We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, But...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La Plantation
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Buffalo, NY
139
Reviewed July 5, 2006

As my title states it indeed is a great place to stay, first from the location point, second - hotel itself. The hotel is in the Orient Bay area, and all of you who have never been to St Martin and are planning your trip p-l-e-a-s-e listen carefully: save yourself amazing amount of time and dissapointment, and head straight to Orient Bay - avoid the rest of the island, especially the Dutch side by a canon shot.

The best 2 things about this hotel are clearly the location - deep within most beautiful God's creation of tropical groves and the most beautiful trees and flowers I've seen - and the peace and quiet you get with a balcony going right out into the grove. Air conditioning is good, there's a safe in the room which we used all the time, and a kitchenette, which was also a good thing when we'd bring sandwiches home. The TV has 2 or 3 movie channels, so we saw movies about every night. While very pleasant and a good value overall, I wil definitely mention the negatives to give you the full picture - there are cockroaches in the bathroom and kitchen area, I personally killed some, it was ridiculous, but seems like every hotel in St Martin has'em. We've told the front desk, and they didn't seem to thing it was too big of a deal - not sure why, those are the french, not the locals. And the bathroom itself was a bit too small, the shower has no door at all - convenient, but you'll be stepping into a puddle of water after you're done. Again, as icky as this sounds I'm giving these people 4 stars because overall it was a very enjoyable place to stay.

We've been around the island and here's how I would sum it up: a bazaar contrast of sheer paradise with awesome beaches and richest Beverley Hills stores (Marigot) and worst saddest poorest ghetto you'd probably ever see anywhere. The part that was seriously dissapointing was the roads - they apprear to NEVER EVER bother fixing any roads whatsoever, I thought roads in NY city were bad - basically don't bother renting anything more than a very basic car, the horrible crumbling roads of St Martin will do their best to destroy it. Couple that with non-stop traffic that's always major, and lets up only at night.

We heard everyone urge us to rent a car and when we did we ended up using it mostly right around Orient Bay, where you don't even need it, everything is a pleasant 5-15 min walk. Very few trips into the island was enough to NOT want to do it again. Pretty much the entire island with very few exceptions is a giant ghetto (with amazing views I should say) with falling apart roads and ugly slums, the locals DO NOT take pride in their own country, it's the saddest thing.

Have you read about the Grand Case village being the "classy gourmet center" of the island? Well we went there - and seriously thought we got lost - only we were not, and found ourselves in the middle of a very ugly and uneasy looking ghetto, the most bazaar part being that those very "classy" restaurants were RIGHT THERE on their narrow main st, amidst slums and steel-barred doors - we didn't even stop and headed right back not knkowing whether to laugh or cry.

So on this pleasant note I will tell you that we had the GREATEST time in Orient Bay - of course starting from the beach, as you've read and heard, yes it is literally just like south of France - amazing cristal blue warm waters, fine sand, gorgeous 80+ deg. weather every day, little rain (We went in April) with the French serving you in their great restaurants (The Indian/Asian one in the center was amazing!), and giiving you Parasailing, Jetskiing and other rides. That beach is the prime reason you should be going to St Martin, not the island - give yourself a favor, and stay either at La Plantation or any Orient Bay hotel, you won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
39  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 450 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Orem, Utah
19
Reviewed May 31, 2006

My husband and I stayed here in March '06 for our anniversary. We loved the place! It was quiet and the room was clean and quaint, with netting around the bed, which, by the way IS useful in keeping the mosquitoes at bay! The atmosphere was lovely, the food good and hospitality great. Just a short walk to the beach, but we had rented a car so we just zipped down to Waikiki Beach, where the food is MARVELOUS. We will most likely stay here again next time we come, and probably request the same room as it had a great view!

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2006

We have stayed a few places now in our 9 trips to St MArtin and La Plantation is a place we would highly recomend to any one,the staff was great,the rooms large and clean the grounds kept well and the breakfast was great pool was nice although we love the beach and the ocean the pool was nice for the evening,,,,,,,,,,Paridse in Paradise what more could you ask for........St Martin I look forward to it every year for a year........

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FRENCHYMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2006

Other than a slight problem with bugs, this is a great place and convenient to everything. We were upgraded from a studio to a suite upon arrival and treated well by all of the staff. Our room was a short walk to the beach and we had a large terrace with a view of Orient Bay. Breakfast was just okay unless you require a large and hearty meal in the morning.

Don't forget to put out a bowl of water and bowl of sugar on the terrace to attract and feed the banaquits, small little yellow and black birds who love sugar.

There's a grocery/convenience store on the walk to the beach called Tap 5 - good for water, wine and other necessities. Also check out the Bounty on the main road in Grand Case. It's a fancier gourmet style deli/grocery.

Good restaurants that are worth the money: in Grand Case, Spiga for Italian, the "LoLo's" for barbeque, California for a very affordable meal & good pizza, Bistro Caraibes for a classic French bistro meal. Le Pressoir is more money and very good too. Don't bother with L'Escapade, it's just okay and not worth the money. In Marigot, definitely splurge at the Chanticler on the marina for excellent food and great people watching. Arawak on the Front de Mer is good too, especially for lunch.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank skd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2006

This was our fifteenth annual visit to St. Martin, but the first time we've stayed overnight in the Orient Beach area. La Plantation was a good deal considering what you get: a spacious studio with terrace, nice breakfast, beach chairs and umbrella daily, and a great location if you don't mind some walking. There is a small area of shops and restaurants within easy walking distance if you want to simply stay in the area without driving anywhere. But why come to St. Martin without eating at the great restaurants within a 15 minute drive, in Grand Case? After all, how many one street small towns have more fine restaurants than most American cities?
Figure $100 to $125 for two at dinner for a three course gourmet meal with wine. Bring cash for a 1 to 1 dollar/ euro at most places.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank SPOLSKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2005

Absolutely loved this hotel (we were there in March 2005 and the weather was perfect)! I selected this hotel after reading many, many reviews for hotels on this website (and after selecting it, found out that our travel agent has been staying there for years)! We have been to St. Martin three times and also to several Carribean islands and have stayed in all kinds of resorts and hotels, but La Plantation was the best so far (and a good value in the price range). Quiet, beautiful setting - easy walk to Orient Beach (and free lounge chairs on the beach at many locations for hotel guests) which is the beach most people prefer to be at (but rent a car and visit other beaches, particularly on the French side) - Friars Bay is great and Dawn beach is another beautiful one. You really need a car to enjoy St. Martin properly anyway since there are so many great places to go, to eat, to swim, to gamble, etc. At La Plantation, we had a bedroom and living room/kitchenette (suite?) with an attached 1 bedroom with kitchenette unit because we were two couples travelling together. This gave us the equivalent of a HUGE villa with two bedrooms, since the rooms were adjoining. Our combined balcony was about 40 feet long! Even the single room was very, very spacious. We had a nice view of the ocean (but through the foliage) - the balcony was a gorgeous and wonderful place to hang out at the end of the day and to watch the sunset. Everything is tasteful and clean and the breakfasts were very pleasant and more than adequate to get us through the day (we aren't lunch eaters for the most part). We did end up feeding some local cats (who looked quite used to being fed by the hotel guests), but the stray dog problem that used to be horrid in St. Martin (and which made me reluctant to go back there) appears to have been largely gotten under control. The few "stray" dogs on the beach seem to be taken care of by one restaurant or another and we were told that there has been a large scale campaign to neuter the strays on the Island. There did seem to be far fewer dogs running about (and they appeared healthier) than on our previous trips to St. Martin (going back about 10 years). A day trip from Marigot to Anquilla on the local ferry (have a taxi take you to Shoelles Beach on Anquilla) was worth it. Many, many great restaurants all over St. Martin. We enjoyed Au Grain du Sel, which was not too far a drive from La Plantation. It was mainly filled with locals and the food was very good but not as pricey as in Marigot or near other resort areas.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank jknf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Lexington, NC
110
Reviewed July 26, 2005

My husband and I just returned from a seven day, 25th anniversary, vacation at La Plantation. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. Our accomodations were very clean and adequate ( we stayed in a suite). We found the reception staff to be very accomodating and helpful; although if you don't know some french, there may be difficulty communucating.
We loved the girls in the restaurant. Our first night there we recieved the traditional bottle of "house rum"....our cute blonde waitress said, "to help you sleep". The beds are a bit uncomfortable! We found very quickly that a car is a neccessity for travel around the island. If you just want to relax, "Orient Baie" Village has everything you need. We enjoyed our early morning walks to breakfast and the beach. Many water sports available on the beach. Lunch at "The Fish Pot", just off the beach, was wonderful, very reasonably priced and good variety. "Tap Five" grocery and deli had good food as well. We loved going to "Bikini Beach" for dinner and drinks ( easily our favorite place on the beach; I loved the Spiced Peach Coolers!!). We ventured to Grand Case and had a scrumptious, and romantic, meal at La California for our anniversary....the best food and service we've had in many years. The view from our table of the lights on Anguilla was breathtaking. We went to Pinel Island several times by water taxi for snorkling and sunbathing. We even got to meet the "King of Pinel Island". Will have to agree with other posts that you have to accept topless and nude bathing on all the beaches in the Orient Bay area. I am sure we will return one day and probably stay at La Plantation again.

Stayed: July 2001
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orient Bay
0.2 mi away
La Playa Orient Bay
La Playa Orient Bay
#5 of 8 in Orient Bay
606 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#4 of 8 in Orient Bay
510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#2 of 8 in Orient Bay
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,818 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
2.7 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Plantation

Address: C5 Parc de La Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St Martin / St Maarten
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range: $189 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Plantation 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the north Atlantic coast of St Martin in the heart of the beautiful Orient Bay Resort, LA PLANTATION voted one of the best small hotels in the Caribbean, features St Martin’s most popular beach with its 3 mile stretch of white sand and turquoise waters. Hotel LA PLANTATION unites French West Indian Charm the comfort of modern amenities and personalised service.17 Stylish colonial villas are set amidst 7.5 acres of tropical gardens. A harmonious blend of luxurious palms, banana trees, bougainvilliers , hibiscus and alamanda encircle the Creole coloured villas capped with shingled roofs. Each ground floor villa comprises one suite and 2 studios which maybe rented separately or combined through interior, connecting doors. The atmosphere is decisively exotic, guest rooms are tastefully decorated in warm colours and original art work. The large terraces are cooled by the trade winds and offer for the upper level categories panoramic views over the bay, surrounding islands and the marine reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel La Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Plantation Marigot
La Plantation Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing