We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Swan at Stoford
Ranked #1 of 2 Stoford B&B and Inns
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
334 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Exceptional !!”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Pub with rooms I thought... wrong !
Warm welcome in the bar and friendly, helpful staff throughout.
I had the Woodford room, sleeps 4 with one double and 2 single beds. Furniture, decor and fixtures and fittings are all modern and stylish. Bathroom had a nearly new suite of good quality and everything clean and well looked after, room and bathroom both a very generous size.
Evening meal and breakfast were both good quality and freshly cooked and prices were very reasonable.
The Swan fronts onto the road but there was hardly any traffic in the evening so no noise.
Its an old Inn so the floors are creaky and some of the walls are thin but overall the place is great, I will make a point of staying again when in the area.
Well done Swan team - loved it !

Room Tip: Woodford room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronny48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you for your very positive feedback. Our family room is a lovely spacious room, and I am glad you enjoyed it.

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    157
    58
    23
    24
See reviews for
107
181
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We found the staff pleasant and friendly. Our bed was very comfortable, slept well. Although on a main road, there is not much traffic in the evening and night, so even with the window open, we were not disturbed (although our room was at the back, which may have helped).
Breakfast was very nice and the evening meal we had was delicious.
Lovely riverside location, only slight drawback being that the riverside beer garden and carpark are across the road, which if you're carrying luggage, slow of walking, or have young children and pushchairs, is potentially a little hazardous. However, there is a nice beer garden to the side and rear of the Inn.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tansyflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback and I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We received a warm welcome on arrival and was helped with our luggage to our room which was very nicely furnished. The room was located at the front of the hotel and the road can get very busy. It wasn't a problems for us but it would probably be quieter at the back of the hotel. The staff are all very attentive and pleasant. The food here is of a good standard and reasonably priced. Would we stay here again ? Yes we probably would.





!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naish06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for such lovely feedback. I am delighted you found our staff to be both attentive and pleasant and enjoyed our food. We would love to welcome you back in the future.

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Swan.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We needed a cot for our baby they brought it up and set it up the room. They greated us in a very friendly manner

The breakfast was great.

Wifi was very slow and the hotel is a close to a busy road.

We would strongly recommend the Swan at Stoford.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to feedback. I appreciate your positive feedback and we are changing our internet provider in order to speed up WiFi.

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We had booked the room with four poster bed and I was very happy when we were shown to it, decor and bed looked beautiful and when it came to sleeping we both found the bed very comfortable.
we ate in the hotel and found the menu inticing and food delicious.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pollyp2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thanks for giving us full marks - it is very heart warming!

I hope you visit us again soon.

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed here for one night on our way back from Cornwall - we received a warm welcome from Matthew and his staff. We were shown to our room, which was modern, clean and had a lovely en-suite bathroom with bath and shower. We then had a meal and some drinks - the food was great - my husband had a lovely juicy steak and I had the chicken fajitas, which despite a previous review from another lady, were plentiful and extremely delicious!! The service was great - our drinks were refilled and the staff were very attentive. Had a great nights sleep - although the property is on a very busy road, the rooms have triple glazing and so the traffic noise did not hinder our sleep. Breakfast in the morning was lovely with a good choice and plenty of tea, coffee and fresh fruit juice. This B&B is in a great location for visiting many of the local Wiltshire attractions and is located right by a very picturesque river with a lovely beer garden - just a shame the sun was not out when we visited - and it's dog friendly - even better - our chocolate labrador was welcomed also. Overall great value for money, lovely rooms and great staff - well done!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobles21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thanks for the fab feedback. I am glad you found the triple glazing effective and that you enjoyed your fajitas and steak. Thank you for choosing the Swan.

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed at The Swan for a single night in March 2014, booking a family room for three people. The quality of the room was lovely - big, clean bathroom, plenty of towels provided and a bed each (not something you always seen in a family room for three, as it's usually a double and a single - this room had a double and two singles).

We had dinner and breakfast (breakfast was included in our room price) and the quality of the food was excellent (altho we did have to wait a little while for them to take our order in the evening, I'm not sure what the hold up was exactly.)

We were there for the Sunday roast which was great value - huge portions and very well cooked.

They also run a pub quiz every Sunday night which we happened to be there for - it was great fun! If that's not your thing then check out the skittle alley or gardens instead. We didn't have time for either as it was rather a short stay, but we'd definitely stay again if we were ever in the area :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback and for joining in our Charity Quiz. I am glad you enjoyed your stay in our spacious Family Room and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoford
4.2 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
5.1 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
4.9 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
5.3 mi away
Premier Inn Salisbury North Bishopdown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan at Stoford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan at Stoford

Property: The Swan at Stoford
Address: Warminster Road, Stoford, Salisbury SP2 0PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury > Stoford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stoford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Swan at Stoford 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan has been trading since 1740, welcoming travellers and providing a comfortable night's sleep. Our coaching inn retains some of that historical character whilst having modern bedrooms with en suites and provides a great base for visiting attractions in the area including Stonehenge, Avesbury, Longleat Safari Park, Wilton House and the Cathedral City of Salisbury. Whether you want to stop for some classic pub food, a delicious special or stay in our accommodation, you are always ensured of a warm welcome here at the Swan. We also have a large function rooms, two gardens including a lovely riverside garden with fishing rights, a traditional skittles alley and can cater for weddings, parties, christenings etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your The Swan at Stoford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing