We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Howdale Cottage Sandsend”
Review of Sandsend Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sandsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandsend Cottages
Ranked #1 of 4 Sandsend B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2013

What a wonderful setting the Valley at Sandsend provides for Howdale cottage. Picturesque cottages, ducks and goats, a meandering beck, the sea at one end and Mulgrave woods at the other end all two minutes peaceful walk away. Not only this, but if the weather is good, and ours was brilliant for the whole week, there is a beautiful sheltered terraced garden above the cottage to relax in and enjoy the tranquillity. The cottage was very comfortable and nothing was too much trouble for Helen and Malcolm, the owners. Particularly good was the efficient central heating system when the evenings and early mornings were chilly. Thank you Helen and Malcolm for a lovely, much needed break. We will be back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Janet700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 250 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

Our 3rd visit to the Porthole and despite the awful weather it was another wonderful stay. The views are incredible. The sound of the sea is the only thing you hear and it lulls you to sleep in the comfy bed in the beautiful bedroom of the Porthole. We love it here and I am only writing this review because Helen and Malcolm deserve the recognition for providing such high quality service and accommodation. I would really like to keep it a secret! It is so private with a continental breakfast provided to eat at your leisure and a separate sitting room with floor to ceiling windows looking out onto the garden and towards the sea. Stunning. Beautiful. We never want to leave and always look forward to going back.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank sally455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Cannot praise this place enough. Just got back from a 2 day break and it was brilliant, fantastic location for lovely walks. Beautiful sea view and accomodation immaculate could not fault this little paradise, will most certainly be back. Thankyou for a very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankmarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We have just spent two nights at The Porthole and it really was superb. The location and views are stunning and the accommodation is excellent, beautifully decorated and very clean. It was lovely to have the luxury of two rooms and we really enjoyed the freedom of being able to have our breakfast at whatever time suited us. We were able to eat our breakfast outside on the veranda both mornings and soak up the views and the sounds of the sea. The breakfast that Helen left for us was really good - muesli, cereals, home made jams, yoghurt, fruit juice, fresh bread, eggs from their chickens and ground coffee & cafetiere. There was even a bottle of white wine chilling in the fridge! Helen was a great host and made sure that all our needs were catered for, also she gave us lots of information about the local area, places to visit & recommended places to eat. There are some lovely walks to do along the coast and a good pub and restaurant in Sandsend, so you do not need to use the car. The Porthole really is a unique place to stay and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneMA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

The experience we had on our 4 night stay at the Porthole was second to none. We cannot say enough about this fabulous B&B. Helen and Malcom are the most welcoming hosts and made us feel so welcome. Unlike any other B&B we have ever stayed in before, the accomodation has its own private entrance and so you just come and go as you please, you can stay in all day should you wish to. We will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason2995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We've just got back from a weekend at The Porthole to celebrate our anniversary and it was perfect. Sandsend is so peaceful and relaxing but still complete with amazing restaurants, a couple of cute shops and pub - plus a lovely walk up to Whitby which was so quirky and brilliant (made even better as it was Goth Weekend!).

The best thing about the Porthole was waking up to see the sea straight from the bed - we even set our alarm for 5am to see the sunrise (and then went back to sleep!). We managed wine on the gorgeous balcony even though it was chilly, and would LOVE to come back when the weather is warm enough for breakfast out there. Breakfast was perfect for us - wide range of cereals (lovely muesli with pistachios), fresh bread, orange juice, eggs and homemade jams. The chilled wine in the fridge waiting for us was a real treat and really makes it all feel special.

We ate at Eskdale, which was expensive but felt very special and the food and wine was lovely - great fish pie! We'd love to come back and try Woodlands Cafe or The Hart pub too.

The Porthole was perfectly sized for a couple and felt very private and spacious with large bedroom and sitting room (a new addition we heard) and it's all decorated beautifully. We didn't want to go home and will miss the sound of the waves tonight.

Thank you Helen and Malcolm!

Harriet & Martin

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hemy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

just arrived home after spending the weekend at the porthole with my husband for a well earned break we went because of the excellent reviews given to Helen the owner we were made very welcome .The porthole is a haven as soon as you walk in the door it is spotlessly clean the and thoughtfully decorated the views are to die for and to wake up to the sounds of the sea and breakfast.. fresh eggs from Helen's chickens
Will defiantly will be going back thank you Helen and Malcolm

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynth_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandsend
0.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,121 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
870 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
461 reviews
1.9 mi away
Saxonville Hotel
Saxonville Hotel
#12 of 20 in Whitby
309 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 20 in Whitby
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandsend Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandsend Cottages

Address: The Lane, Sandsend, Whitby YO21 3SY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby > Sandsend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sandsend
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porthole is a B&B with a difference. An independent building ensuring total privacy with your own parking spot this stunning find is unique. The large 6ft bed where you can look out to sea, nautical decorated bathroom with full bath and shower and your own kitchenette where breakfast is left for you to help yourself at a time of your choosing means a get away from it all break. The owners are on hand to give any help needed. The views are spectacular over the beach and sea towards Whitby Abbey cannot be done justice by photographs. Craigmore with 3 bedrooms has the same magnificent views and can be used with The Porthole to make accommodation for 9 people. Come and see for yourself. Craigmore welcomes dogs ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandsend Cottages Hotel Sandsend
Sandsend Cottages Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing