We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Esmeralda Resort
Nearby Hotels
Hotel La Plantation(Orient Bay)(Great Value!)
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Club Orient Resort(Orient Bay)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palm Court Hotel(Orient Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alamanda Resort(Orient Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Privilege Resort(Anse Marcel)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (432)
Filter reviews
432 results
Traveler rating
165
174
52
30
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
174
52
30
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoco beach barprivate poolastrolabe restaurantgrand caseorient beachbeach boysindividual poolsst martincroissantssuperior roomcontinental breakfastmain restaurantonsite restaurantthe air conditioninglaid backcloser to the beachate there twice
Filter
Updating list...
198 - 203 of 432 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have been coming here for over 15 years. The 2.5M renovation 1.5 years ago was badly needed and much appreciated. The location,intimacy,restaurants,rooms and beach can't be matched anywhere. The only suggestions to raise it to a 5 star resort are simple and achievable . Requests for dinner reservations at the front desk will not be made until the afternoon of the day requested,no matter how long in advance they are requested. This requires multiple trips to the desk to check if they were made. I've had this problem for the last 2 years. Communication needs to increase between hotel and guests regarding use of electronics and availability of services in the room. Leo was great in showing me how to use the new cable system-using one controller for volume and on/off, and the other for stations. However, my neighbor never received the same instruction. I had to go over to show him.Wifi is available free at reception,but I didn't find out it was available in the room for a fee, until I was here for a week and asked. The A/C system is great,but not used much in the US. Guests need instruction on how to use the controller. All these instructions could be printed and available in the room upon check in.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jeff49085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAsalesoffice, Director of Sales at Esmeralda Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Jeff: As director of the Esmeralda USA sales office here in Florida, we do follow our reviews diligently and take our customer comments seriously as we are always striving to improve services.

First of all, we all appreciate your loyalty to Esmeralda, are pleased that our recent renovations have been noticed and you consider Esmeralda to be one of the top couples resorts.

Your comments about putting instruction literature in the rooms is a great one and i will work with management to see how soon we can get this implemented.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband I have been going to St Martin for 12yrs twice a year! We have been staying at Esmeralda for the last ten years! We have seen a lot of changes over the years.. Up until this last year it was steadily declining or run down! The new well needed renovations and price, location is what will bring us back this next spring! The staff is very friendly but can be take awhile to get something done but that's coming from a very type A American!
You can not beat the location to the beach!!! Coco is one of the best beach restaurants on the beach! It's location as well is excellent! It's just a short walk to the beach from the resort. The semi private pools are so nice to just chill by after a day at the beach. The best value in Baie Orientale we have found for as long as we have been going and the great location you can't beat!

Room Tip: The nicest villas are close to the main office!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAsalesoffice, Director of Sales at Esmeralda Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Thank you Ruth. It is nice to hear the opinion of such a long time fan of the Esmeralda Resort. We are glad that you appreciate the renovations we have done to our property (just in time) so we can look forward to hosting you again this spring... and for years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We just returned from St. Martin. Loved the island and the food, but our room at this hotel had an adjoining room (I believe most or all of them do), common in hotels, but in this one, there seems to be less than zero sound proofing between the adjoining doors. When we crashed after or 15 hour airline ride, my wife says "what's that noise". It was our next door neighbor snoring. It was so loud I had to use ear plugs to sleep. The next day when our neighbors were talking quietly, we could still hear every word they said. Imagine trying to do something fun in private. When we complained, the desk said there was nothing they could do.
I wouldn't stay here again if they paid me.
The one star is for a nice shower.

Room Tip: don't get a room with an adjoining room
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sleepdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAsalesoffice, Director of Sales at Esmeralda Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Dear Sleep Doctor:
We are sorry we did not live up to your expectations on your recent visit to our property. I did question management about your issues. I have been advised that there was indeed a noisy couple staying in the adjoining room. If I am not mistaken, they also had a baby. I hope you at least enjoyed all the other great features such as our location on Orient Bay and our fine restaurants in addition to our rain showers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just returned from 13 nights at the Esmeralda Resort. Had a wonderful time at this beautiful resort!
Leo at the Reception area is just fantastic and most helpful. He has such a way with all the guests, taking time to greet everyone and help them with their questions. Chris has been there many years and makes our stay wonderful. He is also very helpful and is a pleasure. Jeanine at the front desk is always smiling! This is such a relaxing and beautiful location. Everyone is so friendly. The rooms are immaculate and the property is beautifully landscaped and manicured.
Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAsalesoffice, Director of Sales at Esmeralda Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Jackie:
We are so pleased that you took the time to write a review of the Esmeralda and even more thrilled that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

I will be forwarding your comments on to the staff. They will be happy to see that their attitude and hard work is appreciated.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We've stayed at the Esmeralda many times, currently 3 years in a row, and have already reserved to go back next year. So, we like it. Everyone we talked to on the beach or in the restaurant was a repeat visitor, so we're not alone. Here are the pluses: it's on the best part of Orient Beach. The beach chaises have more space between them than at other Orient Beach locations. It's got a great gourmet restaurant, on a par with anything you'll find in Grand Case. The staff is extremely friendly, and responsive to any problems you may encounter. The price is a fair value. Negatives? Well, the property is older, and not as pristine as it was when we first went there 15 years ago. We heard two guests make complaints...no bellman to take their bags, and you had to bring your beach towels back to the front desk for exchange. So, it's not a 5 star resort. But their 4 star rating has been reaffirmed by the tourist bureau. The hotel is best suited for couples, there is no nightlife on property for singles. But if you like good food, and great beach, a great place to be. Book on THEIR website, www.esmeralda-resort.com, discounts are available. There are some "imitation" sites out there that try to get your bookings, and claiming discounts.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade when you check in.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank southcove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAsalesoffice, Director of Sales at Esmeralda Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Thank you for your review on your last visit to the Esmeralda Resort. You are correct, we are located on the best and quietest part of Orient Beach. The chef at our gourmet restaurant, L'Astrolabe, has won multi-awards for food quality and presentation and is one of the top restaurants in St,. Martin so we are glad you enjoy it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews