We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveler rating
248
16
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
248
16
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshelen and malcolmfresh eggswhitby abbeywatch the sunrisestunning viewssound of the wavesbridge cottagepreservessitting roommaster bedroomlaid eggsdecking areatotal privacyfree range eggsperfect accommodationlarge bedfish and chips
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 266 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed as a family of four over Christmas 21st to 28th December 2012 for our first ever Christmas away from home and had a wonderful time. The cottage is lovely with everything needed for a home from home holiday. The location is perfect with pubs, restaurants, shop and cafe close by. Also an excellent base for visiting other tourist spots around the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank allan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The Porthole is definitely a superb place to enjoy the beauty of Sandsend and surrounding area.A uniquely situated property with fantastic views from both the lounge and the newly added bedroom. The whole of the accommodation is spotless,spacious,bright warm and inviting.The underfloor heating in the bathroom is an excellent idea. Helen and Malcolm were very attentive hosts, we were looked after extremely well during our four night stay.We will definitely return in the future and highly recommend a visit to this unique bed and breakfast accommodation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Porhole is unique; it's not just the location with stunning views and near the beach, so you can hear the waves and wake up to beautiful sunrises - but also the accommodation itself. My wife, who booked the place for my birthday mini-break, and I were the first people to enjoy the enlarged accommodation; there is now a separate, very spacious bedroom and the whole place is very tastefully decorated and with lots of extra touches by the owner, Helen, who looked after us very well; big bowl of fruit, bottle of wine and a well stocked kitchenette. We were very lucky with the weather in November and would like to return in the summer so we can enjoy eating and drinks on the terrace. it is not inexpensive but you do get what you pay for - something different and rather special. Much more than a conventional B&B and very private and peaceful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrewmck25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Superb holiday destination. Brilliant location, close to the beach, facing an estuary with goats and ducks for neighbours, no road outside, but parking nearby. The cottage itself is deceptively spacious, well-furnished, spotlessly clean and lovely and warm. There were 4 of us, 2 adults and 2 children, with a 5 month old puppy, we had ample room, both upstairs and down and the kitchen is very well-equipped; we did most of our cooking ourselves (apart from Helen's very welcome shepherd's pie and friut crumble on our arrival!) and had all the equipment we needed. Lots of entertainment in the lounge if you didn't bring your own. Great walks, in the woods and on the beach. Just a great place to chill and relax, weather not important.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My parents were on a return visit here, they found it due to the high reviews on Trip Advisor and decided to book. Needless to say this has now become a bit of a 'get away' destination for them every now and then. On this particular visit it was my Father's birthday and we wanted to organise something ahead of his arrival, the owners, Malcolm and Helen were very pleased to help in our requests, and ran around Whitby arranging some small surprises for the room on our behalf. Helen even went to the trouble of wrapping the champagne and arranging flowers in the room. My Father was absolutely stunned when he saw the room, and all this added to another fantastic trip to The Porthole.
Helen had recommended to book a meal for two at The Woodlands, which my parents also enjoyed very much, and with it only being a short walk away it was so convenient. They came back with stories of beach walks and watching the sunrise from the balcony...an ideal place to switch off, relax and recharge.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R_Holdsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews