We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional accommodation at the Swan Inn, Stoford near Salisbury.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Swan at Stoford
Ranked #1 of 2 Stoford B&B and Inns
St. Asaph, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Traditional accommodation at the Swan Inn, Stoford near Salisbury.”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We enjoyed a short mid week break at the Swan Inn which facilitated a full day's visit to Salisbury city centre and also the famous Cathedral. My wife and I arrived at the Inn just as darkness had fallen and it was raining heavily. We received a very hospitable welcome on arrival and found that our room was very comfortable and warm.

We dined at the Swan and we were tired after a long trip from North Wales. Our meal was very well cooked and substantial. Everybody was so helpful and good advice made our visit to Salisbury the next day a great success. For this, we had been advised to use the "park and ride" facility at Wilton near Salisbury and this is exactly what we did.

Both ways the bus stopped right in the city centre and we therefore avoided the stress and engagement of meter maids and the high cost of car parks. Our visit to Salisbury was memorable and this was followed by a delicious evening meal at the Swan. Watch this space ror our report about Salisbury Cathedral as we followed in the steps of John Constable.

For us, the Swan Inn generated excellent vibes and we would certainly stay there again, perhaps for a longer period because there is so much to see in Salisbury and we missed Old Sarum.

Nothing was too much trouble for the family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChasNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    160
    59
    25
    26
See reviews for
108
185
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at The Swan Inn for three nights and had a lovely relaxing time away. Short drive to Stone Henge and into Salisbury itself. Staff were friendly and very approachable with any questions we needed answering. Food at the hotel was to a good standard and a variety of dishes on the menu. The bedroom was of a perfect standard for our requirments. We would definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Our 2 night Stay was lovely, our standard room was furnished nice but did have a slightly dated bathroom, which needed a little repair. There was plenty of clean towels and teas making facilities, Staff are really friendly and helpful and food was excellent and priced well. Would stay there again,
If it had been abit cleaner in bathroom and bar area i would of given it 5 stars.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbateson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanley Castle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

A really good place to stay. Perfect location with quintessential views. The warmest welcome and the best service at all times. Nothing is too much trouble for this lovely family team. Rooms clean and comfortable with all the extras - drinks tray & biscuits!! Good bathroom extras and plenty of lovely clean towels. Comfy bed & everything you need in the room. Breakfast a LEGEND. Evening meals = spoilt for choice. Stay there soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susie390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

8 of us gathered here to celebrate Dad's 87th birthday. We all enjoyed ourselves and were well looked after by the delightful and good humoured waiter. The food was very good and reasonably priced and the surroundings were pleasant and comfortable. Well worth a visit...............

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thedaborns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

2 night stay, on a mini break. The room was lovely, fair size, huge shower and good tea and coffee making facilities.The staff were very friendly and helpful offering to take our bags to our room. It was Lovely sitting in the sun by the river. Food was great and good value too with a good selection of wines. Will certainly stay again, very central location for Stonehenge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Ok welcome but no offer to help with bags. Smell of diesel in back corridor to rooms. Room adequate size but please put a chair in as we don't always want to sit on the bed.
Bed not comfortable, could have put a kingsize in there instead of poor design wood frame. Wardrobe had heater and fan, needed heater as room was v cold. Noisy as rooms on main road, some better curtains would help and a pelmet.
As said no chair so have to put things on floor or on top of chest of drawers. Bathroom small but quite nice. Couldn't reach the shower pull as cord right by ceiling even when I stood in the bath.
Dinner ok but just typical pub food. Breakfast in bar with no juice or toast offered. Choose an option and that's it. Coffee refilled and cereal available but not croissants as stated on menu.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wildpoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoford
4.2 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
284 reviews
4.9 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
761 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Antrobus Hotel
The Antrobus Hotel
#3 of 3 in Amesbury
302 reviews
5.5 mi away
Grasmere House Hotel
Grasmere House Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
555 reviews
5.6 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan at Stoford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan at Stoford

Property: The Swan at Stoford
Address: Warminster Road, Stoford, Salisbury SP2 0PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury > Stoford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stoford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Swan at Stoford 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan has been trading since 1740, welcoming travellers and providing a comfortable night's sleep. Our coaching inn retains some of that historical character whilst having modern bedrooms with en suites and provides a great base for visiting attractions in the area including Stonehenge, Avesbury, Longleat Safari Park, Wilton House and the Cathedral City of Salisbury. Whether you want to stop for some classic pub food, a delicious special or stay in our accommodation, you are always ensured of a warm welcome here at the Swan. We also have a large function rooms, two gardens including a lovely riverside garden with fishing rights, a traditional skittles alley and can cater for weddings, parties, christenings etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your The Swan at Stoford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing