each way) to Grand Case for many restaurants and a few places to hang out at night for drinks (such as Calmos, Zen or Pirate).

It was great to be so close to Orient Beach. PC provides a pass for free chairs and umbrella at Waikiki Beach but we prefer some of the other options along the beach to rent chairs and umbrella ($15 or so).

Palm Court is definitely a great choice if you want to spend your days on Orient Beach.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mojitogirlChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

We just completed a one-week stay at this hotel. It was nice but not luxurious.

Being on the French side of St. Martin feels more like being in France than in the Caribbean. Almost everyone speaks English well but there is very little Caribbean flavor to the restaurants and atmosphere.

Pros:
The large rooms were kept clean and included a fridge and microwave. A lovely continental breakfast was served outdoors by the pool. Clean beach towels were provided daily. Beach chairs and umbrella were included at no additional charge at Waikiki Beach at Orient Bay. Helpful reception staff was available from 9-1 and 3-7pm. It’s just a short walk to a beautiful beach. The hotel’s swimming pool was nice and long enough for short lap swimming.

Cons:
Our room’s water pressure often dropped during times of high usage. On several days, we had no water at all for several hours. This seemed to be a recurring problem for the hotel. The hotel is located on a small property surrounded by apartments and condos. This makes for a noisy environment with barking dogs, loud motorcycles and occasional loud music in the evenings. The hotel’s free WiFi occasionally did not work.

The hotel was very difficult to find in our rental car as there are no directions on the hotel website. This is made worse as most of the streets on the island have no names! The local people are friendly when you stop to ask directions but not all speak English.

Other travel tips: You can take the ferry from nearby Oyster Pond to St. Barths on Wednesdays and Thursdays with an advance reservation. To us, a day trip to St. Barths wasn’t worth the money. There are no sights to see other than a two-block shopping area. There are several nice beaches, but the same is true of St. Martin. Even if you take the first ferry of the day, by the time you arrive at St. Barths and get your rental car, it’s almost 11am. You have to return the rental car at 4:30pm in order to get back to the ferry on time. This only gives you five and half hours on the island. Save yourselves the time and effort and skip this day trip.

Room Tip: No elevator. Rooms next to pool you can see into so keep your curtain closed when changing your clot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GelatoLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braselton, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

We were surprised by the decor - a very Indian theme with a lot of bright colors, brass decorations and incense. It is private with a nice pool (very cold water). A short walk to the beach not a problem. The security gate was broken our entire stay and there was some sort of altercation one night in a room above us. The staff seemed agitated most of the time. You have to ask for a hair dryer but the office closes mid day so hard to work around. Won't stay again.

Room Tip: find out about the security gate before you stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kingsbridgemarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
545 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

Stayed on Orient many times over last 5 years and the Palm may well be the best overall place to stay. Nothing fancy just nice people, peaceful setting and clean. Gated entrance for a secure feeling. Not that we have ever had security problems ever on Orient. We never leave anything in the rental car . No room anyway in the tiny rental cars.

We have typically stayed at the Alamanda because of it's perfect location across from the beach. The last several visits were disappointing there due to maintenance issues, mold in restroom and lack of room updates. And did I mention the hard bed. So on our visit to Grand Case we got a tour of Palm and will stay here in spring of 2012. This place has much nicer rooms. And the security features are nice. Rooms little more like a small condo than smallish rooms at Alamanda. Do yourself a favor stay here and rent a car. If can't handle the health benefits of the 5-10 min walk to beach take the car . Stock up on food and goodies at new food mart on short ride to Grand Case. Definitely explore the delights of whole island and eat in Grand Case. Although little more expensive the restaurants in Orient Village are all excellent choices. Drop the inhibitions and enjoy the many places to party eat and drink at the Carabeans most popular beach.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scott1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orient Bay
0.1 mi away
La Playa Orient Bay
La Playa Orient Bay
#4 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#6 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Plantation
Hotel La Plantation
#3 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
2.7 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Court Hotel

Property: Palm Court Hotel
Address: Parc de la Baie Orientale | Parc de la Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Court is situated in Orient Bay, just two minutes walk from the beach and all local amenities. Orient Beach is on the windward side of the island, so the hotel is blessed with the cooling Caribbean trade winds for most of the year. The breeze not only keeps the temperatures comfortable, but also provides ideal conditions for watersports such as windsurfing and kitesurfing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, West Indies and Hotels.com so you can book your Palm Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Court Orient Bay
Hotel Palm Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing