We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cliff View, Sandsend, Whitby” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cliff View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sandsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cliff View
Ranked #3 of 4 Sandsend B&B and Inns
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cliff View, Sandsend, Whitby”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is a lovely B&B. Very comfortable with tasteful décor, sea views and a friendly and helpful landlady. There is a pub which does good food a short walk away. I would highly recommend this if you are staying on the Yorkshire coast.

Room Tip: Get the rooms with sea views if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amarajyoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
76
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

This friendly little bed and breakfast, run by Judy, totally met our expectations. From the light and airy entrance area, the beautifully maintained decor and the fresh contemporary bedrooms, this was exactly what we hoped for. The views across the sea, although new building will in the future will restrict it a little are great. The breakfast room is not affected, and the view of the sea is unspoilt.
We were not hurried at all, and breakfast time was sensible and flexible. Wi Fi is free and a good connection, and its a 3 minute walk to the best pub and restaurant in Sandsend.

Room Tip: If you are still a smoker, one room has a balcony, with French doors, and a quick sneak out is allow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Elmsall
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is our fourth visit to Cliff View and once again Judy has given us first class service throughout our stay, the room "Ness View" is fantastic and offers great views of Sandsend.

The food is great you really should try the Full English Breakfast, well cooked and presented really well.

We will be back again this year 2013 for another stay, this time we are ordering good weather.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Osgoldcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here for one night. We are familiar with Sandsend having been many times before but first time we stayed here. I highly recommend it. Judy is very friendly. We stayed in Ness View which was a very clean, comfortable, bright, airy room. We received a warm welcome from Judy who then provided some lovely tea, coffee and home made buns which we had in the room whilst sitting looking at the beautiful view of Sandsend Beach. We had breakfast in the dining room in the morning sitting looking at the beautiful view again of Sandsend and pheasants walking across the lawn. Breakfast was delicious and again Judy was very attentive. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Most other B & B's should aspire to this one! Long may you continue to show it can be done so well. We will stay again as soon as pos.
A scenic quiet village - yet well placed for visiting the vibrant coastal towns. You should sleep well even if you have not taken advantage of the local walks!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Thank you Judy for your hospitality. We have just returned home from a short but very enjoyable stay at Cliff View. We hope to return in the not too distant future. The breakfasts are to die for!! The view from our room was stupendous. The room was very comfortable and beautifully decorated.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I very recently stayed at Cliff View and can concur with everyone else's comments: Warm welcome from Judy, bright, immaculate room with modern furnishings. Spotless bathroom with very good walk-in powerful shower. Judy makes fab home made veggie "sausages" which was appreciated. Well done and thank you Judy.

Room Tip: Our room had the benefit of a small balcony with table and chairs which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsmapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandsend
0.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
1.8 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#15 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
4.0 mi away
Cliffemount Hotel
Cliffemount Hotel
#1 of 2 in Runswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff View

Property: Cliff View
Address: Cliff View East Row, Sandsend, Whitby YO21 3SU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby > Sandsend
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sandsend
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Cliff View Sandsend, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing