We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not luxurious”
Review of Palm Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palm Court Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice but not luxurious”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We just completed a one-week stay at this hotel. It was nice but not luxurious.

Being on the French side of St. Martin feels more like being in France than in the Caribbean. Almost everyone speaks English well but there is very little Caribbean flavor to the restaurants and atmosphere.

Pros:
The large rooms were kept clean and included a fridge and microwave. A lovely continental breakfast was served outdoors by the pool. Clean beach towels were provided daily. Beach chairs and umbrella were included at no additional charge at Waikiki Beach at Orient Bay. Helpful reception staff was available from 9-1 and 3-7pm. It’s just a short walk to a beautiful beach. The hotel’s swimming pool was nice and long enough for short lap swimming.

Cons:
Our room’s water pressure often dropped during times of high usage. On several days, we had no water at all for several hours. This seemed to be a recurring problem for the hotel. The hotel is located on a small property surrounded by apartments and condos. This makes for a noisy environment with barking dogs, loud motorcycles and occasional loud music in the evenings. The hotel’s free WiFi occasionally did not work.

The hotel was very difficult to find in our rental car as there are no directions on the hotel website. This is made worse as most of the streets on the island have no names! The local people are friendly when you stop to ask directions but not all speak English.

Other travel tips: You can take the ferry from nearby Oyster Pond to St. Barths on Wednesdays and Thursdays with an advance reservation. To us, a day trip to St. Barths wasn’t worth the money. There are no sights to see other than a two-block shopping area. There are several nice beaches, but the same is true of St. Martin. Even if you take the first ferry of the day, by the time you arrive at St. Barths and get your rental car, it’s almost 11am. You have to return the rental car at 4:30pm in order to get back to the ferry on time. This only gives you five and half hours on the island. Save yourselves the time and effort and skip this day trip.

Room Tip: No elevator. Rooms next to pool you can see into so keep your curtain closed when changing your clot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GelatoLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    90
    14
    8
    5
See reviews for
35
212
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Braselton, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We were surprised by the decor - a very Indian theme with a lot of bright colors, brass decorations and incense. It is private with a nice pool (very cold water). A short walk to the beach not a problem. The security gate was broken our entire stay and there was some sort of altercation one night in a room above us. The staff seemed agitated most of the time. You have to ask for a hair dryer but the office closes mid day so hard to work around. Won't stay again.

Room Tip: find out about the security gate before you stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kingsbridgemarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
629 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Stayed on Orient many times over last 5 years and the Palm may well be the best overall place to stay. Nothing fancy just nice people, peaceful setting and clean. Gated entrance for a secure feeling. Not that we have ever had security problems ever on Orient. We never leave anything in the rental car . No room anyway in the tiny rental cars.

We have typically stayed at the Alamanda because of it's perfect location across from the beach. The last several visits were disappointing there due to maintenance issues, mold in restroom and lack of room updates. And did I mention the hard bed. So on our visit to Grand Case we got a tour of Palm and will stay here in spring of 2012. This place has much nicer rooms. And the security features are nice. Rooms little more like a small condo than smallish rooms at Alamanda. Do yourself a favor stay here and rent a car. If can't handle the health benefits of the 5-10 min walk to beach take the car . Stock up on food and goodies at new food mart on short ride to Grand Case. Definitely explore the delights of whole island and eat in Grand Case. Although little more expensive the restaurants in Orient Village are all excellent choices. Drop the inhibitions and enjoy the many places to party eat and drink at the Carabeans most popular beach.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scott1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We had a layover in St.Maarten and decided to drive to Orient Bay for an overnight. The palm Court was perfect. 5 minutes walk to the Orient beach. Nice garden with decent pool. Fenced property. Secure parking. Large rooms in 3 storey buildings well appointed. Looks like the property is extremely well maintained compared to the rest of the island. You either have a balcony or a garden terrace but each has its own chaise-longue etc...overall very comfortable.
We saw other properties around but most of them offer bungalows type of construction and more far away from the beach.
Breakfast is by the pool which is nice. Wifi through out the property is free. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank axel16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Stayed for a week between Xmas and New Years. Large and comfortable rooms. Just a few minutes walk to the beach (mostly along a path - no shoes needed). But it was much better than being on the beach itself. Rooms had absolutely no musty beach smell or rust, which you'd usually see on beach properties. And there was good privacy plus security, since the entire property is gated.
Fantastic maid service and breakfast staff! The included breakfast is continental plus eggs that you are welcome to boil. Having them cook eggs or bacon is extra.
Only one drawback that apparently has never been a problem except for my family - the hotel's arrangements for free beach chairs and umbrella are from a certain beach restaurant, and if you don't order their lunch and lots of drinks, they become angry. But you can always walk a few feet to a different spot and find inexpensive chairs to rent.
Make sure you contact the hotel before your day of arrival, since the front lobby is not staffed 24x7 and you'll certainly want to get entry to the hotel when you arrive. Also, there is no concierge, but there are brochures and the hotel staff can give you recommendations.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kevoltMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Lovely proprietress, comfy & clean rooms, great privacy.
Easy walk to beach and shops/restaurants.
Island is only 5 miles x 5 miles so easy by rental car. Be careful parking in Phillipsburg - we got our car towed but police very polite.
Take insect repellent as we got more itchy bites here than multiple other Caribbean vacations.
We took US dollars and Canadian credit card - no need for Euros.
If you like airplanes then definitely spend an hour at Maho beach in front of the runway - unbelievable site to see a 747 come right at your head for landing but beware the jet blasts!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert_David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights at Palm Court right after Thanksgiving (then when on to St Barts for 4 more nights) and generally agree with most of the reviews posted here. Spacious room, quiet, secure, and a short 2-5 minute walk to Orient Beach. We showed up at Waikiki Beach and enjoyed the morning before heading over to Maho to watch the planes fly over our heads on our only full day on the island (big jets land from about 1 to 4P). Staff at Waikiki brought over a table, opened the umbrella etc...but didn't take our privilege card..and wasn't until a week later did we realize "oh, they knew we were from Palm Court because of the towel color!" But I digress.... Finding the place was a bit of a challenge (ended up over at Club Orient and taking the "back road") but from the reviews we sort of expected that and chalked it up to the whole experience. Wifi did not work in the room but it did by the pool and in the lobby. Stocked up on beer, wine, rum, cheese, meats etc. at the US Market not far from Orient Village, and stuffed much of it into a soft-sided cooler for the beach (staff at Waikiki appeared to care less). Ate both nights at the Lolo's in Grand Case (planned to do a Lolo one night and a nicer dinner in Grand Case or in the Village the following, but we enjoyed the casual and cheap atmosphere of the Lolo's so we ate there both nights). The one surprise was both my wife and I were underwhelmed with Orient Beach - much more "touristy" than we expected, I guess. We likened it to Panama City Beach less the highrises and French influenced swimwear (to put it into perspective we *like* PCB and the North Walton beaches...and since those are driveable from where we live, we'll go there for a family beach fix).. St Barts was a 10 minute flight and a completely different atmosphere and story, but that's a seperate review......

If you are a big "hotel service" person or "Las Vegas Mega-Pool" type person Palm Court is not for you. If you tend to be more self-sufficient and want a clean, comfortable, convenient place to stay in Orient Village near (but not on) the beach and only a 5 minute drive or so from Grand Case it probably is. Also, have to throw a shout-out to Unity Car Rental - great rates, the car was nice, and no problems on pickup or dropoff.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woodr35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orient Bay
2.5 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,782 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Playa Orient Bay
La Playa Orient Bay
#4 of 8 in Orient Bay
594 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#6 of 8 in Orient Bay
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Plantation
Hotel La Plantation
#5 of 8 in Orient Bay
443 reviews
2.7 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
741 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Court Hotel

Property: Palm Court Hotel
Address: Parc de la Baie Orientale | Parc de la Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Court is situated in Orient Bay, just two minutes walk from the beach and all local amenities. Orient Beach is on the windward side of the island, so the hotel is blessed with the cooling Caribbean trade winds for most of the year. The breeze not only keeps the temperatures comfortable, but also provides ideal conditions for watersports such as windsurfing and kitesurfing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, West Indies, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Palm Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Court Orient Bay
Hotel Palm Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing