We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely hotel, not what I had expected” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Plantation

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel La Plantation
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“lovely hotel, not what I had expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2008

My husband and I stayed at La Plantation for 5 nights in mid April 2008. We had just come from three lovely nights at la Sirena Resort on Anguilla.

The room was well priced and very clean, in fact strongly smelled of cleaning chemicals when we arrived, which luckily dissipated. The room, a middle suite, was very large and spacious. We didn't see any bugs and the mosquito nets helped keep out any mosquitos that happened to enter the room. The bed was very hard as mentioned in other reviews. The bath was just ok. The suite in general was very cleverly detailed with themed stencils and colors. The kitchen was kind of dingy and not well equipped if you plan on doing any serious cooking.

The website claimed that all rooms had an ocean view - which is not correct. We had absolutely no ocean view which I found very dissapointing. We were in the building closest to the pool and the road.

We were strongly advised to keep the outside shutters to the suite closed at night - I guess due to increased crime on the island - and we also kept them closed during the day when we weren't there for security. This was a big negative for me. I really like to have fresh air when I sleep and at least a view and being closed up like that made me feel like I was in a cave and we had to rely on the airconditioning for ventilation. Being shut in and the lack of a water view was not what I had anticipated after reading through the hotel website.

The complementary continental breakfast was delicious and very filling with cereal, ham and cheese, and make your own eggs. The pool was small but very nicely done and the restaurant overlooking the pool was very well maintained. This part of the resort was very tastefully designed and newly remodeled.

Overall the grounds seemed very well maintained. The walk to the beach was not long at all - especially since were were close to the main road - about 5-10 minutes through Esmeralda or Orient Village. As a guest of the hotel, you could use the chairs and umbrellas of 5 of the beach bars on Orient Bay for free and charge any food and drinks to your room - in dollars. We ate at Coco Beach for 2 dinners and a lunch and the food was very good.

We had our rental car delivered to the hotel which was very easy -we dropped it off at the airport when we left the island.

The village of Orient Bay is very charming and very well maintained. No paint peeling anywhere and the houses were all painted very fun caribbean colors. There was a grocery store and restaurants within a short walk of the hotel.

We took a lovely day trip to Pinel Island - well worth the trip - and found some decent snorkeling there. We also got out to green cay via jet ski from on the beaches watersports centers to snorkel and found most of the reefs there dead and disappointing.

The beach at Orient Bay is fun overall - lots of activities. As mentioned in previous reviews, the cruise boat tourists were bussed in which is why we camped out at Coco Beach at the end of the bay that La Plantation is on away from the throngs. Don't go to Orient Bay if you are looking for a more remote quiet topical beach experience.

We ventured up to Pic Paradis via car and found it was very isolated. As we pulled up to what appeared to be the end of the road and top with a handmade sign pointing to a view a minute down the hill, we saw a man in military fatigues scurry accross the road into the woods behind us in our rearview mirror that made us feel very uneasy - we didn't stay.

Oh yeah - the US/ euro exchange rate obviously doesn't favor Americans, but we found that we could still use dollars and the restaurants and stores just did the exchange for us with a calculator, so we found no need to carry around lots of Euros with us. In fact, being able to charge our dinners to the room in dollars was great. I also should mention that we did eat at the La Plantation restaurant twice and found it excellent - the chef was very accomodating with my gluten intolerance. We went to Astrolabe in the Esmeralda resort for lobster Friday and that was also very good.

Overall, I really did like the resort. I wish it had been closer to the water so you could hear the waves, but even if it were, you still had to close yourself in every night. We had just come from Anguilla where we had a suite, that while not ocean front, we were able to keep the sliding glass door on the second floor open and could hear the crashing of waves as we fell asleep and I missed that at La Plantation. However, La Plantation is a very lovely place to stay. The staff was friendly and the resort felt very updated. As someone mentioned in a previous review, you don't spend much time in your room anyway and we found the price at La Plantation worth it.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tigger022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    206
    48
    7
    10
See reviews for
64
250
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2008

The last 2 great reviews pretty much say how our stay was. We were very happy with this hotel. I don't know why Trip Advior rates this motel 1 of 12 in "Marigot" as we almost did not stay here as we wanted to stay in Orient Bay...which it is. I would definitely stay here again. And the walk to the beach is at "the most" 10 minutes. And it's a nice walk as the area is pretty. And if you go to Phillisburg there is a lady on the boardwalk with a drink cart selling Coronas for $1.00. Gotta love that.

  • Liked — The layout of the resort and every room had a great porch.
  • Disliked — Thought the regular menu was a little pricey but there were lots of other places to eat near by
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank carling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
131 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2008

Great location, large balconies, quiet villas.
Rooms are clean. We had a suite and our friends had a studio. We would recommend a suite as it is larger and more confortable and also there is not much of a price difference.

Orient bay is great. Lots of very good restaurants and entertainment. It was quite windy during our stay, but we have been told that this was very unusual for this time of the year.

Great shopping on the dutch side. Renting a car is probably the cheapest way to travel around the island, as taxi fares are quite high. Do not bring Euros, as the USD is accepted everywhere sometimes at par.

Highly recommended for couples and families.

  • Liked — Great Location
  • Disliked — Not directly on the beach
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AMLAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2008

We booked at La Plantation after extensively researching several hotels in various locations throughout the island. At the end of our 8-day stay, we were absolutely convinced that we had selected not only the best location, but also the best hotel.

La Plantation is in a quiet cul de sac which leads to Orient Beach - undoubtedly the most interesting beach on the island! The beautifully landscaped property features several bungalows, each of which is divided into three suites. The two outer suites are 450 sq. ft. or so with one bedroom and one bathroomeach, and the center suite is approximately 800 sq. ft. with two bedrooms and two bathrooms. All suites have a living area and kitchen or kitchenette (stocked with the basic utensils), as well as a furnished patio for welcoming the morning with coffee or ending the day with a glass of wine. Large families or groups can reserve an entire bungalow. You'll love the vivid color schemes and canopied/netted beds! We opened the patio doors and shutters when in the room, yet did not experience any problems with noise or insects.

The staff was very pleasant and responsive. An A/C leak was repaired in less than an hour and a TV outage related to an approaching storm was resolved within three hours by the local cable company. The front desk staff also assisted us each morning with beach towels and once with booking an excursion to St. Barth's. They even graciously recharged our mobile phone, as we had forgotten to pack the charger. There is also an auto rental agent onsite, and a library of paperback books just right for packing for the beach. The dining area, which encircled the pool, was a lovely place to enjoy the daily continental breakfast ... typically a basket of fresh baguettes and croissants, with a variety of fresh fruits, cheese, meat (most often a bland boiled ham), and a "boil your own" egg station. Lighter eaters could enjoy cereal, yogurt, juice and coffee, and there is also an option to order from the menu. And don't miss the lobster dinner on Monday evening!

The location of La Plantation can't be beat. It is a slight hike (10 minutes tops) to the beach, but we welcomed the exercise. Upon check-in, you'll also receive a card which allows you to enjoy beverages, food, and beach chair rental from five popular beachside businesses, charged directly to your hotel room to eliminate the need to carry excess cash. Orient Beach is a prime spot for water activities and sunning, and if you head to the southernmost point, you'll find a wonderfully interesting array of non-clothed people and a stunning coral reef. For variety, take a two-mile trip up the road and take the ferry to Pinel Island ... be sure to have some grilled lobster that only hours before was swimming in the surf!

When your day at the beach is over, La Planatation is a five to ten minute drive to the fabulous restaurants of Grand Case. Among our favorites were Spiga, L'Auberge, Blue Martini, and the Sky's the Limit lolo. If Marigot is your preference, it's a 20 minute drive. (Just beware that the one-for-one $ to euro exchange rate frequently found in Grand Case does not translate to Marigot ... we were surprised with a 1.5+ rate at an otherwise fabulous restaurant.) A trip into Phillipsburg is 20 minutes in the other direction, and a cross-island trip to see the sun set at Cupecoy or partake in some casino action in Maho takes 45 minutes. Allow for traffic during rush hours, and watch out for scooters! These usually don't have headlights on, and for added fun they pass on both the right and the left.

After encountering the locations and surroundings of some of the other hotels we had strongly considered, we were immensely happy to return to La Plantation at the end of each evening. The quiet, almost private "cul de sac within a cul de sac" provided a relaxing home-base experience which compared quite favorably to the side-of-a-busy-road-next-to-an-overgrown-lot location of some otherwise beautiful competing hotels.

Of course, no place is perfect. The areas where very minor improvements would be welcome include:
- The lush landscaping just off the patio afforded lots of privacy, but it did partially obstruct the view of the ocean.
- The meat offering at the continental breakfast was the same for six of the seven days we ate there.
- Housekeeping was efficient and all surfaces were spotlessly clean, but we did discover leftover clothing and receipts in the bureau and closet ... remnants from the previous guest(s). The netting which covered our bed also smelled quite musty, so we simply tucked it behind the headboard each evening.

With those being the only issues, we would certainly stay at La Plantation again and would not hesitate to recommend it to friends, family, and other travelers.

Enjoy St. Martin and, more specifically, La Plantation!

  • Liked — Location, location, location!
  • Disliked — Leaving after 8 days.....
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank LBC-Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2008

The hotel itself was very nice, but simple, with a great location. I would have given my rating an "Okay, but some problems" (due to the mostly unfriendly staff), but when I had a pair of new sandals stolen from my room, obviously by the maid, did it for me! To rub salt in the wound, when I reported the incident, they told me, "theft does not happen here".

I will return to the island, but never again to Hotel La Plantation.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — theft
  • Stayed March 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank RochesterNYUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Hotel La Plantation February 23-26, 2008. It was our first time on St. Martin, and we were mostly happy with our stay. The room #862 (Queen with Sea View) was fresh looking, clean, high ceilinged and roomy. It had a lovely terrace, and view of the grounds. The ocean view was mostly obscured by lush vegetation. We were advised to keep the windows and shutters locked for security reasons, so it felt a little dark and closed up at times. The bath was simple and fine, though the open shower area (no doors) took a bit of getting used to. Once we got the hang of it, it actually worked well to get the sand off from the beach. The staff was pleasant, and the continental breakfast around the pool was fine. Get there early rather than later. It gets pretty sparce near the end. We learned that lesson the first morning. The bed was fine, though the pillows were like hard balls. When I asked the desk for an extra pillow for my back, I never received one. We also told the desk about no sound on the TV. After a day, we were told that the entire hotel had no sound, but they were working on it. The sound on the TV was never restored for our 3 day stay. This was not a big issue for us. The grounds were lovely, and very nicely groomed. We had no problems with insects at all. We did hear loud techno music from Orient Beach restaurants a few nights. It did not really bother us much. The hotel is a 5 minute stroll on a nice street to Orient Beach. We loved that. The hotel is also only about a 10 minute drive to Grand Case, which is rustic and quaint, with a lovely beach that we snorkeled off of and great restaurants. Le Pressoir in Grand Case was a gem! We highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Lovely grounds, roomy, close to Orient Beach
  • Disliked — Poor ocean view
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PamMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2008

My wife and I have just returned from a week at La Plantation in Orient Bay, St Martin. It was our second visit to the island. We had booked the hotel based in great extent on reviews here on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed.

This is a very simple small hotel complex, all rooms in small villas spread about on a hillside. The rooms were very spacious and simply furnished, but painted in wonderful colourful palettes. Each had a great porch, ours two, actually, several nice large French doors, with huge shutters.

The bath was huge, with a nice huge open shower. We liked it a lot. The housekeeping staff kept the whole room absolutely spotless. One of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed at.

The grounds were constantly being tended to by the gardening company. Lots of nice landscaping and plantings. The sounds of the vegetation rustling at night made for a nice peaceful sleep.

Some have mentioned mosquitoes, I saw three in total.

The main building is simple, with a reception area, a sitting area, and a small library. Outside, a bar and dining area surround the pool. The pool, clean and well kept, was especially nice at night, as the pool lighting changed colours every 15 seconds or so, rotating through several shades of blue and green.

The staff at the hotel were all very nice, eager to help out, book day trips, what have you. Absolutely charming people, it was a pleasure to meet them.

The restaurant is also quite good. For breakfast there is a continental breakfast, with fresh breads and fruits and such, simple, but of good quality, and quite sufficient. In the evenings, the restaurant really shines, serving up superb meals for a price competitive with anything else on the island. My wife insists that the chocolate cake that she had for dessert was the best she'd ever enjoyed.

You must be aware that this hotel is not on the beach, but rather a three minute walk up the road. there is nothing really ON the beach at Orient Bay. It was quite fine though. Orient Bay is a treat, a great beach, and some of the best people watching you'll find.

You must also be aware that only the front-most rooms of the hotel have a view. The ones in behind do not. I would insist in a view with the next booking.

For a middle-priced St Martin hotel I would highly recommend La Plantation. It has an excellent location close to Orient Bay, Grand Case and Marigot, comfortable clean rooms, nice staff, and a superb restaurant. You could hardly ask for more.

  • Liked — very peaceful place to stay
  • Disliked — would have liked an ocean view
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricochet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orient Bay
0.2 mi away
La Playa Orient Bay
La Playa Orient Bay
#3 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#2 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#5 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
2.5 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,732 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Plantation

Property: Hotel La Plantation
Address: C5 Parc de La Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Plantation 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the north Atlantic coast of St Martin in the heart of the beautiful Orient Bay Resort, LA PLANTATION voted one of the best small hotels in the Caribbean, features St Martin’s most popular beach with its 3 mile stretch of white sand and turquoise waters. Hotel LA PLANTATION unites French West Indian Charm the comfort of modern amenities and personalised service.17 Stylish colonial villas are set amidst 7.5 acres of tropical gardens. A harmonious blend of luxurious palms, banana trees, bougainvilliers , hibiscus and alamanda encircle the Creole coloured villas capped with shingled roofs. Each ground floor villa comprises one suite and 2 studios which maybe rented separately or combined through interior, connecting doors. The atmosphere is decisively exotic, guest rooms are tastefully decorated in warm colours and original art work. The large terraces are cooled by the trade winds and offer for the upper level categories panoramic views over the bay, surrounding islands and the marine reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel La Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Plantation Marigot
La Plantation Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing