We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Playa Orient Bay
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Le Gosier, Guadeloupe
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

L'hoste hotel is an excellent hotel , the staff is sooo friendly and it's an ideal beach spot.
But Avoid by all means their watersport activity center - Watersport Le a Playa or Parasail Evasion as they have no proper insurance to cover you in case of emergencies .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marie-anne315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    271
    75
    49
    26
See reviews for
101
342
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Our visited started with a pleasant greeting at the front desk by Kelly and Katy. These two young ladies went out of their way to make sure our first stay at L’Hoste was a great experience.

Our room was close to the beach and on the third floor. We had a spacious room with a comfortable king size bed, a balcony overlooking the La Playa beach bar and a partial ocean view framed by some beautiful palm trees.

L’Hoste room rates includes a complimentary daily continental breakfast at La Playa which is located directly between the hotel and the beach. There is a good selection of fresh fruit, pastry, croissants, along with hot and cold cereal. They also offer a full breakfast menu at addition cost. We couldn’t have asked for a better way to start each day. As others have reported, as you are eating your breakfast, you will probably see many naked walkers out for their morning stroll, but they are done by 9am.

In addition to breakfast, La Playa also serves lunch and has two bars for your refreshment of choice. They also have a beach chair and umbrella for each hotel guest at no charge.

Most of the beach bars close around 6pm so it was great to have the Orient Village restaurants so close by. We ate multiple meals at both Yellow Sub and Little Italy. The service was friendly and our dinner selections were fresh and enjoyable. Surprisingly, smoking is allowed in most St Martin restaurants, so if that bothers you, chose your table location wisely. Most restaurants are open air so that was not an issue for us.

There is also a new market, Petite Casino, for your basic day to day needs including duty free liquor.

All in all, this was a very nice place to stay. It’s located in the middle of Orient Beach with plenty of day time activities close by. Only issue with Orient Beach is that on days that there are multiple cruise ships in town, you might want to get a rental car and head for a quite beach like Happy Bay or Friar’s Beach.

All in all, we have a very enjoyable stay at L’Hoste and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: I would request a 2nd or 3rd floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bari, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this Hotel for a short week end in St.Maarten, just for one night...
Everything it was pleasant, a good welcoming, a very nice location and for sure, the room was spacius, clean and big for two people.
We tasted the restaurant, close to the Hotel, in front of the beach...and it was good too.
Maybe, the only suggestion for the owners, is that of more attention to the dettails!
In general my vote for this hotel (1-10) is 8!
Andrea

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Andrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

My wife and I spent a week at L'Hoste dead smack in the center of Orient Bay. The location is ideal, there are several restaurants within walking distance so you won't need a taxi for dinner. We still recommend renting a car even if you do not plan on driving everyday. The hotel is directly on the beach so you are just steps from paradise. Not only would I recommend this hotel but St. Martin is by far my favorite island.

The continental breakfast is very good. Generally there was several types of bread, yogurt and fruit. La Playa which is the restaurant that connects with L'Hoste is highly recommended also. To be honest all of the food in Orient Bay is spectacular. I recommend bringing a beach cooler bag if you plan to drink or eat on the beach. This will save you a lot of money. We did this everyday as there is small grocery store called Casino just steps from the hotel.

This was my first time to St Martin and I am already planning my second visit. I plan to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: I would get a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STLMitch314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2014

I loved this hotel!

Pros:
The hotel is right on the beach which is the best beach on St Martin
friendly staff
nice breakfast
spacious room, with room for a lounge/living room area
kitchenette
patio(facing back yard)
spa and on-site restaurant( no dinner)
'Village' is in walking distance where they have a nice choice of restaurants and other little shops, but since this was built for tourists it's not cheap
wifi in lounge/room and on the beach
beach part is amazing: comfy chairs, bar where you can charge to room, beautiful!

Cons
not so cheap
if you don't like nudity, this place is not for you :) there is a nude beach close by and a lot of people walk topless on the beach
wifi was broken in my room all the time

Room Tip: 214 room does not face the beach and most rooms do not I believe in the bathroom you can hear EVER...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann9872014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicksville, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We enjoyed L'Hoste Hotel, even just for one night. We checked in easy, had a great second floor balcony room, had a "sort of" view of ocean through the palm trees. Comfy bamboo bed, nice shower. Walk to beach through La Playa restaurant / bar. Beach was very quiet the Saturday we were there, which was fine. La Playa plays some fun 80s mixed music during the day. walked to Little Italy to eat, which was really good. Then had a nightcap at Bikini Beach Bar, which was perfect. All in all we could have stayed longer, but headed off to Grand Case from there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike47732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west virginia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed the last full week of April 2014. We had a room on the third floor. Staff was very courteous and helpful. No problems of any type including bugs, children, odors,room cleanliness, etc Accomodations, although admittedly not first class, were fine. I would say that it is a very reasonably priced small hotel on the beach. However, I don't believe that you can actually see the beach from any of the rooms. This was our second stay. The first time we were on the 2nd floor in the rear and this time on the third near the front parking lot. The walk to the beach from either rooom was no more than an average city block. Each room had a safe, small refrigerator, electric stove, microwave and some cooking pans, utensils, etc. A breakfast was included consisting of hot beverages, orange juice, hot and cold cereals, various breads, yogurts, and fresh fruit cups. You could pay extra if you wanted more like eggs or pancakes but we never tried that. The breakfast was served at La Playa which is an open air restaurant on the beach directly behind the hotel. There is also a separate La Playa beach bar closer to the ocean on the sandy beach. There are some small shops, small stores and several resataurants within easy walking distance of the hotel primarily in or near Orient Village which are all on the same entrance road which leads to the hotel. The entrance from the main road to the hotel complexes on Orient Bay is protected by a manned guard house. After passing that station you wind through the complex about a mile generally staying on a dogleg to the right which then leads to a roundabout that you enter bearing to the right and a 3/4 circle turn to enter the road that leads to the entrance to the hotel ( on the left side) and at the end Orient Village (on the right side). The hotel entrance is about a block from this roundabout on the left hand side and is not well marked. However, since it is so close it is easily found with a little effort. The hotel has a paved parking area immediately in front of it and this lot is directly behind The Palm Court Hotel which is clearly visible from the main entrance road at the roundabout.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you make your final selection
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wvtraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orient Bay
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#2 of 8 in Orient Bay
320 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,800 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#5 of 8 in Orient Bay
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Plantation
Hotel La Plantation
#6 of 8 in Orient Bay
446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Esmeralda Resort
Esmeralda Resort
#3 of 8 in Orient Bay
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Playa Orient Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Playa Orient Bay

Property: La Playa Orient Bay
Address: 116 Parc de la Baie Orientale | Bp 5146, Orient Bay 97071, St. Maarten-St. Martin (Formerly L'Hoste Hotel)
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Playa Orient Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach, the Hoste is a hotel offering 56 spacious Junior Suites and a Creole Hut « la Cabana ». The hotel is made up of small buildings (2 floors) with an outdoor freshwater swimming pool, a private beach area with sun loungers and a Bar Restaurant «La Playa" set in an exceptional location where you can enjoy breakfast by the sea the feet in the sand. On the beach you will find a small shop, a massage service for relaxation and a water sports center. Also available are sun loungers and parasols. ComplimentaryWiFi in all Rooms and the entire Hotel ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your La Playa Orient Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hoste Hotel Orient Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing