We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B & B”
Review of Cliff View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cliff View
Ranked #2 of 4 Sandsend B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I very recently stayed at Cliff View and can concur with everyone else's comments: Warm welcome from Judy, bright, immaculate room with modern furnishings. Spotless bathroom with very good walk-in powerful shower. Judy makes fab home made veggie "sausages" which was appreciated. Well done and thank you Judy.

Room Tip: Our room had the benefit of a small balcony with table and chairs which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrsmapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 120 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

We booked last minute for one night at Cliff View and we could not fault it. It was clean and fresh. Judy greeted us with tea and coffee and cakes on arrival, and advised us on places to eat. A good night's sleep and a fabulous breakfast - we were very tempted to stay longer in this lovely part of Yorkshire!

Room Tip: Fabulous view from the Sea View room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsK2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed at Sandsend as part of the Cleveland Way walk and was booked into Cliff View. After a long trek from Saltburn I needed help to locate the B&B and as well as giving detailed directions Judy went to the trouble to meet me in the street! The room was immaculate and Judy arrived with a selection of cakes and a pot of coffee that were very welcome, and she also made a reservation at Estbeck House for dinner. Nothing was too much trouble. I would highly recommend Cliff View.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussiegwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed for the weekend after Cliff View was recommended by the owners of Estbeck restaurant - we had intended staying at Estbeck but they were full.
From the outside Cliff View is deceiving - go inside and you quickly appreciate what a little gem of a place thus is. Beautifully and tastefully decorated- very light and airy - and spotlessly clean.
We had a room at the front with a large picture window and French doors to a small balcony at the side. The view was amazing! It was bliss waking up in a comfy bed, pulling back the drapes to look out over the bay. Our room was ensuite and offered modern facilities, with everything we could have wanted.
Judy, the owner, was simply lovely and a good cook!

Room Tip: Room at the front, with door to the left at the top of the stairs..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Captaincooks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My Mum and I were only able to stay one night at Cliff View but I wish it had been longer. From the moment I rang to see if there was any rooms available we could have not been better looked after. Judy's welcome was so warm and genuine that her love of what she does shows. A true Yorkshire welcome with the hospitality to go with it. Our rooms had a view to die for, over looking the sea, right over the beach. Beautifully appointed rooms with everything you could need, great bathrooms with a good shower, the softest robes I have ever seen, what more could you want. Judy very kindly made us some tea and coffee when we arrived and her cakes are very, very good. Breakfast was top notch and when I asked beforehand if it would be ok to bring my own special yogurt Judy said "no way, I will get some for you". Sanseend is a lovely place to stay and luckily for us only about an hour away so I am hoping that our visits to stay at Cliff View with continue as it was just so good. Anyone staying with Judy is sure to be looked after in the best possible way and I am sure wil enjoy it just as much as we did.

Room Tip: The two double rooms have fantastic views over the beach, one of which has a small balcony which wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spottedcow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

What can I say, Judy is one of the best hostess's going ! From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble.
From the lovely little home made cakes (the ginger ones are a dream) to the extras she provides like the fluffy dressing gowns, all amazing!
The full English breakfast is exactly what it says, and very filling, and tasty too!
She has a brilliant knowledge of the surrounding area, and is more than happy to share this with you, whether it's for food, walks, or shopping.
If you want to be looked after and treated well then you are going to the right place. We left as great friends, and we are already planning a return trip, even if it's just for more cakes!
10/10 in every way, and only 45 minutes slowish walk along the beach to Whitby, I just wish it could have been longer x

Room Tip: Sea view is perfect to see the sea, it may sound obvious, but we have stayed in some and the sea is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tammyjo49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Have just had a lovely 3 days at Cliff View. This is our second visit and we would have no doubt about coming back again. Nothing is too much trouble for Judy -she will chill your Gin and tonic, give ideas for places to visit , tides and places to eat. The rooms are spotlessly clean and have comfy chairs to relax and take in the views. There is a good choice at breakfast and ingredeients are locally sourced, jams homemade. the small cakes on arrival are delicious - the ginger ones are particularly good.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkshire1356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandsend
0.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,094 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
858 reviews
1.8 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#18 of 20 in Whitby
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
1,158 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,164 reviews
1.9 mi away
Saxonville Hotel
Saxonville Hotel
#13 of 20 in Whitby
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff View

Address: Cliff View East Row, Sandsend, Whitby YO21 3SU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby > Sandsend
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sandsend
Price Range: $131 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cliff View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff View Sandsend, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing