We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Small Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel La Plantation
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Wonderful Small Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2008

My wife and I have just returned from a week at La Plantation in Orient Bay, St Martin. It was our second visit to the island. We had booked the hotel based in great extent on reviews here on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed.

This is a very simple small hotel complex, all rooms in small villas spread about on a hillside. The rooms were very spacious and simply furnished, but painted in wonderful colourful palettes. Each had a great porch, ours two, actually, several nice large French doors, with huge shutters.

The bath was huge, with a nice huge open shower. We liked it a lot. The housekeeping staff kept the whole room absolutely spotless. One of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed at.

The grounds were constantly being tended to by the gardening company. Lots of nice landscaping and plantings. The sounds of the vegetation rustling at night made for a nice peaceful sleep.

Some have mentioned mosquitoes, I saw three in total.

The main building is simple, with a reception area, a sitting area, and a small library. Outside, a bar and dining area surround the pool. The pool, clean and well kept, was especially nice at night, as the pool lighting changed colours every 15 seconds or so, rotating through several shades of blue and green.

The staff at the hotel were all very nice, eager to help out, book day trips, what have you. Absolutely charming people, it was a pleasure to meet them.

The restaurant is also quite good. For breakfast there is a continental breakfast, with fresh breads and fruits and such, simple, but of good quality, and quite sufficient. In the evenings, the restaurant really shines, serving up superb meals for a price competitive with anything else on the island. My wife insists that the chocolate cake that she had for dessert was the best she'd ever enjoyed.

You must be aware that this hotel is not on the beach, but rather a three minute walk up the road. there is nothing really ON the beach at Orient Bay. It was quite fine though. Orient Bay is a treat, a great beach, and some of the best people watching you'll find.

You must also be aware that only the front-most rooms of the hotel have a view. The ones in behind do not. I would insist in a view with the next booking.

For a middle-priced St Martin hotel I would highly recommend La Plantation. It has an excellent location close to Orient Bay, Grand Case and Marigot, comfortable clean rooms, nice staff, and a superb restaurant. You could hardly ask for more.

  • Liked — very peaceful place to stay
  • Disliked — would have liked an ocean view
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricochet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    210
    48
    7
    10
See reviews for
65
252
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
home
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2008

We really enjoyed our visit there. Yes the hotel is older, but we enjoyed the quiet low-rise style. We had a wonderful view over the ocean... from a distance-you would not be happy if you want to be beach-front. It is a 5 min walk to the beach. We appreciated getting the exercise, and also getting away from the beach hubbub at the end of the day. All staff were very helpful, when asked for any assistance. Would not call them overwhelmingly welcoming/friendly/warm. Did not ask who the manager was, nor did they introduce themselves, have an idea though, and got the same vibe from her. Nevertheless, all our needs were met. We enjoyed the open-air restaurant, excellent continental breakfast (you can order off a menu also if you want). Dinner was also excellent. No mosquitos at all, had our doors open daily whenvever in the room, no screens, nor did we need them. Just closed the shutters at night. So had lots of light and fresh air in the room. Never used the air conditioner, just ceiling fans.Rooms could be a bit cleaner, but am very particular that way. Wiped out the drawers when got there. Also enjoyed exploring the island and excellent food in all the restaurants. Remember you are in a very French atmosphere there, may have accounted for the vibe. Be prepared to do euro exchange with us dollar and it is in favour of the euro right now. The beach... loved that you could choose from five beach areas free chairs with your hotel card and they will serve you lunch /tropical drinks etc.right at your chair... bliss now that is a treat!

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank happytravellerHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2008

Stayed here recently and thought the hotel was very average. Rooms were old with limited view of the water. The pool is also very small which is not a problem since the beaches are beautiful. Also the rooms are very dark since you could not open doors or blinds due to mosquitos. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant at the hotel was also very average. Better off going to Grand case for dining options which is 10 minute cab ride. Cabs are a better idea since it is hard to park in Grand Case. Beaches are beautiful and are 10 minute walk from the property. The only downside is when the cruise ships come in whereby you have the consummate tourists. They also like to gawk if you elect to bathe au natural. We did not encounter any problems crime wise but we spent most of our time in Grand Case and Orient Beach. The beach bars and restaurants are a blast!! Would probably rent a private villa next trip or try St Barths where their are no cruise ships.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bareitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2008

Great location, out of traffic. Very close to beach. No real view to speak of, but I walked the 3 minutes to Orient for my view. Did not make use of the chairs/umbrellas at the Big 5 beach bars because the food & drinks were a bit cheaper further south on OB. Plenty of chairs available though.

I think I actually preferred the restaurants at Marina Royale in Marigot over the ones at Grande Case, but Tuesday nights in GC were a blast since it was "Harmony Nights" time (block party)

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank Tripzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2008

Peaceful stay at La Plantation. Nice, large studio room with kitchenette colorfully decorated, mosquito netting around bed just in case. Beautiful, lush property. Easy 5 minute walk to Orient Bay beaches. South end of Orient Bay nude beach, not for the kiddies. Friendly bilingual staff. Typical French breakfast of basket of bread and croissants, yogurt, cereal, juices fruit and coffee/tea, and free beach chairs and umbrellas at closest beach saved us 30 euros/day. Terrific restaurant at hotel, also highly recommend L'Astrolabe at Esmeralda Resort across the street. Esmeralda didn't seem to have anything La Plantation din't have except semi-private pools and a higher price tag. Renting car and driving to Grand Case for dinner very worth it, especially at Auberge Gourmande and Le Ti Provencal. Driving around to visit other beaches adds variety to trip. Dollar is getting hammered by euro- so French side more expensive, but incredible French cuisine. Bring dollars and especially travelers' checks- there are many places that will still give $1 =1 euro despite the exchange rate- including Auberge Gourmande and many beach places along Orient Bay. Short ferry ride to Pinel Island for snorkelling inexpensive and worth an afternoon.

  • Liked — Location, very quiet, relaxing property
  • Disliked — Tough to call the US. Phone card, purchased at local store unusable!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank ronw1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2008

Have been staying here for at least 10 years. The hotel is lovely. It has villas scattered on a hillside overlooking Orient beach. Although it is not beachfront, it is still very convenient to the beach...a 10 minute walk or a 2 minute drive. Chaises , beachtowelsand umbrelllas are included with beach priviledges at 5 different beachclubs. You also get signing priviledges at the clubs...no need to take cash to the beach. The hotel also includes a nice continental breakfast with unlimited good coffee, excellent pastery and rolls, ham, cheese, cereal, eggs, juice, fruit,etc. The restaurant is also quite good. The hotel is doing a renovation this year...new kitchens and bathrooms. We hope that the renovations will continue with new beds. The restaurant deck has been expanded, and the reception area has been glassedin and expanded. There is a covered portico and turnaround near the reception area. Trees have been trimmed back to afford better views of the ocean. Hotel is quiet, charming, and lovely.

  • Liked — Clean with friendly service
  • Disliked — The bed was hard
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bobrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
503 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2008

This was our fourth visit and we noticed this year that much renovation had been done - not that it was badly run down last year. Service is excellent, it is a short walk down the hill to Orient beach where beach chairs at several locations are free to guests - a big saving at $7 per chair and $7 for a shade. Good buffet continental breakfast by the pool was also included. There is free wi-fi in the lobby if you have your own laptop.

The only slight downside for those who like to eat in sometimes is very sparsely equipped kitchenette. It didn't even have wine glasses when we checked in (and this if France!). However, that was quickly rectified when we asked.

The town square in Orient Bay is good fun, especially on Friday evenings when it is turned into a small market and there is a band. The Cote Plage restaurant there is excellent. Of course, the fabulous restaurants in Grand Case are only 15 minutes away by car, but if you have your own car that puts a crimp in wine consumption with your dinner. You can take a taxi for about $10 each way.

We'll be back nest January if we are able.

  • Liked — Location and attractively situated cottage rooms. Service.
  • Disliked — Kitchinettes could be better equipped
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank What
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orient Bay
0.0 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#2 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Playa Orient Bay
La Playa Orient Bay
#3 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#5 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
2.5 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
0.2 mi away
Esmeralda Resort
Esmeralda Resort
#4 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Plantation

Property: Hotel La Plantation
Address: C5 Parc de La Baie Orientale, Orient Bay 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Plantation 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the north Atlantic coast of St Martin in the heart of the beautiful Orient Bay Resort, LA PLANTATION voted one of the best small hotels in the Caribbean, features St Martin’s most popular beach with its 3 mile stretch of white sand and turquoise waters. Hotel LA PLANTATION unites French West Indian Charm the comfort of modern amenities and personalised service.17 Stylish colonial villas are set amidst 7.5 acres of tropical gardens. A harmonious blend of luxurious palms, banana trees, bougainvilliers , hibiscus and alamanda encircle the Creole coloured villas capped with shingled roofs. Each ground floor villa comprises one suite and 2 studios which maybe rented separately or combined through interior, connecting doors. The atmosphere is decisively exotic, guest rooms are tastefully decorated in warm colours and original art work. The large terraces are cooled by the trade winds and offer for the upper level categories panoramic views over the bay, surrounding islands and the marine reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel La Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Plantation Marigot
La Plantation Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing