We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect country pub”
Review of The Barford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Barford Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect country pub”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We've eaten at the Barford Inn on numerous occasions and can report that it is a real gem. The prices are very reasonable and the food is good, honest pub grub. We've never had a bad meal there and the landlord and landlady - and the staff - are always helpful, kind and welcoming. Friends have stayed overnight too and have all said the same thing - the rooms and comfortable and warm and the service is exemplary. Very highly recommended indeed!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paperbackwriter1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaz67g, Owner at The Barford Inn, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your views on our pub, we are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us, and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    51
    8
    9
    7
See reviews for
47
74
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
salisbury
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I am happy to report that yet again the Barford Inn delivered in spades.We love coming here. It is a 16th century coaching inn, situated 6 miles West of Salisbury and ideal base to visit SW Wilts & Dorset.
The B&B rooms are away from the bar area, so not noisy if you want an earlier night that the other customers, with complementary DVDs to watch if you are so inclined. There are stairs to the rooms. The breakfast is huge, and well cooked, we munched our way through slowly and the tea and coffee kept flowing.
The staff were friendly and helpful (and very tall) and the bar was busy with diners and locals propping up the bar. It struck us that the pub is a well used 'local' which adds to the warm & welcoming atmosphere.However if you don't like too much 'local colour' there is a restaurant area.
The food is fantastic value for money. The specials board included venison casserole which was delicious. The cheesy chips were very highly rated by my teenage son, and the pasta with mushrooms & bacon is almost, but not quite, a gut-buster.
I have a feeling that we will be back again...and again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeyk70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaz67g, Owner at The Barford Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
thank you very much for your comment's, I am glad that you enjoyed your time at our pub.
We look forward to seeing you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed for one night in an tired average room within earshot of an compressor, presumably for the beer temperature which sounded like an engine running. Wifi available, however only available in some areas of the property, ordered a steak cooked medium which arrived well done on one side and black on the underside. The replacement was a medium cooked piece of gristle with undercooked chips that started their life as frozen rubbish. The salad was sparce and lacking vegetables. When making a booking they take a £10 deposit. When it came to paying for the room and food, this was not shown in any way. I queried it the next morning and the manager said "Oh she must have forgot!" I didn't bother having breakfast as my expectations by this time had sunk to an all time low. Not surprisingly I wasn't asked how my stay was as clearly they aren't really interested and already know the answer. This is a typical local pub with poor food and tiny rooms who have trade by default as there is nowhere else in the village to go.
Keep on driving!

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaz67g, Owner at The Barford Inn, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
In response to this gentleman's view's, obviously we all have our opinion's on how a steak should or should not be cooked, and anyone in the catering trade will know what I mean when a member of the public say's their steak is not cooked to their liking unfortunately a lot of people don't always understand the difference between rare to very well done! my chef's on the other hand with their years of experience do know how to cook a steak.
This chap was courtesy checked and was not happy with his meal so we immediately did him a fresh meal (even though in ours and chef's opinion there was nothing wrong with his first meal) in our defence it was very difficult to actually communicate with him to find out what he actually did or did not want with regard to anything, as he had his nose glued to his lap top and did not even look at you when you spoke to him.
Our salads have red/green/yellow peppers, tomato,cucumber,mixed leaf and homemade French dressing if this was not to his liking I do apologise.
Our chips are chilled not frozen, AND just for the record we tried doing homemade chips but most people preferred the one's we do now, anyone that know's us and our regulars of which there are many know they can request homemade, infact they know they can request anything as our chef's do everything homemade and to order and are very willing and capable.
We do have free Wi-Fi for anyone to use and it is freely available in all the rooms and 60% of the pub but its a 16th century inn with thick walls so yes parts don't receive the signal.
I would like to finish by saying we ARE A TYPICAL LOCAL PUB FOR WHICH WE ARE VERY PROUD! we do not serve poor food and we work very hard to insure all our customers leave happy but again as anyone in the trade will know you can not please all of the people all of the time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We deliberately go out of our way to go to this excellent pub on our way back from outings to the west country ,(we live in Surrey) and did so again yesterday. Food, as usual excellent and a very varied menu. The £10 price for a delicious two course meal was excellent. Staff efficient, friendly and welcoming. We find the place very clean and tidy, and personally we like the decor.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaz67g, Owner at The Barford Inn, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
thank you very much for your comments, we very much appreciate them , look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Had great overnight stay visiting friends in village. We will be back. It is clean warm and inviting good food great beers and on heart of village. Taxi ride away from Salisbury . Breakfast was lovely plenty of choice and not rushed. Just few minutes drive from Stonehenge .

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HC1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaz67g, Owner at The Barford Inn, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
hi,
glad you enjoyed yourselves at our pub, thank you for your nice comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

had lunch here and whilst the food, beer and service was all good, the table was ''sticky'' and generally the place has a run down grubby feel. Better attention to getting the place really sparkling would take it up to better levels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChilternRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaz67g, Owner at The Barford Inn, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Hi,
glad you enjoyed the food, beer and service, and I'm sorry if you felt the pub was grubby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I stayed in the barford inn last month with 2 friends and their daughter. We dad lunch dinner and breakfast the next morning. The food was excellent. I was in the Voyager resort in kenya and submitted a review in Nov, the food in Barford was just as good. The pub is very comfortable and friendly. I sat next to a gentleman preparing to celebtate his 90th birthday and what a nice man. The customers were more than friendly and we never left the place since early morn to cloising time. The guvnor is a nice down to earh guy, pleasant and cheery. The accomadation is seconds from the bar and was comfortable and spotless. My only complaint is, as an Irishman, they talk funny!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulferrinbelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaz67g, Owner at The Barford Inn, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
very glad you enjoyed your stay with us, the local's are an interesting bunch and your right some of them do talk funny!! hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barford St Martin
2.5 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
6.6 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
288 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
402 reviews
12.8 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
5.4 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barford Inn

Property: The Barford Inn
Address: Grovely Road, Barford St Martin SP3 4AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Barford St Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Barford St Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing