We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveler rating
248
16
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
248
16
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshelen and malcolmfresh eggswhitby abbeywatch the sunrisestunning viewssound of the wavesbridge cottagepreservessitting roommaster bedroomlaid eggsdecking areatotal privacyfree range eggsperfect accommodationlarge bedfish and chips
Filter
Updating list...
251 - 256 of 266 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2010

Howdale is a delightful end terrace cottage in The Valley in Sandsend. It's very well appointed; it even has it's own Pimms Jug!
The rooms are very nice and the kitchen has all you need.
There is plenty to do nearby; crabbing and searching for treasure in the caves is a must!
The Hart is a good pub and The Estbeck; a great restaurant.
I have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending Howdale to you for a perfect holiday at any time of the year

Tim & Jenny Catterall

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teesdalepark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

we had a wonderful 2 days at the porthole. the accommadation is excellant and kept spottlessly clean. french doors open to a decked area overlooking the beach and sea. we ate at the pub and bistro both excellent. helen has got a little gem of a place and is at hand offering advice on good walks and places to eat.if you book this place you will not be dissapointed

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micktitterton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We had a quiet and relaxing stay with lovely views over Sandsend towards Whitby. Good spot for walking.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at this fantastic find of a B&B room. With beautiful views straight out to sea, very comfortable bed and spotless bathroom and kitchenette, it is a very elegant and peaceful place in which to spend a relaxing few days away. We really liked the sea theme to the interior design as well. Just outside the room there is a lovely balcony where we sat for breakfast in the morning (or a glass of wine in the evening!) to enjoy the view. The beach is just below so we also very much enjoyed going for walks down there, even going as far as Whitby one day which was only about an hour's walk. Breakfast was lovely - continental, simple and fresh and for lunch or supper we ate out at nearby pubs or restaurants, which were all delicious.
We cannot recommend the Porthole highly enough!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeciliaSharpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

A delightful self contained holiday retreat, beautifully furnished with a small kitchen, where food for breakfast was regularly replenished. Breakfast on the deck with an uninterrupted view of the sea and beach. We had a quiet and relaxing break with good local food eaten at nearby pubs and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews