We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very relaxing”
Review of Orient Bay Beach

Orient Bay Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.99*
and up
St. Maarten Combo Tour: Butterfly Farm and Orient Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
hampton twp., nj
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“very relaxing”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Beach was very clean, the water had a little seaweed floating around, but not too bad. Very friendly people. Only drawback was the food where we ate. The grilled red snapper was rubbery, and the ribs were just ok.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank andrioti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,482
    1,246
    503
    152
    77
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
fla
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Be open minded”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is a great beach, clear water, shopping, restaurants, water craft rentals. But be open minded if you are taking your walk on the clothing optional side.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank sallysh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Oyster Bay Beach Resort Beach Bash”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Fabulous time! Wonderful service, clean beach, beautiful water. Absolutely gorgeous scenery. We loved watching all the parasailers.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triangle, NC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great beach with something for everyone”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed in Mt. Vernon on the far north end of Orient Bay and spent most of our time on the far south end, the clothing optional area. Having walked the whole beach a few times, I believe that there truly is something for everyone at Orient Bay.

My observations are from September, the slowest month, so take that into account.

North end (Mt. Vernon)
The water is the roughest here and the seaweed was the heaviest. However, there were also very few people, most of them congregated around Boo-Boo Jam playing paddle tennis. The people who stay in Mt. Vernon are mostly of French origin.

Center (Orient Bay Park area)
Here is where most of the bars and tourists are. The further south you go, until you reach Pedros and the rocks, the more crowded it gets. There are places that serve all kinds of drinks, places playing loud music, water sports rentals and at least half-a-dozen places that rent chairs and umbrellas. There are also wandering people trying to sell their wares. Behind this area, just north of the parking lot for Pedros are some stores that sell t-shirts and pretty sundresses. Try to find local reggae artist Dread-I and listen to his stuff. While nudity is prohibited in this area, this is a French beach, so, especially on Sunday when the locals come out, there are plenty of topless women. It isn't a big deal to them and since you are on their beach, etiquette dictates that you shouldn't make a big deal out of it either.

South (Club Orient)
Once past Pedros, you are in the clothing optional area. There is a big sign, you can't miss it, so if this isn't for you, there is no way you can end up there by accident. This area features the calmest water and no walking vendors. Whatever you may think of this area now, here's the truth as I experienced it: it is a regular beach minus one thing - swimsuits. All types of people go there and once you have been there for a little while you realize that no one is there to look at you, so being naked is quickly forgotten. We went when Club Orient was closed for renovations, so there were very few people were around, but when we went for a swim and the wind caught our umbrella, someone was kind enough to catch and it tuck it under our chairs for us. If you go, don't go to gawk, it isn't polite. Come down, take off what you are comfortable with and forget the rest of the world.

Overall, Orient Beach is fantastic and we cannot wait to get back there. The sand is nearly white so it doesn't get too hot, the water is crystal clear, and there is something for all tastes. Want the secluded feel? Head north. Want water sports, beach bars and to meet new friends? Go to the center. Want the freedom of being without a swimsuit? Head south. Whatever you are into, Orient Beach is worth a visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank R-n-P_in_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Top 3 beaches on the island ....”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

arrive early with towels and rent a chair and umbrella for no more than 20 bucks a day. there are so many areas so find the one where the chairs are the most comfortable.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank powerpkr95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orient Bay Beach also viewed

Maho, Sint Maarten
Sint Maarten, St. Maarten-St. Martin
 
Saint-Martin, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Saint-Martin, St. Maarten-St. Martin
 

Been to Orient Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing