We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveler rating
248
16
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
248
16
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshelen and malcolmfresh eggswhitby abbeystunning viewswatch the sunrisesound of the wavesbridge cottagepreservessitting roommaster bedroomlaid eggsdecking areatotal privacyfree range eggsperfect accommodationlarge bedfish and chips
Filter
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 266 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Yoga in the morning sunshine...breakfast on the deck, eggs courtesy of Ruby & Beatrice! The Porthole is a fabulous find in a fantastic location. Not your usual B&B - breakfast delivered so you can help yourself and take your time. Complete privacy with wonderful hospitality & local knowledge from Helen & Malcolm. Estbek for dinner was superb - a lovely 50th birthday treat! The walk from Sandsend to Runswick Bay along part of the Cleveland Way worth the trip. Can't wait to return to this special place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My fiance and I got a last minute booking at the porthole and despite the windy weather we loved the apartment the views and can't wait to return for much longer next time! Thank you Helen for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alik6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

After reading the reviews of The Porthole we were expecting something special, but I have to say our expectations were exceeded. Helen has thought of everything and her attention to detail is evident throughout. It is spotlessly clean, the views are breathtaking, breakfast is lovely (especially the fresh eggs) and you get a real sense of being away from it all. We'd like to return in the summer when we can spend more time out on the terrace, although we did brave it one evening (it was late February!) with a nice bottle of wine, watching the sea - wonderful. There is nothing negative to say about The Porthole, it's probably perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GraemeDianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is the perfect spot to unwind. The views are beautiful, the accommodation is immaculate and Helen, the ownner,was lovely.Would definitely recommend if you like clifftop and beach walks followed by good food. Check out the Humble Pie shop in Whitby or the Estbek restauraunt in Sandsend for a treat.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuSw44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helenWhitby, Owner at Sandsend Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

We are so pleased that you enjoyed The Porthole. The new sitting room makes all the difference and we have been pleased by all the positive enthusiastic comments both in the visitors book and on Trip Advisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

stayed for two nights late feb, cannot expand on the excellent reviews other than to say it is all true, this place is as good as it gets and the positive reviews are accurate, but its even better! a great place to escape, informative owners, exceptional location.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patrick l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews