We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and fantastic view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Monkey - Dias Rest
Ranked #2 of 34 Haputale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wyndham, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location and fantastic view”
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed there as a couple and only by luck found Dias Rest after reading a few travellers reviews. When we arrived we were met by one of the nicest and most accommodating families you will ever meet.

We were hoping to get the cottage on the cliff edge but unfortunately it was booked so we stayed in one of the other rooms. The room was spacious and comfortable and suited our needs as we just needed somewhere to crash after a long day of walking the fantastic hills and surrounds.

We only stayed in this room for one night and then the cottage was available so we took it up and what an experience. It is quite a small cottage sitting literally on the cliff edge and when with large windows at the front so it feels like you are floating. It does get very chilly at night being so highly perched on the cliff within the clouds and the windows do their best to keep the mist out but the room does get a bit moist.

You have a good variety of food to choose from for each meal and you just have to let the mother know what you want in advance and she will prepare it to your liking.

The location of Dias Rest is a good walk to the Lipton Tea Factory however you can jump on the local bus that passes at the front of the driveway which is an experience in itself. Also make sure you walk up to Liptons seat but go early enough before the clouds roll on in and the view disappears.

I would highly recommend staying at Dias Rest if you want to experience a simple yet friendly experience that gives you a good insight into Sri Lankan family life.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Road-2-somewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    46
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
33
108
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed in the cottage of the White Monkey for 2 nights and really loved it. Dias family and the food is great and we had a lot of fun playing Monopoly and card games with the kids while it was stormy outside.
Of course, it is not the most luxury place, but what can you expect for the price? Still, the cottage has everything you need if you travel on low budget. If its cold outside, just ask for extra blankets. Early in the morning, the view from the cottage is the best and you should not be afraid that you miss it, the monkeys are making sure that you will be awake...

We were very happy to find such a welcoming host on our trip to Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: The cottage has the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babaena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The host was warm and friendly and the view from the room was fantastic. But we only discovered the latter the following morning coz when we reached the place it was raining quite heavily so the area was shrouded in mist.

To be honest i was a little disappointed upon seeing the room coz it was not the cozy cottage i had expected from all the rave reviews here. Firstly, the place was really hard to find and even though we had a private transport, the local driver had problems tracking the place down and we had to go round in circles a few times before finding the route marker on the side of a winding road. We basically alighted by the roadside and had to trek down a slippery flight of steps made of rocks (it was raining when we arrived) before reaching the host's house.

The room was a bit further down from where the host family stayed. The room was very basic and a little run down. What made up for it was the excellent view we got to see when we woke up at 6.30am the following morning. That pretty much made up for our initial disappointment.

We spent the morning trekking up to Lipton's Seat, passing up the tea plantation workers along the way. The view was great, just a tad bit misty. The bus timings were not very regular so in the end, we had to walk down in the rain after missing the bus. The visit to the Dambetanne Factory was interesting and personally, I could have just stayed there coz of the smell :)

Our meals were all prepared by the host family and it was really good authentic Sri Lankan fare.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This family are absolutely lovely, so very welcoming and friendly but leave you with all the privacy you could have ask for. The view from the cottage is amazing but I would still suggest going upto the Lipton's Seat as there is a lovely tea house on top. The amenities are basic here but adequate so would recommend this place if you are travelling with towels etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oliver E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2012

:)) Dias and family are very nice and welcoming .You can enjoy privacy, as the rooms are in a separate ...........The view from the guesthouse is absolutely amazing.Dias, the owner, is very friendly and is always ready to help with any tours or sites you want to see. Their hospitality is such as if they are keen to allow every visitor to experience the beauty of nature that can be experienced in this part of Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riapoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Set in a beautiful location, it's more than a guest house as Dias & Family welcome you like an old friend. You can enjoy privacy, as the rooms are in a separate building but if you want you can spend a lot of time with the family. We enjoyed plenty of time eating in the familly house, playing cricket with the kids, had uncountable cups of tea and good evening conversations. We also got lots of advice on what to visit, what to buy, best prices...
Don't go there looking for lunxury, but if you're after a good experience and meeting amazing people you shoudn't miss it!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

- Dias and family are very nice and welcoming
- Their hospitality is such as if they are keen to allow every visitor to experience the beauty of nature that can be experienced in this part of Sri Lanka.
- When staying at White Monkey Rest expect to experience living with a Sri Lankan family and be fully integrated. That’s at least the impression I received when we dropped by.
- Dias and sons know the areas very well as they grew up there and can provide excellent guided tours to different nature spots within the surrounding area of Haputale.
- Cost of Accommodation is very low and absolutely not profit oriented. I would however also prefer they would charge a higher rate to stay there to increase profits to reinvest in improving the generally simply but good facilities a bit more. E.g. in my opinion the stairs could be redone for easier access and railing is highly recommended as the steps can be quite steep. We missed the steps on our way down when we went down to the house and walked on the side as we didn’t recognize the stones as steps of the stair case.
- The access from the road is not the easiest for everyone and probably more comfortable for the younger and fitter travelers and easy for hikers but maybe not for families with small children and people with a walking disability. Backpacks recommended, not good for suitcases.



Unfortunately we didn’t stay here, but had the pleasure to get to know Dias’ family while we dropped by to inquire about a guided tour to & hiking at the Diyaluma waterfalls. Therefore my comment will not review the accommodation facilities of Dias White Monkey Rest.
I can only tell about my experience of having Promodh as our guide on our way to Diyaluma waterfall and on to our next destination in Tissa which was superb. Thank you for a great experience.
The waterfalls is easily accessible by road as it is literally on the side of the road and can be easily accessed by car/tuktuk. However we wanted to hike up to the top of the waterfall on recommendation by Oliver and so we did. It was at times a steep narrow path through the wilderness but absolutely worth once at the top. Again, it’s not the easiest hike up, but doable if you are fit (as long as it does not rain and you are on the way back down  slippery). The view from the top are absolutely breath taking and if we had time there is also a possibility to take a dip in the “pools” just before the water heads down the 190m.
We were absolutely thankful for the experience especially since we were initially cancelling the hike up to the waterfall after we were not sure if the weather would keep up and it did fortunately.
As a last note, I have to say that Promodh was very patient with us as we couldn’t initially make up our mind how we would get to the waterfall and then on to our next destination Tissa. We initially canceled and decided to go by Tuktuk but then changed our minds again and decided to go for the hike and with a van that Promodh got us from Haputale (as the initial van we intended to take was not available). Overall a great experience.
Price: no fix price for the tour, he only asks to give whatever one feels is right (initially offered LKR2,000, but eventually gave him LKR2500), the cost of hiring the van (route Haputale – Tissa) was LKR6,000 plus tip for waiting at waterfalls.

Tip: If you are a luxury traveler, don't stay here. Book yourself in at the Melheim (at approx 15x the price), but it's really nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlexDrIVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haputale hotels
1.7 mi away
Olympus Plaza Hotel
Olympus Plaza Hotel
#1 of 2 in Haputale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
2.3 mi away
Leisure Mount View Holiday Inn
0.0 mi away
Thotalagala
Thotalagala
#3 of 34 in Haputale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
White Home
White Home
#5 of 34 in Haputale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.3 mi away
ABC Guest Inn
ABC Guest Inn
#23 of 34 in Haputale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
1.2 mi away
Srilak View Holiday Inn
Srilak View Holiday Inn
#8 of 34 in Haputale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Monkey - Dias Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Monkey - Dias Rest

Property: White Monkey - Dias Rest
Address: 3 Km Post, Dambetanne Road | Hillside Thotulagalla, Haputale 90160, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Haputale
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Haputale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your White Monkey - Dias Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing