We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, relaxing and very friendly hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Leisure Mount View Holiday Inn
Ranked #1 of 34 Haputale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely, relaxing and very friendly hideaway”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The main reason to visit this guesthouse would be for the amazing views, a very friendly welcome, and the amazing food cooked by mother and son (who made the best rice and curry we tasted in Sri Lanka, and is practicing recipes learned at hotel management school). Taking a break to read a book outside, or to go for one of the amazing walks nearby (Lipton's Seat location is stunning) is recommended. And while the rooms are simple, there is everything you need and indeed very fast wi-fi. So a great place to wind down a little and enjoy the hospitality of a very friendly and welcoming family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    122
    36
    5
    12
See reviews for
71
228
37
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there 2 nights and found the place to be fine but remarkably average, especially for the price which seems to have increased quite a bit. The family was helpful and pleasant - as most Sri Lankans are - but the room was quite small and run down. And while the view is indeed beautiful on a clear day, it is currently being built in front of (the accommodation is expanding). So while this remains a decent guesthouse, it's not the great cheap find it once was and perhaps does not merit some of the rave reviews below.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndFu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed late April in Leisure Mount View Holiday Inn and loved it. The hosts were extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful. Their home cooking is very good and we enjoyed sitting outside just enjoying the amazing view over the teafields. The rooms are basic, but all the amenities you want are there. Because it is a couple of km's outside of town we used tuk-tuks to get there and away (those were in general organised by the hosts and were always spot on on time and very friendly and trustworthy people. There are also some walks nearby which you can explore.
It is definitely worth going there!

Room Tip: They are building new rooms at the moment which will mean that you will wake up to the amazing views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BWK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Incredible views. Reasonably priced for this part of Sri Lanka and very friendly hospitality. The wi-fi connection was also very good, which is important ;) It is nice and close to the Bird Sanctuary, tea houses and Monestry, and not too far a drive from Hortons Plains.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertm155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed here for several days in April. It was the most welcoming accommodation we stayed at. A great attraction for the children on the wet moments was the cable TV and very strong WIFI which we used to Skype. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckytheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Sit atop the mountain and look over the tea plantations as far as the eye can see, with the workers picking and the trucks taking the days load to the tea factory. Further beyond you can see the extensive network of tanks (lakes). It is a special view, but even more special is the family you will welcomed into.

Our family of 5 was picked up by Sana at the train station and escorted to the tea plantation guest house which is out of town and therefore peaceful. On arrival we were greeted by Chithra (mother & Sana's brother) and Dayawathi (grandma) and given a welcoming cup of tea. Thereafter we have been pampered by Shehani (daughter) and especially Hashan (son) who has looked after our every need (the hospitality was given despite a recent great sadness). Hashan is well through a Hotel Management degree and understands everything one needs to know about hospitality and servicing. With impeccable english and the most personable gentleman you could meet he is trained in preparing all types of international cuisine. The food cooked by Hashan and Chithra is simply excellent. Hashan can also organise all your tour needs with a group of reliable, and inexpensive Tuk Tuk and taxi drivers, which is another reason you should stay here.

Most base their stays at Ella, just down the road, but here is better. Ella is small and dominated by tourists, there are as many visitors on the main road as there are locals. At the Leisure Mount you are isolated from the throng. Whatsmore you are closer to Worlds End (2 hour trip, RS 6000 by van, less by tuk tuk). Take a Tuk Tuk to Lipton's Seat (RS 1200) and walk down to the Tea Factory (RS 250) meeting the locals on the way (note you can now buy tea from here, previously you couldn't). Ella can be easily viewed in a day visit.

Or you can just relax, enjoy the view and hospitality or take one of endless walks through the surrounding tea plantations.

We are off to the Lake Edge Holiday Inn in Tissa (they are cousins to the Leisure Mount family).

Note that 6 new rooms are being constructed with uninterrupted views down the valley. They will be available near the end of 2013. The current rooms are great, comfy beds and good hot water rooms, and no noise whatever in the night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colostomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I couldn't believe such a place can exist, when I read all the reviews here. And yes, it is true: the family is more then welcoming, the food is excellent, the rooms are really clean. At first we were worried, that it is too far out of the city, but it wasn't a problem: you sit together with the other guests while eating, so you can chat, and it is a far better choice with the excellent view, than the grey and noisy Haputale.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haputale
1.8 mi away
Melheim Resort
Melheim Resort
#1 of 1 in Beragala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.6 mi away
Olympus Plaza Hotel
Olympus Plaza Hotel
#1 of 2 in Haputale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
10.1 mi away
Feelin'good Resort
Feelin'good Resort
#4 of 11 in Ella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
White Monkey - Dias Rest
White Monkey - Dias Rest
#2 of 34 in Haputale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thotalagala
Thotalagala
#3 of 34 in Haputale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
1.2 mi away
Srilak View Holiday Inn
Srilak View Holiday Inn
#7 of 34 in Haputale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leisure Mount View Holiday Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leisure Mount View Holiday Inn

Property: Leisure Mount View Holiday Inn
Address: Temple Road, Haputale 90160, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Haputale
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Haputale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Leisure Mount View Holiday Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing