We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel La Plantation
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Excelent hotel, very quiet, good breakfeast. You can seat in three restaurants (beach chairs) on the beach for free. The Cafe restaurant in the hotel was very good for dinner too. The only problem was the mosquitoes in the room.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDPena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 450 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at La Plantation for 2 weeks in January 2013. La Plantation comprises a number of bungalows built on the side of a small hill overlooking Orient Bay - our bungalow was quite nice, clean, included cooking facilities and had a balcony/veranda with a view on the bay. The only drawbacks of this hotel would be the lack of a gym/fitness room, and the fact that the breakfast was fairly basic considering the price. Staff were helpful and attentive - overall a good accommodation option even if a tad too expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citedusoleil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We loved out studio! Kitchenette had all the basics, so we cooked a few meals ourselves. Our balcony had a great view and perfect breeze. The restaurant was delicious and the staff was VERY friendly, especially if you speak French. They gave us great beach recommendations.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BChinn86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is so charming. We were up graded to a suite which was very large, living room, fully equipped kitchen, bedroom and large bathroom with two sinks, a large terrace with a beautiful view of the ocean. The people who run this place are the nicest. We got there a little late for our dinner reservations they called the restaurant to make it later took us to our room, waited for us to change and drove us to the restaurant. They told us to call when we were done & they would pick us up, as it turned out it was close enough for us to walk back. It is walking distance to the beach and town. The breakfast which was included was great. The only complaint is the towels are thread bare and a bit small, but they gave us enough so we were covered. I have been to st. Maarten. Seven times and do not know how this gem escaped us until now. Would definitely return. Hopefully they will have room for us with all these great reviews.

Room Tip: You get a great view from the rooms on the hill but it is difficult driving up and backing in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eppie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Our family group of six stayed comfortably at La Plantation in a three-bedroom villa. We had plenty of room and were extremely comfortable. The resort is beautifully landscaped, quiet, safe and serene with excellent service, lovely breakfasts, a pretty pool and a friendly, kind staff. Easy to walk to Orient Beach, lots of convenient beach clubs where one can charge expenses back to Plantation, which was very convenient. We would certainly return.

Room Tip: Our "garden view" villa had a view of the ocean. Not a bad view in the whole resort, I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CakeNine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Enjoyed the island and the hotel. Staff very nice, room was clean, upper level view was fabulous.
food good, nice to have other options close by.
would return for sure, and probably will next year.

Orient beach is spectacular, and weather was perfect.

Almost without complaint, great trip.

Sunwing was well behaved.....

walk to beach 15 minutes.......

Room Tip: upper level view terriffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I am just back from 10 days at "La Plantation", this is the 3rd time, and I am still as happy as the 1st time.
People are very friendly, taking good care of you.
Rooms are very big, with a kitchen, bathroom, separated toilet, nice and broad balcony where you can enjoy the view.
From the hotel you can walk to 3 different beaches where beds and parasols are available for you. Very convenient. Orient bay is a beautiful beach. A bit windy sometimes, but huge.
The French side of Saint Martin is more exclusive and quiet than the Dutch one. I really prefer it.

The food at the restaurant is amazing... and still affordable for what you get. Lobsters... Dinners around the swimming pool...

People are so friendly... You get hte feeling you are at home, as a friend invited.
So informal, relax and friendly!

Enjoy your stay there!

People

Room Tip: If you don't like to walk ask for a room not too far from the lobby... if you don't mind, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vastorri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orient Bay
2.3 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,822 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
0.2 mi away
La Playa Orient Bay
La Playa Orient Bay
#4 of 8 in Orient Bay
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
834 reviews
2.7 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
764 reviews
6 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Plantation

Address: C5 Parc de La Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St Martin / St Maarten
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range: $154 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Plantation 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the north Atlantic coast of St Martin in the heart of the beautiful Orient Bay Resort, LA PLANTATION voted one of the best small hotels in the Caribbean, features St Martin’s most popular beach with its 3 mile stretch of white sand and turquoise waters. Hotel LA PLANTATION unites French West Indian Charm the comfort of modern amenities and personalised service.17 Stylish colonial villas are set amidst 7.5 acres of tropical gardens. A harmonious blend of luxurious palms, banana trees, bougainvilliers , hibiscus and alamanda encircle the Creole coloured villas capped with shingled roofs. Each ground floor villa comprises one suite and 2 studios which maybe rented separately or combined through interior, connecting doors. The atmosphere is decisively exotic, guest rooms are tastefully decorated in warm colours and original art work. The large terraces are cooled by the trade winds and offer for the upper level categories panoramic views over the bay, surrounding islands and the marine reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel La Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Plantation Marigot
La Plantation Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing