We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveler rating
248
16
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
248
16
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshelen and malcolmfresh eggswhitby abbeystunning viewswatch the sunrisesound of the wavesbridge cottagepreservessitting roommaster bedroomlaid eggsdecking areatotal privacyfree range eggsperfect accommodationlarge bedfish and chips
Filter
Updating list...
219 - 224 of 266 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We have been coming to stay at this house for several years, twice a year. There are usually 2 couples and a dog and we find it spacious, comfortable, clean and safe. We are reasonably active so don’t have a problem with the steps. There are fabulous views down to Whitby and we often sit out on the terrace for breakfast and lunch. Wonderful. The kitchen is spacious and has all the equipment we could need although you do need to take basic household items e.g. dishwasher tablets, washing liquid, kitchen rolls etc. The double bedroom is spacious but the two twin rooms are a bit on the small size but have never caused us a problem. The bathrooms are spacious and there is always plenty of hot water. We are into the routines now and feel at home the minute we arrive and have unpacked. Helen and Malcolm are always on hand should anything be required. There are wonderful walks from the house along the Cleveland way and one of our favourites is to walk along the sands into Whitby. The food in the nearby pubs/restaurants is of a high standard and we enjoy The Hart in Sandsend, The Wheatsheaf at Egton for Sunday Lunch and have sometimes splashed out on Estbeck or Raithwaite Hall at night but often just stay in and enjoy the views with a glass of wine. We have already booked for our next two stays in October and March so it must be good.

Room Tip: we take it in turns to have the double bedroom which has the views to Whitby and the en suite bathroom.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Bronwen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Our recent stay was over the Easter period, what an an idyllic setting !!!
Feel reluctant to tell the world wide web about this little gem because we want to keep it all for ourselves !!
Having stayed in beach fronted 5*+ hotels in South East Asia, 5* strip view rooms in Las Vegas there is nothing to rival the special ambience of the Porthole.
Breathtaking views
Staggering tranquility and comfort
Very genial hosts.
Thank you for our stay, I'm very sure you'll see us both again soon
Glenn & Christine

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leeds4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed at Howdale in the week before Easter. Despite disappointing weather for a couple of days we had a fantastic holiday. The cottage felt like home from the moment we walked through the door; it was well equipped and comfortable. Mrs Lloyd was very friendly and helpful. The location was beautiful - views of the sea and river from the front of the house and back garden. A two minute walk to the beach - and the bus stop to Whitby. A very short walk to Sandsend stores for our morning newspaper and milk. Our favourite day was a walk along the beach to Whitby at low tide.

Writing this review is making me wish I was back again! I thoroughly recommend Howdale.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lislaceyward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

If you want to stay somewhere special then please go to the porthole in Sansend as this is the place for you. The place is unique and ideallic tucked away and very private.
You can see the sea and fall asleep to the sounds of it in the evening.
Very well presented, lovely and clean and the bed is fantastic.
We only stayed for one night i wanted somewhere romantic to take my Turkish boyfriend and i certainly made the right decision we had a lovely relaxing time.
Thankyou to Helen and Malcolm who were very welcoming and accommadating Helen even took us into Whitby in the evening in her own car so we didnt have to drive.
This is the perfect hide a way thankyou helen and malcolm for sharing it with us.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed in March 2012 for Jane's birthday. The place was fantastic and Helen and Malcolm were wonderful hosts - very welcoming and accommodating. The birthday card left for Jane was a lovely touch. If you want somewhere very special to stay then this is the place. The place was lovely, clean, fresh and tastefully decorated with stunning views of the sea from the bed. The breakfast consisted of fresh bread and home made jams and marmalades together with a good selection of cereals and drinks. We will definitely go back and stay again. Thank you Helen and Malcolm for making our stay very memorable.

Room Tip: Wonderful sea views and a lovely terrace
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianPuddephatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews