We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveler rating
251
18
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
251
18
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews helen and malcolm fresh eggs whitby abbey stunning views sound of the waves watch the sunrise bridge cottage preserves master bedroom decking area laid eggs sitting room total privacy attentive hosts free range eggs perfect accommodation large bed
Filter
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 272 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Our 3rd visit to the Porthole and despite the awful weather it was another wonderful stay. The views are incredible. The sound of the sea is the only thing you hear and it lulls you to sleep in the comfy bed in the beautiful bedroom of the Porthole. We love it here and I am only writing this review because Helen and Malcolm deserve the recognition for providing such high quality service and accommodation. I would really like to keep it a secret! It is so private with a continental breakfast provided to eat at your leisure and a separate sitting room with floor to ceiling windows looking out onto the garden and towards the sea. Stunning. Beautiful. We never want to leave and always look forward to going back.

Date of stay: May 2013
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank sally455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Cannot praise this place enough. Just got back from a 2 day break and it was brilliant, fantastic location for lovely walks. Beautiful sea view and accomodation immaculate could not fault this little paradise, will most certainly be back. Thankyou for a very relaxing stay.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankmarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We have just spent two nights at The Porthole and it really was superb. The location and views are stunning and the accommodation is excellent, beautifully decorated and very clean. It was lovely to have the luxury of two rooms and we really enjoyed the freedom of being able to have our breakfast at whatever time suited us. We were able to eat our breakfast outside on the veranda both mornings and soak up the views and the sounds of the sea. The breakfast that Helen left for us was really good - muesli, cereals, home made jams, yoghurt, fruit juice, fresh bread, eggs from their chickens and ground coffee & cafetiere. There was even a bottle of white wine chilling in the fridge! Helen was a great host and made sure that all our needs were catered for, also she gave us lots of information about the local area, places to visit & recommended places to eat. There are some lovely walks to do along the coast and a good pub and restaurant in Sandsend, so you do not need to use the car. The Porthole really is a unique place to stay and we will definitely be back!

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneMA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

The experience we had on our 4 night stay at the Porthole was second to none. We cannot say enough about this fabulous B&B. Helen and Malcom are the most welcoming hosts and made us feel so welcome. Unlike any other B&B we have ever stayed in before, the accomodation has its own private entrance and so you just come and go as you please, you can stay in all day should you wish to. We will be back.

Date of stay: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason2995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We've just got back from a weekend at The Porthole to celebrate our anniversary and it was perfect. Sandsend is so peaceful and relaxing but still complete with amazing restaurants, a couple of cute shops and pub - plus a lovely walk up to Whitby which was so quirky and brilliant (made even better as it was Goth Weekend!).

The best thing about the Porthole was waking up to see the sea straight from the bed - we even set our alarm for 5am to see the sunrise (and then went back to sleep!). We managed wine on the gorgeous balcony even though it was chilly, and would LOVE to come back when the weather is warm enough for breakfast out there. Breakfast was perfect for us - wide range of cereals (lovely muesli with pistachios), fresh bread, orange juice, eggs and homemade jams. The chilled wine in the fridge waiting for us was a real treat and really makes it all feel special.

We ate at Eskdale, which was expensive but felt very special and the food and wine was lovely - great fish pie! We'd love to come back and try Woodlands Cafe or The Hart pub too.

The Porthole was perfectly sized for a couple and felt very private and spacious with large bedroom and sitting room (a new addition we heard) and it's all decorated beautifully. We didn't want to go home and will miss the sound of the waves tonight.

Thank you Helen and Malcolm!

Harriet & Martin

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hemy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews