We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and friendly hotel”
Review of Palm Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palm Court Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very nice and friendly hotel”
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We traveled in low season, stayed for 4 nights, and we liked the hotel very much. Clean, quiet, comfortable and has everything we needed. Great pool. A very short walk from the Orient beach. The beach itself is fantastic, but the storm season brought a lot of sea grass. For us it wasn't not a problem at all. The limited breakfast choice may become an issue if we stayed for longer time. Restaurants in the area are good but expensive. There is a US Market supermarket a short drive away. We stopped there on the way from the airport and covered our needs for all drinks and lunches for 4 days.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre-RT715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    90
    14
    8
    5
See reviews for
35
212
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, NY
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

I spent a weekend here to enjoy a secluded few days in the Caribbean without the stress of multiple flight transfers and noise of a busy hotel. Palm Court is more of a holiday apartment. It is very tastefully furnished and tranquil, and a pleasant walk past 2-3 blocks of other similar holiday apartments to Orient Beach. The hotel is gated and requires a passcode to open the gates, so I felt better considering St Martin has a reputation for theft and crime. There are pastry shops and a small supermarket close by where you can buy Ma Doudou's rum. Breakfast was included and decent, nothing extravagant, pleasant outdoor dining by the pool. I didn't have a single bad meal at St. Martin between the supermarket pastries, Orient Beach restaurants and Orient Bay Village restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DrCrazyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
162 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

What a great place. Very clean and very well kept. The room was very nice and the A/C was working like a charm. We would go back to Palm Court in a heartbeat. The hotel cooks crepes poolside every afternoon and they are yummy! If you don't mind a small walk to the actual beachfront - this is the place for you. Enjoy!!

Room Tip: Emailed ahead as this was a special occasion and the room there was a gift in room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyNudistCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Went in mid April. Nice place. In room 3 2nd floor, first section from parking lot.
AC worked great., Room clean. Kitchen with frig. microwave and hotplate.

Bring a wash cloth as there is not one here.

Short walk to beach. You use the chairs and umbrella at Waikiki beach for free. Couple of places to get drinks and snacks on beach. It was a bit windy and rough surf when we were there a few days, but nice overall. You WANT a wind with as intense as the sun is there

Breakfast supplied. You soft boil eggs, coffee or tea and breads supplied, and some cheeses. You can .special order some stuff for 5-10 Euros.

Places to eat in the evening are a 5-10 minute walk. ALL served good food, but for 2 you expect to pay 90-100 bucks. You can get supplies and a pizza for 10-11 Euros at the shop on the way to the eating establishments.

I liked it, and would go back.

Room Tip: upper floors get hot due to sun. Middle rooms OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RealNavyChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

We stayed at the Palm Court for 21 days in March and April of 2011. The rooms are large, clean and the beds comfortable. Each room has a set of hot plates, a coffee maker, plates, cutlery and a bar fridge.

The shower is nice and large with lots of pressure and hot water. House keeping did a excellent job each day.

Each morning a free breakfast was served at the pool. Fresh croissants, cheese, breads, coffee, orange juice and some mornings "heart" shaped pancakes. You could also make yourself boiled eggs.

Orient Beach was only a two or three minute walk away, very safe. A Palm Court stay gives you beach chairs and umbrella at Waikiki Beach Bar.

Several restaurants are only minutes away by foot.

Angie and Sylvia were a great help with any request. They also arranged for a rental car which was dropped off at the hotel for us.

The gardens were beautiful and home to lots of birds and lizards.

The entire hotel is enclosed by a fence, which you cant even notice because of the surrounding garden, the fence and gated parking lot make the hotel very secure.

The pool was clean and a nice change from the beach on those really windy days or when the bus loads of passengers from the cruise ships converge on Orient Bay, and it gets a little crowded.

We would definitely return to Palm Court and have no problem referring it to friends and family.

PS: Good luck with the Happy Days Diner, if you manage it like the Palm Court we have no doubt it will be great!!!

Room Tip: No ATMS within walkiing distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank niko1721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
179 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

I would stay here again but I would prefer a room on a higher level. We had a ground floor room and you could hear folks overhead. The room had a kitchenette which was nice. The bathroom lacked a shower curtain (quite European and a pain in the bottom as this means it is virtually impossible to keep the floor dry while showering). Within walking distance of the beach and lots of lovely restaurants. The included breakfast wasn't worth hanging around for...lots of places to have a roll and coffee within walking distance. Orient Bay is VERY windy.

Room Tip: Higher level best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J&S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

WE stayed here during high season around holidays. Very clean, nice rooms. Breakfast was ok. 3 min walk to beach. Restaurant s within walking distance. There are beach parties for new years. Secure and safe.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debtravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orient Bay
2.5 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,782 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Playa Orient Bay
La Playa Orient Bay
#4 of 8 in Orient Bay
594 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#6 of 8 in Orient Bay
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Plantation
Hotel La Plantation
#5 of 8 in Orient Bay
443 reviews
2.7 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
741 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Court Hotel

Property: Palm Court Hotel
Address: Parc de la Baie Orientale | Parc de la Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Court is situated in Orient Bay, just two minutes walk from the beach and all local amenities. Orient Beach is on the windward side of the island, so the hotel is blessed with the cooling Caribbean trade winds for most of the year. The breeze not only keeps the temperatures comfortable, but also provides ideal conditions for watersports such as windsurfing and kitesurfing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, West Indies, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Palm Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Court Orient Bay
Hotel Palm Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing