We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Swan at Stoford
Ranked #1 of 2 Stoford B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Will stay again when on business, excellant menu and specials, good range of real ales, friendly staff/service.WiFi strength good i rooms. Good breakfast menu. Altough situated on busy road, triple glazed windows masked the noise very well.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

We are glad you found your trip enjoyable including the food and specials. We have invested heavily in improving the wifi across the hotel and am pleased you had a good signal. Thank you for taking the time to feedback - we appreciate it.

Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 438 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

A most friendly welcome with an extensive menu serving good quality. food. The room was clean and very comfortable . The bar, as well as the usual draught beers had a small selection of real ales that are kept well. Highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

It is very heartening to know that you would highly recommend us. Thank you for your kind words and fab review. We are pleased you had a nice stay.

Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

To get the negative stuff out of the way first, there is only one drawback to The Swan and that's its proximity to a surprisingly busy road. It was fine for me as I live near a fairly busy road and it was wintertime so no need to have the windows open. It might be a tad noisy in summertime though! But none of this is the fault of the owners. The pub was built where it is a few hundred years ago to catch the passing horsedrawn traffic.
The accommodation was nice and the food, particularly the evening meal was excellent and reasonably priced. The staff were fantastic and appeared to me to get along well amongst themselves which, to me at least, is a sign of good management. Matthew was the man who greeted me and showed me to my room. He was very helpful and good humoured. My evening meal was served by a Spanish (or perhaps Portuguese?) lady who was also very friendly and efficient. This friendliness was natural and wasn't just there to ensure I purchased food and drink as I found out the following morning when she was performing cleaning duties. I was busy eating my breakfast and didn't notice her approach but as she passed by, she greeted me warmly, remembering me from the previous evening. This greeting from a nice young woman makes the world of difference to a middle aged grey fat bloke!

Room Tip: I don't know if there are roooms at the back of the building but I would go for one of these if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoggyDew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you for your great review. I am glad you found our family run business friendly. We have a great staff team and do genuinely get on well, so it is good to know this is noticeable. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

A group of us stayed here on the 13th Jan. Rooms were very clean and spacious. The staff were attentive. The meal we had a nicely cooked and well presented. It was nice to come down and have breakfast in a room with a roaring log fire.. very cosy. Only downside 2 of my collegues complained to me about the lorries thundering pasted there windows, but we all live in the middle of know where, so we are not used to it!!!!! Would visit again.

Room Tip: Stoford room has a really comfy bed, and is located at the back of the hotel so less noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicki a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thanks for the great review and I am glad you enjoyed our roaring fire on a cold January morning! I am sorry if your companions found their room noisy - if the triple glazing is fully closed most guests tell us it is very effective.

We are glad you had a nice stay and hope to welcome you back.

Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

I came from the US to stay at the Sean. It was excellent. They treated us so well! Great food, rooms, and staff. It was lovely! They were so accomodating. I will definitely stay here again! The food was great and the service impeccable!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Tammy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

We greatly appreciate your lovely feedback and are pleased you had a nice stay. I am glad you found our staff attentive and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Liz - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed at The Swan over the Christmas period.
Our room was very comfortable and spacious, and presented to a high standard.
The staff at The Swan were efficient and very friendly.
We ordered one cooked meal duing our stay. The meal was excellent along with the restaurant service.
We will return to The Swan in the not too distant future. A highly recommended small inn/hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roland T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay over the Christmas period and I am particularly glad that you found my staff to be efficient and friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Great place for a nice weekend break if you want to explore Salisbury City and the surrounding area. Only six miles from Salisbury and six from Stonehenge. Comfortable rooms will quality bed linen. Bathrooms with bath and shower and all soaps, shampoo etc supplied. Great views across the surrounding countryside. Breakfast is great, would highly recommend the Full English ( complete with Black Pudding ) Staff all very helpful, good selection of wines and local ales served in the bar.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Thanks for the fab feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your breakfast and your stay and appreciate you taking the time to comment. Thank you.

Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoford
4.2 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
308 reviews
5.3 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
5.2 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Antrobus Hotel
The Antrobus Hotel
#3 of 3 in Amesbury
325 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
5.5 mi away
Grasmere House Hotel
Grasmere House Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan at Stoford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan at Stoford

Address: Warminster Road, Stoford, Salisbury SP2 0PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury > Stoford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stoford
Price Range: $63 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Swan at Stoford 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan has been trading since 1740, welcoming travellers and providing a comfortable night's sleep. Our coaching inn retains some of that historical character whilst having modern bedrooms with en suites and provides a great base for visiting attractions in the area including Stonehenge, Avesbury, Longleat Safari Park, Wilton House and the Cathedral City of Salisbury. Whether you want to stop for some classic pub food, a delicious special or stay in our accommodation, you are always ensured of a warm welcome here at the Swan. We also have a large function rooms, two gardens including a lovely riverside garden with fishing rights, a traditional skittles alley and can cater for weddings, parties, christenings etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Orbitz so you can book your The Swan at Stoford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing