We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stoford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grayling House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Stoford B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Very nice English breakfast, good service and good family room for 2 children plus an excellent pub, family friendly nearby: The Royal Oak. We had a great weekend! Salisbury and Longleat are close by car. Beautiful countryside

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlcjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
34
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

What a fabulous B & B offering a friendly atmosphere and very clean and comfortable accommodation. Rick and Lorraine made us and our dogs really welcome and Lorraine cooked the best English breakfast we have had in years. The walks on the doorstep are fabulous and Rick took time to explain the best routes. There are also several nearby pubs serving good food and ales. Would highly recommend the Grayling House and will definitely return when next in the area.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Great for a stopover on my way home from East Anglia to Cornwall. I was travelling by myself , so pretty tired when i arrived. Rick helped me to my room, & carried my bags. I was made welcome with a pot of tea & a chat.
I'd bought a supermarket chicken salad for my tea as i didn't fancy eating out alone. Rick laid the table & provided mayo for me so i could eat in the dining room. I felt right at home as i finished the pot of tea.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Rick & Lorraine are very gentle and the make you feel at home, with something special in addition. Place, breakfast, bedroom are perfect. The small dogs make the environment even more familiar. Great place to stay, enjoy it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristiano B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Grayling House is a comfortable and friendly bed and breakfast, five minutes' drive from Salisbury. The hosts are very pleasant and helpful, and provide a good breakfast. Our room had a queen size bed, very comfortable, and a small ensuite. Off-street parking is provided. Stoford is a good location for touring such attractions as Stomehenge, Avebury and Old Sarum, as well as being convenient to Salisbury and its beautiful Cathedral. There is an excellent pub within walking distance, and other good ones a short drive away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidHobart_Tasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

We booked our first night in the U.K. At Grayling house as we wanted a genuine English Countryside experience. We were not disappointed. Every pre arrival contact with Rick and Lorraine was Friendly and professional. We felt welcomed into their home from the moment we arrived. Our bed room on the first floor was tastefully decorated, warm and comfortable. Our breakfast was as good as we have had anywhere, and our host convivial and generous with his attention. Stafford is a lovely little village near to Stonehenge and Grayling house a great B&B.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Coralfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Having stayed before at Grayling House I rang to make another booking, I spoke to Rick who informed me that the cost of the room was £70, I said to him that this was more than I had payed on my last visit and was it the best price he could do. Now bearing in mind on the last visit I was on my own, this time i required a twin room so I was a little uncertain of the cost, having told me it was £70 I said I thought that was a little expensive and could he do better as we didnt require breakfast, he informed that that was the price, he said would I like to think about it to which I replied yes thank you for your time.
I rang back about 20 minutes later to book the room, again I spoke to Rick, could I book that room please, the reply stunned me somewhat and I quote " no I think its best you dont, I feel very insulted that you query the price and I suggest you go to the Holiday Inn " Unquote.
Well Rick may I suggest you man up a bit in the future just in case somebody else should have the audacity to question your quotes for accommodation, or indeed ask if thats the best price you can do. Also I think you should learn some manners and refrain from putting the phone down on what was a previous customer.

Room Tip: Accept what Rick says as Gospel
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank crazyhorseLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RickGraylinghouse, Owner at Grayling House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
As I made very clear to the gentleman in question; we would not take his booking because of how he had left my wife feeling after a series of phone calls in conection with his previous booking.
He had booked and paid for a room at a price he said he was happy with (£40 for a £55 room, a price we did for him as he was deer stalking with our nieghbour) only to have him phone back and virtually accuse my wife of being underhand in her dealings not once but three times in about a twenty minute period. We only let the booking stand on that occasion because he was a friend of our nieghbour.
When I had an enquiry from a gentleman wanting a twin room, I worked out a good price for him, (£70 for a £85 room as he did not want breakfast) he said he would check with his friend who he was deer stalking with and get back to us. In the mean time I checked with my wife that this was the fellow who had badgered her previously, leaving her feeling very intimidated and she confirmed that it was. When he phoned back to make the booking I said it may be better if he goes elsewhere because of how he had been previously.
Grayling House is first and foremost our family home and we did not consider his behaviour acceptable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoford
0.0 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
284 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
397 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#2 of 57 in Salisbury
251 reviews
0.0 mi away
Websters Bed and Breakfast
Websters Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 57 in Salisbury
259 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Swan at Stoford
The Swan at Stoford
#1 of 2 in Stoford
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grayling House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grayling House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Grayling House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Stoford, Salisbury SP2 0PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury > Stoford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stoford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grayling House is a charming 4 star Bed and Breakfast in Salisbury on the banks of Wiltshire's jewel in the crown Chalkstream, the river Wylye. Its position offers guests the chance to enjoy a wide range of rural pursuits such as walking, fishing, shooting, horse riding and cycling etc. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing