We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveler rating
248
16
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
248
16
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshelen and malcolmfresh eggswhitby abbeywatch the sunrisestunning viewssound of the wavesbridge cottagepreservessitting roommaster bedroomlaid eggsdecking areatotal privacyfree range eggsperfect accommodationlarge bedfish and chips
Filter
Updating list...
230 - 235 of 266 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Just returned from our 3rd New year at Craigmore. The house is wonderful and homely and excellently equiped with every thing you need for a family break. Helen the host could not be more helpful and goes out of her way to ensure that everything is to our liking. The views from the property are stunning. Needless to say we have already signed up for a fourth new year at Sandsend. The walk into whitby by the shore is superb and a few drinks and food in Whitby followed by a walk back gives a relaxing feel to the holiday. Sandsend also offers an excellent Shop, Pub,Cafes and resteraunts

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We have just returned from a wonderful 4 night break at Howdale cottage, the cottage was so well equipped it had everything we needed and more, Helen did so much to make our stay memorable,and she made our dog very welcome. We were up every morning walking on the very nearby beach just 2 minutes walk away, our dog just loved it. The cottage was the best holiday cottage we have ever stayed in, and the views from every window were stunning, after a lovely day out we looked forward to returning to that wonderful cottage and were so sad to leave, we WILL be returning, thankyou Helen for making our break so memorable. Sandsend and Howdale will not dissapoint you I promise.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LEONIE K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We have stayed at Melrose three times and have truly fallen in love with it... Its a wonderful warm and homely house. We have stayed in summer and enjoyed sitting out and playing on the front lawn and stayed in the winter where we have enjoyed the roaring fires and cosy feel of the house. The top childrens floor is fantastic and the owners kindly share their toys and books with holiday makers, making it a real treat for our children to have a whole array of "new" toys to play with. I can't recommend highly enough. We will be returning as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jollyholsWestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We have just spent another very relaxing week at Craigmore and the beautiful Sandsend.
This must be our 5 th stay at Craigmore and we have throughly enjoyed everyone . Helen as always was extremely helpful and nothing is too much trouble.
We love the fact that our dog is made very welcome and he loves his early morning beach walks. Sandsend is a great place and so close to Whitby.
Craigmore is a lovely property with great views. It is very clean and has everything you would want. It's is excellent for two or six, and my dog loves it and the secure back garden, from which he can see the beach.
Thanks Helen for a great week and we will defiantly be back in 2013

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YogaGirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We have stayed in Howdale before. clean, comfy and in a super valley next to sea.
This september Helen Lloyd suggested Craigmore for our 3 generations of family.
Very clean, comfy, great that our grandson could play in the sunroom whilst we relaxed in the lounge. Dinner around the large farmhouse table was a treat, there was plenty of room for our 7 in the property and the views from the ground floor ,garden ,and the super bedroom were fabulous right across the bay to the Abbey.
Helen Lloyd looked after us well and couldnt do enough to keep us all happy.
We will certainly be back to any sandsend cottages property again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jrewingDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews