We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scenic and worth the experience....”
Review of Orient Bay Beach

Orient Bay Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.99*
and up
St. Maarten Combo Tour: Butterfly Farm and Orient Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Scenic and worth the experience....”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

While in St. Maarten for the day last week we taxied over to Orient Beach. The water is beautiful and blue...The beaches are nice however no nude side has gotten very commercialized and there is obviously a beach chair and umbrella business war going on...
The day we were there the wind was blowing extremely hard so we were sandblasted all day long but still was a pleasant beach day.
The nude side of the beach was the experience..been there seen all i need to see of that....but worth the trip over.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,455
    1,225
    501
    152
    76
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice Beach, nothing special”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were on NCL cruise and took an island tour with a 45 minutes stop @ Orient Bay. It was crowded in the middle part so the driver parked at the end closer to the border of "Nude Beach". Beware some of the people on the Nude Beach will cross their so called border without anything on to buy snacks or drink or simply want to show off whatever god give them to hide. We saw this 9 year old girl who is having fun playing in the sand, who all of a sudden ran to her mom with her head down because 2 old man (around 60's) walking towards her with nothing on. If you have little children and want to enjoy the beach stay on the middle part to avoid this kind of incident. The beach itself is nice, nothing special, it's like other Carribean beaches. In my opinion, Magan's Bay in St. Thomas is way better.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“nice long beach with great restaurants”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Negative was vendors constantly hawking you! variety of restaurants and bars good, fun new years eve, dancing on the beach, very French!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank CandyS513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington
Level Contributor
100 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Blue waters and white sands”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were on a RC Adventure of the Seas cruise with a stop at St. Martin/St. Maarten and decided to take their excursion to Orient Bay beach. Be aware that this beach is seven miles long! So it is all about location, location, location. RC had a section with beach chairs set aside at the Waikiki area of the beach. We were their right after New Years so I guess that is high season. The section of the beach we were on was not crowded at all so it made for a delightful afternoon outing. Sadly the wind was up so the waves were high, some reaching over 5-6 feet. We had fun playing in the surf though we would have had just as much fun just bobbing in a calm sea. Just remember the buddy system when going into the water. Better to be safe than drowned.

It is also important to note that we were warned that their might be some nudity on the beach (European bathing). To my husbands disappointment there wasn't any along the stretch of beach we were on but if it is a concern for Americans not accustom to this practice, just be aware.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rosietomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Scenic and interesting.”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Orient Beach was a wonderful experience of sun, relaxation,swimming and eating. We stopped there when on a cruise with about 16 couples . We were on a class reunion get together.The beach we were on was a clothed beach and a little to our left was the nude beach . We saw all sorts of interesting people and had a great time.The nude sunworshippers didn't mind us nor we them.The weather was good and sun felt wonderful.would go back any time.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orient Bay Beach also viewed

Maho, Sint Maarten
Sint Maarten, St. Maarten-St. Martin
 
Saint-Martin, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Saint-Martin, St. Maarten-St. Martin
 

Been to Orient Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing