We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple, comfort in St. Martin” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orient Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orient Bay Hotel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simple, comfort in St. Martin”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2008

We stayed at the Orient Bay Hotel for March Break 2008. This was our first time back in 13 years. We had our honeymoon on the island, and now with our 6 year old, we returned. We chose the Orient Bay Hotel because we know that Orient Bay is the best known beach on the island. It still is a great place to hang out, but we discovered that there are many more beaches that are excellent for kids - not so much surf rolling in, and had good snorkelling too. I recommend Galleon Bay, Pinel Island, and Friar's Bay for beautiful calm water, families will enjoy. We rented a car to get around. Traffic in some areas was terrible, and parking in either Marigot or Phillipsburg is difficult. Definately go to Grand Case for dinner, I recommend on Tuesday nights. There is a little outdoor carnival going on at that time.
As for the hotel, don't expect much. Towels are changed only on Wednesdays. No hair dryers, no shampoo. Beds are firm but comfortable enough. The place is clean, but you would have to sweep the floor, wash your dishes and make your own beds for the week. You could pay extra to have housekeeping come in! (That was a first for me to see that) We prepared some of our own meals which worked out well for our 6 year old.
Finally, one foolish mistake by us, our sliding door to our unit must be manually locked each night for security. On the Thursday night of our stay (6th night ), we forgot to lock the door. We discovered the next morning our camera stolen (6 beautiful days of pics gone) and $200 US stolen. We slept upstairs and the thief came in to the lower portion of the unit. We reported the theft but there was not much you could do. The hotel does have security - a night watchman but obviously they were not aware of anything. I leave the island feeling sad that this has happened, and I have learned a tough lesson. Thank God all that was taken was just those things and not our ID. We also are lucky we did not get hurt when the theft occured.
We were able to purchase a replacement camera on the Friday of our trip, and took some quick pictures. Please see the enclosed pics for your review.

  • Liked — Proximity to Orient Bay and Grand Case
  • Disliked — Minimal services available such as housekeeping and inadequate security of property at night.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank queenbeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
5
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2006

The hotel is just north of Orient Beach, a brisk 6-minute downhill walk (I timed it), or can drive & park.

We stayed in a 2-bedroom villa which sleeps 4 only. Combined kitchen & living area, front patio with table & 4 chairs, back patio with no furniture. Phone & satellite TV. Note: No hair dryer, & U.S. models don't work here.

One bedroom up several steps & the other on the 2nd floor, each with a double (queen?) bed & bathroom with sink & shower. One shared toilet in a closet-sized room between the bedrooms. Rooms plain but clean.

This property is on a steep hillside, so lots of steps. Grounds are attractively landscaped, free parking close to unit, two small pools, one with tables for optional breakfast. Manager is very friendly and he & many guests are French. French bakery a few minutes walk away.

Orient Beach is the island's best -- sand (not too hot), shallow, 1.5 miles long, lots of beach bars & cafes. Can rent loungers and water sports equipment. Southern one-third is nude (nudist resort there), rest is topfree but with occasional nude walkers. Round trip walk takes one hour.

Best restaurants are at Grand Case, a few minutes drive away on western side. Le Cottage Restaurant highly recommended.

Very good value and location for Orient Beach. Quiet and pleasant atmosphere with French ambiance.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank GaryMinPEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny,ny
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2006

We stayed at the oreint bay hotel during the first week of december 2005. This was our second stay there in three years.

Although we paid for Le Jardin de Chevris, the affiliated group of studios, we were actually given a duplex apartment in the orient bay hotel for the same price.

francois at reception was extremely helpful with all our needs. i did not get that anti-american, french arrogance that i have experienced at other french establishments.

the place is very basic. its good if you are looking to stay on the french side of st martin for less $$$ and looking to escape americans. it is not good if you are looking for amenities. it as extremely quiet and private.

there is a great patisserie down the road with wonderful coffee and breads, which we had for breakfast every morning. we had a great dinner on the road to the hotel at sol e luna.

feel free to write me at akazin74@yahoo.com with any questions about the hotel or st martin (been there many times)

Helpful?
10 Thank akazin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2006

Just got back from one week at Orient Bay Hotel. We stayed in a two bedroom Villa which was great as we were travelling with an eight year old. It was a lot of space for the money, air conditioned and very clean and comfortable. We also found that there was always lots of parking and the gardens are very beautiful. The kitchen was well equipped and there was even a charcol bar-b-que. We ate breakfast on the terrace most mornings after a quick run down to the local bakery for fresh baguette and croissants. There are two small pools on-site and both were very well maintained. You can walk to Orient Beach in about 10 minutes and it is not a difficult walk. You can also drive to Boo-Boo Jam's and park there. We liked this end of Orient Beach as it is much less busy then the other end of the beach. Also don't forget to check out Pinel Island... it is very nice.

This property is a sister property to The Jardin de Chevrise. We spent our first night there and the rest of our stay at the Orient Bay Hotel. The Jardin's seemed fine but we really appreciated the extra space in the 2 bedroom villa.

We cannot say enough about the staff. They were very friendly and helped us arrange a great sailboat tour. When we arrived there was a delicous bottle of local rum punch and juice to go with it... just what you need when you get off the plane!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank MackOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2004

We arrived in late October 2003. I can say the place is charming, clean, and good service. It was as described. I must say that its about a 10-minute walk to the beach, Orient Beach, and not "on the beach" as some would believe. That didn't matter, because we rented a car (which they arranged for us, $200 for the week) and drove to all the beaches.

The room was nice, a villa. Not luxury, but that's what we wanted. It was clean and the housekeeping excellent. The staff was friendly and had lots to tell us about places to go.

It really felt like being in Europe there. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2003
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2004

We just got back from a week in St. Martin. We were booked at the Orient Bay Hotel. When we arrived we were told that they did not have the rooms we booked--the Mezzanine Villa-- and offered us the Studio instead. We looked at the room and it was dirty, in poor condition (broken stairs) and was located 1 block from the main hotel with a view of a broken-up parking lot. They would not even give a refund for the difference in cost! This was not a short-term substitution. It was to be for the entire 8 days of our stay. When we declined, and asked if they had arrangements with any other hotels on the island for overbooking problems the manager became angry and said that we should be satisfied with their offer. We were left to walk-in the rain-to find another hotel on our own. The pictures shown on their web site don't look anything like what we saw! I would advise anyone thinking about staying there to think twice! Also, it is not located "just steps from the beach" as advertised---it is at least a 15 to 20 minute walk down a very steep dirt path.

Helpful?
92 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Orient Bay hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orient Bay
1.2 mi away
La Playa Orient Bay
La Playa Orient Bay
#3 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
1.3 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#2 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.4 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#6 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,731 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Plantation
Hotel La Plantation
#5 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orient Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Bay Hotel

Property: Orient Bay Hotel
Address: Mont Vernon I | French Cul de Sac, Orient Bay 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Orient Bay Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Orient Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing