We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Swan at Stoford
Ranked #1 of 2 Stoford B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This pub/hotel is great. The room was very modern and nicely decorated. The rooms have all the extras of a 5 star hotel. Toiletries in the spotless bathroom, biscuits and flavoured teas, plus all the usual on the tea tray and a very welcoming fan in this hot weather. The breakfast was great and they are more than happy to cook want you want if you don't go for the full English.The staff are very friendly and nothing was to much trouble. There are tables outside the hotel in the garden at the side of the hotel or you can sit in the garden across the road by the river and the staff are happy to serve you there. If passing again would defiantly stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3ohappycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks for the fantastic feedback - I am delighted you thought we had 5* attributes and hope to welcome you back soon.

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    160
    59
    25
    26
See reviews for
108
185
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This was a two night KGB deal during one of the hotest parts of the year. The establishment is currently a family run business who have had the property just over 12 months. The room we had was tastefully decorated, with the added touch of a fan in the room.

The breakfast was anything off their standard breakfast menu not necessarily full English! Evening meals were reasonably priced and did not need to be booked in advance, The garden (although across the road) was lovely situated on the edge of the river.

The staff were pleasant and extremely helpful - nohing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks for the great feedback - We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montriond, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Working in the hotel/restaurant industry my self I find it hard to eat out without being constructive about something until the other day! My partner and I visited the Salisbury area and booked in to the Swan at Stoford. You never get a second chance to make a first impression, and the Swan did not disappoint, we were met with a smile and checked in without delay. Our room was called the gravely and did not disappoint either, the room was immaculately clean, spacious, nicely decorated and comfortable. If this wasn't good enough we were then wowed as we ate in the pub part of the hotel. Our waitress was an American girl who was absolutely delightful, smiley, polite, professional and efficient. She looked after us and brought us delicious food without delay. Overall a great experience, watch out though management as I will be back and will probably try to steel some of your fantastic staff! :) good job, see you again soon.

Room Tip: Grovely was flawless as I'm sure the rest of the rooms are
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snow-Candy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thanks for the great feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your visit with us and look forward to welcoming you back (keep your hands off our staff though!).

Liz (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My husband and I went to the Swan, which is fairly local for us, to meet our friends for a quiet drink and a meal. The Swan often advertises tribute acts which I assume perform there, well, lucky for us (not) that night they had a 70's style totally un PC comedian tribute act disguised as a waiter. Inappropriate and offensive jokes, 'amateur psychology', you name it we got it.. the more we tried to ignore him the more it spurred him on. It totally ruined the night. The food was OK, although my friend has since said that her salmon was cold. I would have happily brought that to the manager's attention at the time had I known, but the waiter had annoyed my friend so much she just wanted to eat and leave. Its a shame, the Swan used to be a nice pub to eat but with such unprofessional staff working there, we wont be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our pub. I am sorry that you found our waiter's brand of humour inappropriate. We teach our staff to be professional and customer-focused at all times and I am sorry if on this occasion a member of staff crossed the line. This is something we take very seriously and the member of staff has been dealt with as appropriate. I can only apologise for your experience and I am sorry that you don't intend to return.

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Just got back from 2 Wonderful nights at The Swan with my friend we had the twin room which overlooked the road, the triple glazing helped not much noise slept well, Lovely modern clean rooms, lovely bathroom, well stocked tea, coffee etc. Fantastic people who work there, so polite and happy.The food is Amazing, both Mornings I had the Full English Breakfast, very tasty and plentiful, refills of juice and tea or coffee.I had the Rib Eye steak with Blue cheese sauce twice sooooo tasty and melted in your mouth, my friend had the Liver and Bacon and she said is was so tender and good portions too. The desserts are just as tasty too. The Swan is not far from a lot of Interesting Sites, we went to Salisbury Cathedral which is only 6 miles away, also Stonehenge is around the same distance. Also Old Sarum, The White Horse and Wilton House not too far also. we also went to Old Wardour Castle which is about 30 mins away well worth looking round, Thank you to everyone that made me and my friend very welcome. If I ever come your way again I will stay with you :-) P.S if you are a Premier Barclay Card Holder you get into all the English Heritage sites for free and guest and up to 6 children :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Wow - great feedback! Thank you. I am glad you enjoyed your Rib Eye Steaks - and your stay in general. Great feedback about our staff. Thank you so much.

Liz - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cwmbran
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My friend and I have just returned from a two day stay at The Swan. My friend very kindly booked this last August as a birthday surprise for me. I have always wanted to visit Stonehenge for the Summer Solstice and she had assurances from Dan (Owner) that they would be running a mini bus to the stones at 4am and bringing people back later. He was going to provide bacon butties to take and all sounded lovely. However, when we arrived my friend went to find him (having only spoken to him on the phone the day before!) and was told that he could take us for £10 per head but couldn't bring us back. When my friend pointed out the promise he'd made and the fact that the main reason we'd booked the place was because of this, his reply was 'well what do you expect? I'm not a tour guide!' We were very upset. We set about making arrangements to get back. However later in the day, one of the staff had to come and tell us that in fact he couldn't even take us anymore! Of course, he was nowhere to be seen!
If It had not been for the help of Vida, a wonderfully helpful and friendly member of staff, I don't know what we'd have done at such short notice but she helped us to sort everything out. All I would say is if you are planning a wedding or other function, make sure you have everything in writing as his word doesn't seem to count for very much.
That aside, the hotel itself is fine. It is only 5 miles from Stonehenge so a good location if that's what you're going to see (there's not much else around). They are redecorating at the moment and making an effort to update it, which is good. The beds are exceptionally comfy - always a plus point. Food is ok. Breakfast is good but both of my evening meals were over-cooked. I sent the Salmon back as I couldn't eat it. They do make a mean fish finger sandwich though!
Overall, I would say the best part about this hotel is the staff. I hope the owners do everything in their power to keep them as they are a real asset.
We did have a very enjoyable stay there but the fact that we were let down at the last minute (with not so much as a hint of an apology!) did mar our opinion of the place really; this is a great pity and I hope that Dan will think twice before offering a service that he either cannot or does not want to provide again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lynnmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingy85, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to give me your feed back once again. I am delight to hear that you like my hotel and find the quality of the staff at an exceptional level. These type of review forums are generally used as a tool against hoteliers when a guest has a grieveance and are normally very one sided. I am deeply sorry that you think the location is only ideal for stonehenge and not much else however we get hundreds of tourist visiting my property every week who have come to explore the beautiful surrounding and enjoy the close proximatey to Salisbury, Wyle Valley, Bath, Stonehenge, Wilton House, Longleat the list goes on - Wiltshire has all you can imagine right on our doorstep.
With regards to Stonehenge summer solsice I would like to apologies if you felt let down and miscommunicated to however I would like to point out that my venue has not offered a mini bus and bacon butty service to the Solisice on the day in question nor did it plan to nor was this confirmed on telephone the day before, the reason for this being that most of our guest like to reach the stones much earlier in the evening to enjoy the atmosphere before the sun rise. On the day in question I offered to arrange taxi's for you and also a complimentary coach ticket to and from the stones from the campsite in the next village - both were declined. The stones had 30,000 visitors this year all of whom managed to utilise the local transport to get safely to and from the site. I feel it is completely unreasonable for you to take a lift with a member of staff as should an accident have occured you would have invalidated both the employees insurance policy and possibly their future career development in my business's.
As for the food I am continually working to improve our menus, sources local fresh ingrediants & recruit exceptional experienced chefs. I believe that our feedback on this site and also being a finalist in the business of the year awards proves just how solid our food business is and how well it has grown in the year it has been trading. Dan (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed two nights in mid-June. The room was very clean with a decent-sized bathroom and good bed linen. Although it faced quite a busy road it was triple-glazed and traffic noise was not a problem.

Food was good, but not exceptional in the evenings, but breakfast was very good. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and I thought this was just really good value for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelo230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz97, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thanks for the great feedback - We are pleased that you found us good value for money and look forward to welcoming you back.

Liz - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoford
4.2 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
284 reviews
4.9 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
763 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Antrobus Hotel
The Antrobus Hotel
#3 of 3 in Amesbury
303 reviews
5.5 mi away
Grasmere House Hotel
Grasmere House Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
555 reviews
5.6 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan at Stoford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan at Stoford

Property: The Swan at Stoford
Address: Warminster Road, Stoford, Salisbury SP2 0PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury > Stoford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stoford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Swan at Stoford 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan has been trading since 1740, welcoming travellers and providing a comfortable night's sleep. Our coaching inn retains some of that historical character whilst having modern bedrooms with en suites and provides a great base for visiting attractions in the area including Stonehenge, Avesbury, Longleat Safari Park, Wilton House and the Cathedral City of Salisbury. Whether you want to stop for some classic pub food, a delicious special or stay in our accommodation, you are always ensured of a warm welcome here at the Swan. We also have a large function rooms, two gardens including a lovely riverside garden with fishing rights, a traditional skittles alley and can cater for weddings, parties, christenings etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your The Swan at Stoford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing