We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best for those wanting to see and be seen! ;-)”
Review of Orient Bay Beach

Orient Bay Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.99*
and up
St. Maarten Combo Tour: Butterfly Farm and Orient Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Vancouver, Wa.
Level Contributor
291 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Best for those wanting to see and be seen! ;-)”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I'd been to St Martin a few times, but this was my first time at Orient Beach. I'd heard it is one of the most beautiful beaches. Yes, it is pretty, white sand, clear water. But, way too busy, chairs side by side. We spent our time at LaPlaya Beach. Restaurant and bar, bathroom and changing facilities. Chairs with umbrellas for rent, fair prices.
My opinion is that this beach is for those wanting to see and be seen. Less dressed was the norm, even on the not nude side! My preference is for a less busy beach, which we found on the other islands on our cruise. I know everyone seems to love this beach, but I've been to better!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank imawandrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,455
    1,225
    501
    152
    76
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“It's a beach”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Enough bars to fill you up but too windy or my taste and no calm water. Great for para sailing, kite surfing and other water sports though. Sand beds and umbrella's come at a cost unless you can show certain hotel/resort charge cards.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nic411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach”
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

On a recent cruise we went to Orient Beach. We rented chairs at a place called KonTiki. Wonderful service and great beverages. We would do this again in a heartbeat!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karmag10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The best”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I could spend forever on this beach!The soft white sands that go on forever into the warm waters of St Maarten. Love it

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lamplighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Must go to Orient Beach while in St Maarten!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed at Dawn Beach for a week, but drove all around the island everyday. We are runners and the beach at Orient Bay is nice and long, so it made for a nice run. The sun-bathers (some topless, some nude) kept our mind off of how hot we were running in 80 degree weather! After our 8 am run, we showered at Bikini Beach Bar, changed into our suits (they have a nice changing room and restrooms) and rented chairs and an umbrella to spend some time relaxing on the beach. Plenty of availability to rent chairs. We paid $18 for the day. The downside is that there were constantly "vendors" interrupting our resting time to try to sell us the usual junk. Keep your eyes closed when they walk by and they will move on...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DebSaratogaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orient Bay Beach also viewed

Maho, Sint Maarten
Sint Maarten, St. Maarten-St. Martin
 
Saint-Martin, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Saint-Martin, St. Maarten-St. Martin
 

Been to Orient Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing