We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location in sleepy seaside location”
Review of Estbek House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sandsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Estbek House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandsend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were greeted to an extensive menu. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The kitchen staff worked in emulate surroundings and were so very organised and precise to know food was to go to what table. Gordon Ramsey would have been so very proud. The food we were served was hot and delicious. The portions were very generous and vey tasty. The waiters/waitresses always on hand to help and assist when appropriate.

The food was not expensive and fish men caught what fish was required to the restaurants demand.

I would thoroughly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting the north eastern coast. Booking essential prior visit but certainly worth the journey. Will return.

Room Tip: Check website for further information
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmandaTD4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 181 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a fantastic New Year at Estbek House, exceptionally good value for such a special occasion. we were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived, help was given to our room which, although was compact, had every luxury you would expect from a quality hotel and more. The bed was exceptionally comfortable,fresh milk for the tea and coffee, quality chocolates, bath robes, sky tv and much more. The food in the evening was out of this world, the sea food was the best we had ever tasted. Then the breakfast was also made of all local produce down to the homemade jams. We cannot wait to plan our next trip and would recommend it to everyone. Thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estbek, Owner at Estbek House, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Sally & all our customer;

Many thanks for your kind words and we are really pleased you enjoyed your start to 2013!

We are really lucky here at Estbek to have not only great surroundings but also with the fantastic seafood right on our doorstep, but the best part is we have had so many great customers – and for us all it was a joy on New Years Eve seeing so many regular faces & a few new faces, it was great & really enjoyable for us all to.

So thank you to you and to all our customers for making 2012 a really nice year here at Estbek!
Here’s to a great 2013

David, Tim and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had heard good reports and booked a table for two for Saturday night when we were in the area. The welcome was very nice and the restaurant was full - even on a cold evening in mid November. I like fish, and the fish here was very good indeed. A starter of scallops was generous and succulent. I would normally go straignt past 'fish pie' on a menu as being a very boring potato laden choice but the description sounded interesting so I ordered this - in fact it was a stack of seafood of all sorts and was delicious. The veg and accompanying potatoes were also very good. We shared a lemon meringue for pudding and it went well after the fish.

Only gripe - the wine is over priced compared with most restaurants with a huge mark up. The food is also priced at the top end so this makes for an expensive evening.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank LoungerLizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Totally agree with the below review. Food, service, hospitality... all superb. The rooms are indeed compact, but due to their excellent layout this is in no way an issue. Theres an extensive after dinner drinks menu of note as well :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bouldilox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

just spent 2 nights at the Estbek House with friends,and we all had a very enjoyable time.David and Tim run an excellent establishment with the rooms ,although slightly small,having all that you need and being very well laid out.The overall hospitality is superb,nothing being too much trouble,and david has really good knowledge of the local area.The best thing however was the food,the menu options were good and varied the food excellently cooked and presented,and tjhe wine choice was very interesting with lots of Southern hemispere wines not generally seen at other places.Overall an extremely enjoyable 2 night stay

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dave635677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We chose the Estbek having read the great reviews on here and recommendations from friends and family who had a great dining experience here as we did last night for our daughters birthday. The staff were very obliging and they bent over backwards to accommodate us and help make this family gathering a truly memorable one. And the food,well,I don't think I've ever tasted anything so delicious before! Cooked to perfection and the lemon meringue pie was perfection in a kilner jar!! I can't recommend this jewel highly enough and an excellent place to go for that special occasion.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mozsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at Estbek House on a beautiful summer evening and enjoyed the whole experience. We had a top floor room which was small but perfectly formed, under the eaves and with a very large and comfortable bed. The welcome was warm, and the service throughout our stay was just as we like it: friendly but unstuffy. Dinner was a delight, with fantastic wine and three great courses. The dining room was well run, with staff able to be attentive without being over-powering. Breakfast was top notch, using local ingredients. An excellent place for a special treat or simply to relax from the daily grind. Serious food, majoring on fish, and a huge selection of wine. All round a superb experience.

Room Tip: We had "Nora" which was a top floor room. The large number of stairs may not suit everyone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandsend
0.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,132 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 19 in Whitby
877 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 19 in Whitby
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#17 of 19 in Whitby
219 reviews
2.5 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
2.5 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 19 in Whitby
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estbek House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estbek House

Address: Estbeck House East Row, Sandsend, Whitby YO21 3SU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby > Sandsend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandsend
Price Range: $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Estbek House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Estbek House Hotel Sandsend
Estbek Hotel Sandsend
Estbek House Sandsend, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing