We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but poor nights sleep”
Review of Estbek House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sandsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Estbek House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandsend
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good food but poor nights sleep”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed to celebrate a birthday with some friends. We both had very nice rooms on the first floor. Drinks were very expensive so we only had one each. The food was very nice but small portions for the price, service was top notch. The restaurant was full but we were well looked after. We did not have a great nights sleep as there was a party going on in the room below us with singing and shouting until the early hours which was disappointing.
Breakfast was very nice with a good choice of local produce.
All in all it was good but spoilt by the noisy party and overpriced drinks. We did enjoy our stay but probably would not return due to the cost.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJBwf4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    35
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
10
123
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Having been to the Estbek for meals many times. In July for a special birthday we decided to stay overnight and spoil ourselves and have just returned from a two night break we booked at the July visit. Wonderful food and attention, room really comfortable attentive staff and David and Tim are so friendly and always make us feel so welcome. We look forward to our next visit..

Lynda & John

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Tim and David run a restaurant and hotel of the highest quality tucked away in a remote corner of the Yorkshire coast. The food, both breakfast and dinner, was magnificent and made with care. The room, though small, was clean and well appointed. Tim and David were friendly and free with advice on things to do in the region. I'll come back in the summer when the weather is better to enjoy the stunning scenery!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed in October for one night and really enjoyed ourselves, cannot say it was outstanding but the food was certainly very nice indeed. To be honest I think the restaurant lacks atmosphere, people talking in whispers and the bar are is a little dark and dingy.
We knew the prices before we went so it was no surprise at all but all said it is over-priced.
Portions are small especially starter and dessert and wine has a vast mark-up on it.
This place is for special occassions not a regular place to eat.
All said we did enjoy the evening and our overnight stay and will return, but not for some time.
Rooms are okay, nicely furnished, clean with good quality bedding and towels, however, again in our opinion overpriced. We would not stay again, the cost cannot be justified. Would stay at Raithwaite Hall, offers give the cost as half the price for a room, but we would eat at Estbek, saving many pounds.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dannyairedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed in July 2013 (sorry for late review). Estbek House is described as a "restaurant with rooms" and that is exactly what it is. It is a place for a special occasion - certainly not cheap but you are paying for quality. Food is fantastic - the plaice I had was the best I've ever tasted. The wine is excellent and the rooms are beautifully furnished. We had the largest room - Alum - which is not that large. However, it is very comfortable and the views out of the window are charming. The hosts are very friendly and the service is excellent. Our only criticism is the rooms are a tad on the expensive side - other than that we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pea-n-pod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DARLINGTON
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at the Estbek on the 20th Sept where we were to enjoy the wedding of our friends Linda and Darren.
From the moment we arrived very early to check in we were warmly greeted by Tim and shown to our room, Nora, which was splendid in every way.
We enjoyed a lovely experience at the Estbek in every way and, for a relatively small establishment, Tim and David and the staff coped excellently with the proceedings and treat the guests to a gastronomic feast served efficiently with a warmth that belied the pressure that must have been placed on the staff by the sheer numbers present if nothing else.
After a great nights sleep in a very comfortable bed we enjoyed a well prepared and presented leisurely breakfast before leaving Estbek with lots of really nice memories.
We will certainly be back and will not hesitate to recommend Estbek to friends who expect something much better than normal.
Well done the Estbek team

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DENIS P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We booked a meal for our wedding anniversary on friday13th September, coincidently the same day we were married on. Well it certainly wasn't unlucky on both counts, the meal of whole lobster and the halibut were superb, the crab starter needed more crab to be perfect but the chilli sauce helped to overcome this and the Creme Brûlée desert was perfectly done, the wine was chilled correctly and the service was discreet but efficient.
The atmosphere was perfect, very relaxed, a surprise was the message on the menu, stating that the table was yours for the whole night, not something you see in many restaurants today.
We finished in the bar whilst waiting for a taxi chatting to a very sociable local couple and enjoying an excellent Laphroaig. altogether a very pleasant evening.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesMainMcKenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandsend
0.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,963 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
1.8 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#16 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
2.5 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
2.4 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estbek House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estbek House

Property: Estbek House
Address: Estbeck House East Row, Sandsend, Whitby YO21 3SU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby > Sandsend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Estbek House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Estbek House Hotel Sandsend
Estbek Hotel Sandsend
Estbek House Sandsend, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing