We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveler rating
248
16
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
248
16
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshelen and malcolmfresh eggswhitby abbeywatch the sunrisestunning viewssound of the wavesbridge cottagepreservessitting roommaster bedroomlaid eggsdecking areatotal privacyfree range eggsperfect accommodationlarge bedfish and chips
Filter
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 266 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Cannot praise this place enough. Just got back from a 2 day break and it was brilliant, fantastic location for lovely walks. Beautiful sea view and accomodation immaculate could not fault this little paradise, will most certainly be back. Thankyou for a very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankmarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We have just spent two nights at The Porthole and it really was superb. The location and views are stunning and the accommodation is excellent, beautifully decorated and very clean. It was lovely to have the luxury of two rooms and we really enjoyed the freedom of being able to have our breakfast at whatever time suited us. We were able to eat our breakfast outside on the veranda both mornings and soak up the views and the sounds of the sea. The breakfast that Helen left for us was really good - muesli, cereals, home made jams, yoghurt, fruit juice, fresh bread, eggs from their chickens and ground coffee & cafetiere. There was even a bottle of white wine chilling in the fridge! Helen was a great host and made sure that all our needs were catered for, also she gave us lots of information about the local area, places to visit & recommended places to eat. There are some lovely walks to do along the coast and a good pub and restaurant in Sandsend, so you do not need to use the car. The Porthole really is a unique place to stay and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneMA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

The experience we had on our 4 night stay at the Porthole was second to none. We cannot say enough about this fabulous B&B. Helen and Malcom are the most welcoming hosts and made us feel so welcome. Unlike any other B&B we have ever stayed in before, the accomodation has its own private entrance and so you just come and go as you please, you can stay in all day should you wish to. We will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason2995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We've just got back from a weekend at The Porthole to celebrate our anniversary and it was perfect. Sandsend is so peaceful and relaxing but still complete with amazing restaurants, a couple of cute shops and pub - plus a lovely walk up to Whitby which was so quirky and brilliant (made even better as it was Goth Weekend!).

The best thing about the Porthole was waking up to see the sea straight from the bed - we even set our alarm for 5am to see the sunrise (and then went back to sleep!). We managed wine on the gorgeous balcony even though it was chilly, and would LOVE to come back when the weather is warm enough for breakfast out there. Breakfast was perfect for us - wide range of cereals (lovely muesli with pistachios), fresh bread, orange juice, eggs and homemade jams. The chilled wine in the fridge waiting for us was a real treat and really makes it all feel special.

We ate at Eskdale, which was expensive but felt very special and the food and wine was lovely - great fish pie! We'd love to come back and try Woodlands Cafe or The Hart pub too.

The Porthole was perfectly sized for a couple and felt very private and spacious with large bedroom and sitting room (a new addition we heard) and it's all decorated beautifully. We didn't want to go home and will miss the sound of the waves tonight.

Thank you Helen and Malcolm!

Harriet & Martin

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hemy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

just arrived home after spending the weekend at the porthole with my husband for a well earned break we went because of the excellent reviews given to Helen the owner we were made very welcome .The porthole is a haven as soon as you walk in the door it is spotlessly clean the and thoughtfully decorated the views are to die for and to wake up to the sounds of the sea and breakfast.. fresh eggs from Helen's chickens
Will defiantly will be going back thank you Helen and Malcolm

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynth_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews