We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Food”
Review of Astrolabe

Astrolabe
Ranked #9 of 35 Restaurants in Orient Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: In a magical place in the heart of Orient Bay, you will discover L'Astrolable Restaurant with its thousand facets. Dinner by the pool, or in a tropical garden, everything that you expect will be there : Home, Service, Musical Ambiance, Of course, exceptional cuisine And also, organisation of events as wedding, banquets ...
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We enjoyed our meal here so much that we came back a second time. It is a relatively small restaurant, but the atmosphere is very nice, the service is great and the food is simply amazing. The food is better and less expensive than many of the restaurants in Grand Case. The word we came up with for the foie gras was "indecent" ... it was just that good. The lobster ravioli was a work of art as well as being amazingly tastey. The duck was great as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SDSVJPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    90
    18
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“French cuisine at its finest”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Traveling to St. Martin every year for the past 15 has given us a chance to sample many of the restaurants on the island. This truly is one of the finest. The food is exquisitely prepared and presented. And the taste is just as wonderful. The menu is diverse and never disappointing. If you are looking for a romantic dining experience you will not be disappointed with L'Astrolabe. We never are. Looking forward to next year.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravlinMan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
475 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Yes one of the best resturants on the island”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Yes one of the best resturants on the island; atmosphere, food and service was excellent. Let me remind you that you get what you pay for in life and this is an experience. I was lucky enough to be there when the famous Sax player "Chocolate Sax" or Watts was playing and he is amazing and made the dining experice that much better. I had the fresh Mahi Mahi, Crawfish, rice, vegetables with cajun spices and it was not 'hot', just flavorable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, Ca
Level Contributor
113 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Not welcoming”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We had a dinner reservation for 10 and ended up with 11 people. I thought someone else notified the restaurant but it wasn't done so that is most definitely our error. However, the restaurant staff was obviously displeased and didn't hide their displeasure with their body language and comments about breaking up our group making many of us feel less than welcome. The price fixe menu was fine but I think that the food preparation was average. Best part of the meal was dessert. Restaurants in general are service-based industries and I think that although we we were obviously tourists and perhaps not likely to come back the staff could have done a better job.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank knitsforfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberton PA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautifully Prepared French Cuisine in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Restaurant at the Esmeralda Resort near Orient Beach. Beautiful setting with open air seating next to a small pool. Excellent choices of meat and fish dishes and inspired appetizers. Most entrees were classic French preparations. Chocolate molten cake was a huge hit.

Location is out of the way for those on the Dutch side but we felt the food was excellent and worth the trip.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimberton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Astrolabe also viewed

Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Astrolabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing