We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good/ some bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Playa Orient Bay
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2014

L'Hoste Hotel

Pros: beautiful beach, very comfortable beach chairs, super friendly bar and wait staff, Katy at front desk was very professional and friendly, breakfast on the beach was lovely (but gets old after 3 days), some decent restaurants in walking distance, many beach sports available, cleaning staff came everyday and did a good job, rooms are equipped with refridge, stove, microwave and a few dishes and such.

Cons: rooms are run down, not enough towels, not enough lighting in rooms, rooms had a very musty moldy odor, first floor garden view very ugly...you don't even want to sit out on the decrepit porch, other women at the front desk very unfriendly...felt like I was bothering them for service, the chair attendant saves the beach chairs with the best views to rent to groups from other hotels and people he solicites off the beach while paying hotel customers have to find their own seating in the less desirable areas of that beautiful location, wifi is very fickle..we could only access it from the lobby where there were many bugs that ate us alive

This hotel has potential to be a very good place if they are truly working on fixing up the rooms and the property. They need to send some of the staff for some training in customer service.

Tips to have a better time: insist on a second floor room, wake up very early to save one of the few unreserved front row beach loungers especially on busier days on the beach, if you plan on leaving this resort town to go to Grand Case or anywhere else then rent a car at the airport. Do not rely on the women at the front desk to be very helpful in getting you a taxi or car rental. I had a terrible experience with the Car rental company that they called for me and was totally ripped off by the taxi driver they called to take me to Grand Case, try to have your dealing at the front desk with Katy.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank Marge G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 609 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2014

The staff at l'Hoste were extremely helpful and friendly. The staff are working constantly to fix up what is an older hotel. The rooms have a refrigerator, good toaster over, and two burner stove but no microwave. The furniture was very nice and the bed beautiful. The "continental" breakfast was so much more than we expected, wonderful fruits, flaky croissants, lots of varieties of yogurt and more. The pictures on trip advisor need to be updated to reflect the beautiful pool and other improvements that have been made here. There is still work needed, cracked floor tiles, chipped wood, etc. The beach area is large and fabulous! We plan on returning here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Linda B-H B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

My husband and I spent 4 nights at l'Hoste the week before Christmas and had a nice relaxing vacation. I was looking for a clean, comfortable hotel on the beach, while my husband's priorities are having good AC, cable TV, and in room wifi (in that order). L'hoste was able to provide all of our requirements. We were given a third floor room, which had a king sized bed, sitting area, balcony, and kitchenette. We used the mini fridge and microwave, which worked great, but did not try the 2 burner cooktop. The kitchenette was also stocked with 1 pot, 1 pan, glasses, silverware and dishes. An extended continental breakfast was included in the room rate, so we only used the kitchenette for sandwiches and snacks, but it was a nice convenience. The breakfast was served at the beach bar and included chocolate and butter croissants, baguette, wheat toast, cereal, yogurt, juice and hot beverages, and fresh fruit.
The room was very clean, and the linens, which were changed daily, were in good condition. The furnishings were a bit dated, with chipping paint on table legs and some cracked tiles on the flooring, but these were not that important to us. The AC worked great, as days can get hot. The cable included over 70 channels and was bilingual, and the in room wifi worked (though we found it was more reliable in the evenings than in the AMs). The rooms do not have beach views, but the property itself is on the beach with a short boardwalk to the bar and beach. Orient Bay is a beautiful coved beach with islands and hills in the distance. The property is landscaped with tropical flowers and fruit trees, and there is a simple pool which we did not use.
We inadvertently made the hotel management extend their services to us after our stay. We left for the airport early in the morning, prior to the front desk opening. When we arrived back in the States, my husband realized that he had left his wedding ring in the hotel safe. He called the manager, who assured him that she had recovered the ring and would send it to us as soon as possible. Apparently, Fedex would not make a pick up at the hotel, so she had to deliver it to the Fedex facility on the Dutch side. It took more than a month (we were told that it was their busy season, and they couldn't send the ring sooner), but we were relieved to receive the ring last week. We really appreciate their diligence and integrity in returning the ring to us.
If you are looking for a simple, clean hotel on the beach with great service, I would definitely recommend l'Hoste Hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sjwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

First room we were given was totally dilapidated; water poured from broken plumbing in bathroom, " kitchenette" had old rusted stove, no microwave or coffee pot, or cups...linens were threadbare, 2 worn out pillows, old worn out drapes, sagging bed. When we asked to change rooms we were told that they were sold out and that there were no more pillows. I called booking agent, hotels.com, to see if we could change this $327.00/ night hotel. As I was on hold, mgr finally found another room for us. This room was a few doors down, but plumbing worked the first day. On day two it also leaked all over the bathroom floor but was fixed immediately upon first request. Still had unusable kitchenette but refrig did work. Good wifi and tv and clean. Good location short walk to beach. No view. This place reminded me of some tired properties we have stayed at in Mecico, but at half the price.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sandygold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas V, Responsable relations clients at La Playa Orient Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear customer,


First of all, thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment on your trip at the Hoste hotel.
We are very sorry to hear about the inconvenience that occurred upon your arrival at the hotel.
We have been very reactive and took all necessary measures to be sure that you could get a new room where everything was fine, wifi, tv, fridge…

We hope you enjoyed the island and we thank you for your comment on our amazing beach location in Orient Bay.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Have been coming back to La'Hoste for many years-simple but bloody great. This year (November) there was some construction going on but , as a business man, I understand this has to happen, did not spoil my vacation and great that the managemet are improving the site.
Great location as always. Beach is probably the best in the world, just 28 steps away.
Restaurants nearby are really good and friendly, look up Franky at the little French bar/restaurant next to the "paper shop" a great character and some of the best food on the island for a great price.
If you have time spend some time in Anguilla -we spent a week there before heading back to St Martin-Glorious for those that need to refresh and find good people.
Anyway, La'Hoste serves our needs with great staff and hoprfully we can go back for the next ten years.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KEVIN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We have not been back to L'Hoste in many years. We were in SXM in May and toured the property. At that time we met Katy and saw a room that we wanted. Came home booked and stayed 10 nights in November. We requested a first floor and that is what we stayed in. The staff at this resort are wonderful. Katy, Sandy and all at the front desk, welcomed us daily. They had towels for the beach, they had wonderful help that cleaned the rooms and we had absolutely no complaints. We did not have water for a period, but it was not the hotel's fault. We enjoyed the continental breakfast that was served daily. The staff at LaPlaya, were a joy to see every morning. Gregory at the beach, saved our chairs, with a giant smile. We had a spectacular time at this property. We dined out every night, and had wonderful meals at: Tai Chi, LeTestavin, LePiment, LaVilla, Little Italie, LeQuinze, LePressoir, Piazza Pascal, L'Asterolabe, where we dined listening to Shine. We also ate in the culdesac, at a little bar that I am not sure of the name. Sat with many locals and loved every minute of it. We enjoyed meeting old friends and met new ones too. This truly was one of our most wonderful 10 day stay. The people at this hotel, made our vacation, magical!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MargieandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed at L´Hoste for the first time and loved the place.

As many reviewers have already stated, the rooms are very simple (and maybe a little dated) but they are clean and spacious. Ours had a king size bed (very, very comfortable mattress) plus a small "living room" area with a couch, coffee table and desk. There is a 32 inch LCD TV with lots of channels to choose from, both in French and English. The bathroom had a good shower stall and a separate toilet cubicle.

The staff is super nice and helpful. They speak very good English though I tried to communicate with them with my limited French (and they encouraged me to do so).

Breakfast at their beach restaurant is one of the highlights of staying at L'Hoste. Direct access to the beach is something that very few hotels in the area can claim and L'Hoste has it.

Wi-fi is only available at the reception area and the beach restaurant, but it works flawlessly and is faster than what I expected in this area of St. Martin.

We would highly recommend staying at L'Hoste if you want to be on the beach in Orient Bay and get great value for your money!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orient Bay
2.5 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#1 of 8 in Grand Case
1,822 reviews
2.7 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
764 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Plantation
Hotel La Plantation
#6 of 8 in Orient Bay
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
0.1 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#5 of 8 in Orient Bay
511 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Playa Orient Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Playa Orient Bay

Address: 116 Parc de la Baie Orientale | Bp 5146, Orient Bay 97071, St Martin / St Maarten (Formerly L'Hoste Hotel)
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range: $204 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Playa Orient Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach, the Hoste is a hotel offering 56 spacious Junior Suites and a Creole Hut « la Cabana ». The hotel is made up of small buildings (2 floors) with an outdoor freshwater swimming pool, a private beach area with sun loungers and a Bar Restaurant «La Playa" set in an exceptional location where you can enjoy breakfast by the sea the feet in the sand. On the beach you will find a small shop, a massage service for relaxation and a water sports center. Also available are sun loungers and parasols. ComplimentaryWiFi in all Rooms and the entire Hotel ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Playa Orient Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hoste Hotel Orient Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing