We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cliff View
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Sandsend
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Estbek House(Sandsend)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dunsley Hall(Whitby)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hudsons(Whitby)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveler rating
116
5
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
116
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bnothing is too much troublehome made cakespot of teaon arrivalthe ownerguest housethe perfect hostwelcome treatamazing breakfastpoached eggslocal areabay windowwelcoming ladyanniversary weekendstayed for two nightsa lovely stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 121 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Lovely home from home. Perfect for a short (or even longer) break. We were greeted by the friendly owner, Judy, and very quickly settled on the balcony with tea and home-made tiny cakes, which were delightful. Breakfast was perfect with lots of fruit, cereals and yoghurt, before the cooked part arrived. Toast and preserves to end with (again made by Judy herself.) A wonderful holiday, helped by beautiful weather and stunning scenery. Parking is no problem as Judy has 3 reserved spaces at the back. The sloping field behind the house is home to a herd of happy cows ( we watched one dance and jump its way from top to bottom of the field - honest!)

Room Tip: The Ness room is great, with the balcony, but all rooms have a good view - either sea or country.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Decided on a last minute mid week break and were lucky to find a room available at this small but perfectly formed B and B. The room was spotless with an amazing view and it was fantastic falling asleep to the sounds of the sea. The welcome was the best we have ever had tea, coffee and cakes in the garden and Judy genuinely couldn't do enough for you all this with a hearty breakfast including home made preserves what more could you ask for. Simply can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FuzzUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed here in May with my husband and we had a relaxing weekend where we were looked after by Judy who couldn't do enough for us. I am looking forward to visiting again in two weeks with my Mum. Good food and comfortable rooms. I would reccomend a visit to Cliff View to anyone who would enjoy a restful break. You will be sure to recieve a warm welcome.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of the same high standard.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 9Judi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

One of the best Bed and Breakfasts I have visited in a very long time. The rooms were very clean and tidy, beautifully laundered sheets. Judy could not do enough to help and when we asked for an ironing board she offered to iron for us while we got ready. The shower was excellent with good pressure, a joy as I hate showers without any power. Breakfast was very well laid out and excellent choice with fresh fruit pealed and chopped in separate bowls. If you are looking to go to sandsend Judy will take great pleasure in looking after you. Thank you for a wonderful nights stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahjane3284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

What a find!
We highly recommend Cliff View and intend to make several return visits.
Our hostess Judy such a pleasant helpful lovely lady where nothing was too much trouble.
We were provided with superb homemade mini cakes and biscuits.
The breakfast with homemade smoothie, seasonal fresh fruit to adorn your cereals, a full English and homemade preserves what a welcome treat every morning.
Our room was to a high standard wonderfully bright and clean. The en-suite being five star.
The location of this excellent B n B has a sea and coastal view of Sansend at the front and green hills at the rear.
A short walk from Cliff View is The Hart public house to enjoy a drink and a lovely meal from a varied menu.
In the nearby village of Ellerby is the 'Ellerby' another wonderful eatery offering a superb standard of food and friendly staff.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. The double at front enjoys a balcony with breathtaking views.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 58j63j2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews