We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful hosts.”
Review of Awinco Rest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Awinco Rest
Ranked #15 of 41 Haputale B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I wanted to experience the new train service from Colombo, and chose to travel to Haputale, which is a very favorite destination of mine. Through a local tour operator web site I found and decided to stay over night at the Awinco Guest house. It is a modest guest house with clean rooms abathrooms, run by a family. The hosts are very friendly and welcoming. I took dinner in the room. The food was not spectacular, but simple and tasty? I managed to get a decent amount of sleep thanks to a nice soft blanket. Breakfast was moreThan I expected, with fresh bread toast and eggs. All this at a very reason rates, made this an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The room facing the road has a beautiful view out of the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jawed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 172 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

We spent 3 nights here in one of the more simple rooms. The room was nothing special but the shared living spaces, the view and the wonderful people make this a great guesthouse! We highly recommend awinco to anyone looking for genuine and warm hospitality in a great position.

Also, the owner made sure we could get to Horton plains and Lipton seat at the best possible rates, which we greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lissbrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Me and my husband spent 4 nights at Awinco rest in March 2013. We went there to celebrate our two years anniversary and it was splendid as we selected right place to stay. Awinco rest is situated in Badulla Haputale main road, very close to Haputale main town and railway station. We traveled by train and we returned back by bus. Transportation is very easy as you can get in to buses to visit places just in front of Awinco. It is a calm and serene place run by a sweet family (husband wife and their son). They were like our own brother and sister. We felt the homely warmth and the guidance provided to us on how to spend the five days in visiting locations is praiseworthy. We visited Diyaluma, Bambarakanda, Dunhida, Rawana Falls, Lipton Seat, Dambethenne Tea Factory, Adhisham Bungalow, Dhowa temple and Muthiyangana temple.The rooms and washrooms were clean, very simple and neat with basic needs plus hot water. foods were delicious and we had different types of Sri Lankan plates. We never heard the word "No" from them for anything, they provided us with all our needs. We spent two nights in the front room with the sun view and two days in a back room with the forest view and the sound of the stream. It was a wonderful journey and Awinco made it magnificent amide the misty hilltops.........

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anushkashyamali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Welcoming and friendly family. Cheap and clean rooms but could be improved. It would be nice to have a shower curtain so the entire bathroom does not get wet, some soap and a duvet as opposed to a sheet and fleecy sheet (rather cool in Haputale).

The food is nothing special. Located on main road with little outdoor space to relax but view is okay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bamboosticks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We spent two nights at awinco rest with my family & my wife's parents. actually it was a very nice place.it is situated in badulla haputale main road. awinco rest is very closed to haputale junction & railway station. from this place we can see the trains.this place is a very convenient place.the mist was lovely.always we can here the water falling noise. the rooms & bathroom was clean & neat.the hospitality that they extended to us was excellent.

Room Tip: for a big family room no. 04 & 06 is good because there our joined.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prasad l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We spent one night at awinco rest and truely loved it! Ok, due to the humidity some of the walls had patches of mould on them. Also, the beds aren't designed for people taller than 1.90m. That's really for the downside at awinco. On the upside, you will enjoy an amazing homestay with a wonderful family of three that would probably walk to colombo if you asked them to do so. They were so incredibly welcoming and helpful, it almost made us feel sorry (e.g. free tuk-tuk pick up from station just to name on example). The food cooked by mum was a real delight. The charming village of haputale is somewhat of a gem and close to loads of sights. Yet it is pleasantly untouristy. On top of that, the family knows every corner of the country and can help you with you onward travel. To put it all in a nutshell: staying at awinco means staying in a beautifully set house with a warm-hearted family. We'd undoubtedly go for awinco again if travelling to haputale!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night in April 2013 and we're so happy we did. This guesthouse has been open for about a year and run by a very welcoming family. We were shown 3 rooms - 2 in the back and 1 in the front. We took the front one with a great view. The room was a good size for 2 persons, clean and simple, and felt like home. The owners definitely seem keen to improve as they've added mosquito nets since the previous review.

The location is on the main road and ~ 10-12 min walk away from town. It was great to be away from the main town area but still within a convenient distance. Light sleepers may be disturbed from the road noise in morning. We were picked up for free from the train station.

We had dinner and lunch here - dinner was easily one of the best meals we had during our entire trip. We notified them quite late in the day and they still accommodated our request - excellent hospitality.

The owner helped us arrange a tuk-tuk to Horton Plains and to the Dambatenne tea factory. Both times he was adamant about getting us a very fair rate.

Overall, we highly recommend this place. It was an excellent value and the family did everything to make sure our stay was relaxing. One minor nitpick was that since Haputale is chilly at night, the water felt more lukewarm than hot.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abflex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haputale hotels
1.5 mi away
Muthu View Resort
Muthu View Resort
#2 of 3 in Haputale
3 reviews
1.4 mi away
Leisure Mount View Holiday Inn
1.2 mi away
White Monkey - Dias Rest
White Monkey - Dias Rest
#3 of 41 in Haputale
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
High Cliffe Hotel
High Cliffe Hotel
#22 of 41 in Haputale
43 reviews
1.5 mi away
White Home
White Home
#7 of 41 in Haputale
136 reviews
0.8 mi away
Srilak View Holiday Inn
Srilak View Holiday Inn
#5 of 41 in Haputale
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awinco Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awinco Rest

Address: A16, Badulla Road, Haputale 90160, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Haputale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Haputale
Price Range: $13 - $20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awinco Rest was started in 2011 by Gamini Priyantha. It is down under the Haputale forest. A small river passes the guesthouse on. A front room and the dining hall have a superb panorama view over the western valleys of Uva province. All the mountain ridges from Haputale town via Tangamale, Idalghashinna, Ohiya, Horton Plains, Diyatalawa and Pidurulagala can bee seen from here. One of best places to see amazing sunsets. Awinco has a big hall divided in dining, rest and TV area. The front yard has lot of place to sit down and relax. All four rooms have double-beds, racks, mirrors, western bath and hot shower. Common needs like blankets, nets, towels, soap, toilet paper, first aid, taxi or doctor call are free of charge. Electricity 230 V. TV in hall. Checkout time is 10 AM. Some games are available. Local calls available. We offer local and western breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks and take away parcels from our menu card. We have a big choice of fish, chicken, egg and vegetarian curries, rice, noodles, vegetables, fruits, juices, soft drinks, yoghurts and ice cream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Awinco Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing