We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, expect the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Swan at Stoford
Ranked #1 of 2 Stoford B&B and Inns
Ostfildern, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic, expect the best”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Lovely place! We arrived really late and we were expecting some grumpy faces but no, staff was extremely nice and pleasant to us.
The superior room that we had was v nice, warm, clean, it had extra heating provided at our disposal, hair dryer, kettle and all in good shape ( ive learnt sadly to expect mediocre things and I was impressed) bathroom had good fittings so staying and sleeping was a pleasure !
Food was very good, also large quantities so you feel you get value for money, bfast was included in room rate and its a healthy one also. Again staff is very well trained and place well managed by someone that understands how to make money and keep customers pouring in.
Across the street there is a beautiful garden next to a river that i imagine in summer days its a fantastic spot.
Attractions are few miles around and easy to get around.
All in all we loved it, we were relaxed and we will be back and tell all our friends!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vrg02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Fantastic review - thank you - I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and am extremely glad there were no grumpy faces as excellent customer service is our motto. Thank you for taking the time to give such lovely feedback.

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    159
    59
    25
    25
See reviews for
108
185
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
swansea
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

we received a warm welcome .The facilities on offer ,beer garden.river walk etc.were explained ,we were even told of another pub a short distance away.There was loads of information provided in the room folder about things to see & do.we had a room over looking the road but this was quiet with the windows closed & had no issues sleeping .Breakfast was nice to & the service great.
I would recommend the park & ride if you go into Salisbury(,which is well worth a look).Just make sure you get back on the right bus. Stonehenge is worth a look ,i would recommend just driving past @ £ 15 per per person it's a rip off . just because they built a visitor centre & are bussing you up the road.

Room Tip: we had a room over looking the road but this was quiet with the windows closed & had no issues s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed the area - there really is so much more to explore than Stonehenge and we think we are lucky living in such a lovely part of the country.

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
96 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed for one night stopping to see family on our way to Cornwall. We had two rooms and both were comfortable and very clean with plenty of space, tea and coffee facilities and ample towels. Bathrooms looked newly done and were also spotless. Staff were friendly and both the rooms and the food were excellent value. Although it's right on a busy road we didn't hear the traffic with the windows closed. The only downside for us were the very thin walls - you can hear absolutely everything in the neighbouring rooms (including the man snoring in the room next to ours which I blamed my husband for until I realised it was coming from next door!) but it's an old and quirky inn, much better than a soulless modern hotel, so you have to make some allowances ...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luctons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thanks for the great feedback - sorry if your neighbour kept you awake snoring and I hope your husband wasn't too indignant at being wrongly blamed! I am delighted you had a great stay.
Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed for one night , friendly staff took us up to our room which was lovely and clean , the bed was so comfortable , tea and coffee in the room although the tea was herbal and I love my pg tips so could do with normal tea in the rooms , the road wasn't a problem as long as you kept all the windows closed so could be hot if you travel in the summer although I did see a fan in the cupboard , breakfast was lovely as was dinner , we had a lovely evening at the quiz night .
Only down side of our stay was that the corridor is very loud as it's a old coach house it's thin walls and you can hear every word and footstep but all was silent later at night
Overall stay was great and we have already spoken about going back
Would highly recommend :-)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you for your lovely recommendation. Sorry you didn't have normal tea in the room - it is something that we provide and I have spoken to the cleaning staff to make sure they don't forget in the future. When you do come back, please ask us at the bar for anything to make your stay more pleasant. Thanks again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
343 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Pub with rooms I thought... wrong !
Warm welcome in the bar and friendly, helpful staff throughout.
I had the Woodford room, sleeps 4 with one double and 2 single beds. Furniture, decor and fixtures and fittings are all modern and stylish. Bathroom had a nearly new suite of good quality and everything clean and well looked after, room and bathroom both a very generous size.
Evening meal and breakfast were both good quality and freshly cooked and prices were very reasonable.
The Swan fronts onto the road but there was hardly any traffic in the evening so no noise.
Its an old Inn so the floors are creaky and some of the walls are thin but overall the place is great, I will make a point of staying again when in the area.
Well done Swan team - loved it !

Room Tip: Woodford room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronny48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you for your very positive feedback. Our family room is a lovely spacious room, and I am glad you enjoyed it.

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We found the staff pleasant and friendly. Our bed was very comfortable, slept well. Although on a main road, there is not much traffic in the evening and night, so even with the window open, we were not disturbed (although our room was at the back, which may have helped).
Breakfast was very nice and the evening meal we had was delicious.
Lovely riverside location, only slight drawback being that the riverside beer garden and carpark are across the road, which if you're carrying luggage, slow of walking, or have young children and pushchairs, is potentially a little hazardous. However, there is a nice beer garden to the side and rear of the Inn.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tansyflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback and I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We received a warm welcome on arrival and was helped with our luggage to our room which was very nicely furnished. The room was located at the front of the hotel and the road can get very busy. It wasn't a problems for us but it would probably be quieter at the back of the hotel. The staff are all very attentive and pleasant. The food here is of a good standard and reasonably priced. Would we stay here again ? Yes we probably would.





!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naish06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for such lovely feedback. I am delighted you found our staff to be both attentive and pleasant and enjoyed our food. We would love to welcome you back in the future.

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoford
4.2 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
278 reviews
4.9 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
755 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Antrobus Hotel
The Antrobus Hotel
#3 of 3 in Amesbury
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
5.1 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
754 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan at Stoford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan at Stoford

Property: The Swan at Stoford
Address: Warminster Road, Stoford, Salisbury SP2 0PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury > Stoford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stoford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Swan at Stoford 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan has been trading since 1740, welcoming travellers and providing a comfortable night's sleep. Our coaching inn retains some of that historical character whilst having modern bedrooms with en suites and provides a great base for visiting attractions in the area including Stonehenge, Avesbury, Longleat Safari Park, Wilton House and the Cathedral City of Salisbury. Whether you want to stop for some classic pub food, a delicious special or stay in our accommodation, you are always ensured of a warm welcome here at the Swan. We also have a large function rooms, two gardens including a lovely riverside garden with fishing rights, a traditional skittles alley and can cater for weddings, parties, christenings etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Swan at Stoford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing