We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcome meal in friendly pub”
Review of The Barford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Barford Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We deliberately go out of our way to go to this excellent pub on our way back from outings to the west country ,(we live in Surrey) and did so again yesterday. Food, as usual excellent and a very varied menu. The £10 price for a delicious two course meal was excellent. Staff efficient, friendly and welcoming. We find the place very clean and tidy, and personally we like the decor.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaz67g, Owner at The Barford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

thank you very much for your comments, we very much appreciate them , look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
There are newer reviews for The Barford Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 181 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

Had great overnight stay visiting friends in village. We will be back. It is clean warm and inviting good food great beers and on heart of village. Taxi ride away from Salisbury . Breakfast was lovely plenty of choice and not rushed. Just few minutes drive from Stonehenge .

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HC1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaz67g, Owner at The Barford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

hi,
glad you enjoyed yourselves at our pub, thank you for your nice comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

had lunch here and whilst the food, beer and service was all good, the table was ''sticky'' and generally the place has a run down grubby feel. Better attention to getting the place really sparkling would take it up to better levels.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChilternRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaz67g, Owner at The Barford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Hi,
glad you enjoyed the food, beer and service, and I'm sorry if you felt the pub was grubby.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I stayed in the barford inn last month with 2 friends and their daughter. We dad lunch dinner and breakfast the next morning. The food was excellent. I was in the Voyager resort in kenya and submitted a review in Nov, the food in Barford was just as good. The pub is very comfortable and friendly. I sat next to a gentleman preparing to celebtate his 90th birthday and what a nice man. The customers were more than friendly and we never left the place since early morn to cloising time. The guvnor is a nice down to earh guy, pleasant and cheery. The accomadation is seconds from the bar and was comfortable and spotless. My only complaint is, as an Irishman, they talk funny!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulferrinbelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaz67g, Owner at The Barford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

very glad you enjoyed your stay with us, the local's are an interesting bunch and your right some of them do talk funny!! hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Went for Sunday lunch. Waiting staff friendly.

Starter was very tasty and well presented. But for our main course both my husband and I ordered venison steak. I was served what I can only describe as a rough bit of steak, my meal did not even resemble my husbands.

As we were with family we did not make a fuss. We left as soon as we could not even looking at dessert.

Would not recommend or return



.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank SusieD02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaz67g, Owner at The Barford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your meal with us, had you of mentioned it at the time we would of been able to put things right for you, but can understand that you where in a group so did not want to make a fuss.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

As a pictureque village pub this might work if internally it was cleaner on all surfaces and they did something about the very tired appearance. For a quick snack of chicken-in-the-basket in the bar, this pub still might work if you are not discriminating about your surroundings.

We were really hungry but made the mistake of expecting some better experience than you get in Wetherspoons. The Garlic bread with cheese was really quite stale/whacky and without any garlic at all having the appearance of being microwaved, both the venison and duck breast 'specials' were very old, tough and rubbery despite being cooked to best effect. Was a micro-portion of veg in a little boat intended to be for 2 people?

Bar staff needed at least rudimentary waiter training along with a personality injection. There was no kind of apology or explanation for the poor food - but at least they didn't argue the toss as has been experienced by other customers - although we could see them comparing notes in the bar and preening themselves for a possible confrontation.

On the upside the wine was OK as was the coffee. We hadn't asked for the £10 per person meal deal but this was implemented on the bill anyway, making the food quite cheap. What a pity food quality and table service were both sadly lacking.

Obviously we won't be back, we just can't stand the hassle. Clearly inferior to Wetherspoons, and a host of other pub-restaurants. They have avoided a 'terrible' rating only by being cheap.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank LindsayPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaz67g, Owner at The Barford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

not even going to bother explaining myself to these people!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Five of us went for an evening meal on Bank Holiday Monday. Despite it being Bank Holiday, the "3 courses for a tenner" offer was still on and we all had three courses. I have to say that every single dish was delicious - beautifully served and perfectly cooked. The service was fast and efficient and extraordinarily good value for money. Tow of our party were from New Zealand. They had expereinced many pub meals in England and said that this was far and away the best. I shall be taking all my friends there in future.

Room Tip: I did not stay here so cannot comment
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Wurrdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaz67g, Owner at The Barford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Thank you very much for your comments, I,m very pleased you all enjoyed your meals with us, we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barford St Martin
2.6 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
6.6 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
303 reviews
5.4 mi away
Grasmere House Hotel
Grasmere House Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
795 reviews
5.6 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
5.0 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barford Inn

Address: Grovely Road, Barford St Martin SP3 4AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Barford St Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Barford St Martin
Price Range: $86 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing