We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A huge disappointment!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Estbek House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sandsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Estbek House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandsend
Certificate of Excellence
Notts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A huge disappointment!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Although we had a mid week winter deal feel Estbeck is NOT value for money. Firstly there is no car park which means you have to park across a very busy bridge and lug you cases etc over to the hotel and of course back again when you leave.
The room, in our case the Alum which is supposed to be their largest room is small and had the smallest TV you will have seen in any hotel in recent years. The bathroom/shower had no shower cap or toiletries but did have shoe cleaning facilities - very thoughtful.
As for the food, well we did feel a little lonely as we were the only folk in the restaurant all evening. The food is best described as all right but certainly no more. My wife who loves fish felt her main course to be quite bland and really did not rate it highly. I had duck breast (pink) which arrive JUST pink and certainly was no better than you would expect at a decent pub.
Do not bother going if you are interested in wine other than Australian as they simply do not carry any!
All in all a HUGE disappointment and certainly does not live up to it's billing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IDFSNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    33
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
9
122
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We have been to Whitby, and Sands End, many times and always said we would like to stay at Estbek House because the menu looked good and the situation was excellent.
We always give an honest view of our stays and one day we may post a negative review, one day we may find that the accommodation was not quite up to scratch, one day we may find that the food was poor, BUT NOT THIS TIME!!
Staying at Estbek House, we were not at all disappointed in any aspect, from initial booking (despite an e-mail hiccup) where we got great help, through booking, to final payment, everything was just about perfection.
The location is quiet, set back from the road, but just perfectly located in our opinion - far enough from Whitby not to be busy but close enough to visit. Every little detail appeared to have been thought of, the rooms were fantastic, the food excellent and both David and Tim were brilliant hosts and very helpful.
We waited years to book our first stay - we will not wait as long to book our next!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stevalh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Recieved the warmest of welcomes not just from the owners and staff but the dogs also. Room was very pretty and comfortable. The staff are super friendly and the food is to die for, the best fillet steak and it was massive. Looking forward to our next visit, I believe our friends have already booked to go back with the kids.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suzigriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Just spent another couple of days at the Estbek and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. How pleasing to visit the area, to stroll around the delightful Sandsend, ending the day at the Estbek with the anticipation of a wonderful meal and a good nights sleep, before doing it all again the following day after a wonderful breakfast. How fortunate we have been to have found this gem just 2 hours for our doorstep. Tim; I've nearly perfected the SeaFood Pie but still room for improvement, David: we found Bothams and you were right!!!!!
Will be returning in 2014 and looking forward to booking into either Flo or Alum. In the meantime, seasons greetings to all at Estbek and a Happy New Year.
Sharon and Geoff (Sheffield)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Geoffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed to celebrate a birthday with some friends. We both had very nice rooms on the first floor. Drinks were very expensive so we only had one each. The food was very nice but small portions for the price, service was top notch. The restaurant was full but we were well looked after. We did not have a great nights sleep as there was a party going on in the room below us with singing and shouting until the early hours which was disappointing.
Breakfast was very nice with a good choice of local produce.
All in all it was good but spoilt by the noisy party and overpriced drinks. We did enjoy our stay but probably would not return due to the cost.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJBwf4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Having been to the Estbek for meals many times. In July for a special birthday we decided to stay overnight and spoil ourselves and have just returned from a two night break we booked at the July visit. Wonderful food and attention, room really comfortable attentive staff and David and Tim are so friendly and always make us feel so welcome. We look forward to our next visit..

Lynda & John

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Tim and David run a restaurant and hotel of the highest quality tucked away in a remote corner of the Yorkshire coast. The food, both breakfast and dinner, was magnificent and made with care. The room, though small, was clean and well appointed. Tim and David were friendly and free with advice on things to do in the region. I'll come back in the summer when the weather is better to enjoy the stunning scenery!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandsend
0.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
1.8 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#15 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
2.5 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
2.3 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estbek House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estbek House

Property: Estbek House
Address: Estbeck House East Row, Sandsend, Whitby YO21 3SU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby > Sandsend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Estbek House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Estbek House Hotel Sandsend
Estbek Hotel Sandsend
Estbek House Sandsend, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing