We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, lovely family run guest house”
Review of ABC Guest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
ABC Guest Inn
Ranked #26 of 39 Haputale B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Lovely family who run the inn (the kids will want to play games), clean rooms, shower with hot water, good value for budget travellers to take a room with no view and shared bathroom (it's clean so no worries). Good location, just down some stairs from the station and town. Free wifi.

Solo travellers can negotiate down the price. It was homey and comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ajume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
There are newer reviews for ABC Guest Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 201 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Nice hotel, great views of tea tree plantations. The hotel is located a few meters from the city center. We recommend dining in the city. The meal offered at the hotel was not very good.
Beautiful surroundings for trips.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milos U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is not some swanky hotel - actually far from it. You are staying in someone's partly complete home so expect no luxury - but if you are expecting luxury for under 10 GBP then you must be crazy anyway. We were approached at the station by the owner of the guest house and usually we just look for own place to stay but the offer of a (very) cheap room and a free tuk tuk down the hill swayed us and I'm glad it did.
We picked a room on the third floor which had an unfinished balcony, (but you could still sit out there at your own risk) with probably the most breathtaking views I have ever seen anywhere in the world. You look directly into tea plantations and hills and sometimes the whole area gets taken over by a massive cloud or two - it's surreal.
The food in the hotel has given me the best Sri Lankan curry so far, but some of the western options can be pricey, but it is all cooked to order with fresh ingredients.
I would stay here instead of Ella and instead take a bus one way and a train back( just have your camera ready on the train) to make Ella an inexpensive day trip. Also Liptons seat is amazing if you get there on a good day. The owner is more than happy to help without selling you things and save us about 3 hours off our onward journey to Arugum Bay with his advice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJno41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

You can find this place sitting on a hillside with rooms that offer stunning views over the valley and tea plantations. You can expect free wifi if you have your own computer, otherwise use theirs for 100Rs/hour. They also serve you food at tourist prices, if you feel like staying in. You can lounge around on their sofas, which seem cosy enough. Balconies are also available for guests to enjoy, although they don't offer stunning views unless you crane your neck around the side of the building. Otherwise it's the bus stop above the hill you'll be looking at.

This place has some nice rooms, charging 1500Rs and up for a room with a view and own toilet. They also have rooms with shared bathrooms from 900Rs and up.

All the rooms, with the exception of the 900Rs room, are nicely kept, clean and spacious enough as well. I had to stay in the 900 Rs room due to losing my ATM card and needing the cheap option. This room shares a bathroom, is ridiculously tiny and boxy, has nothing in it but a broken chair and a small box, has a bed that wasn't very clean and an opening in the wall above the door so you hear absolutely everything that goes on in the guest house. My advice: pay the extra or try a different guesthouse.

Staff here are ok with limited guest interaction. Their friendly kids and house cat provide more interaction with the guests. Overall, this is a nice place, clean with all you would need on your travels. Rooms are priced about the same as the Sri Lak View nearby, but bargain the price, as it is a level below the Sri Lak hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingCarlito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We just stayed one night but it was great. The view on the tea plantation is stunning, the rooms are OK & clean. But what we appreciated the most is the family atmosphere and nice welcome. It was holidays so before dinner (which was excellent) we just spent time playing with the kids in the living room which is also the restaurant room. Very nice !

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I did not like the place, as it had a weird vibe in it.
The rooms are mouldy. There is one bathroom for 4 rooms and the whole construction does not seem to be finished. Avoid 1500 LKR rooms. They are the most crappy cubicles I have ever seen in my backpacking life. If you have a choice, go for something else.
Owner wants to sell you trips, but there is not much pressure. He can fix most of stuff you require, but as mentioned...there was something not good about the place and the owner...or he just did not like me.
The house is situated just in te centre of Haputale.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spacerowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed in this guest house in March 2013. When we arrived at the train station, we were picked up by a tuk-tuk and brought to the guest inn (free of cost). It is a very friendly place that is located close to the city center and in the middle of tea plantations. In our room we had an amazing view over the tea plantations. The rooms are clean and you get very good value for the money.
The family that owns the place is welcoming and helpful when you need any advice on planing your trip. The food is amazing - you should definitively stay in one night for the dinner. We also enjoyed Haputale very much, which was less touristy than Ella. If you plan to go to Ella, we recommend to stop by in Haputale and stay in this guesthouse.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricia_ko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haputale hotels
1.0 mi away
Leisure Mount View Holiday Inn
1.3 mi away
White Monkey - Dias Rest
White Monkey - Dias Rest
#3 of 39 in Haputale
241 reviews
0.5 mi away
Awinco Rest
Awinco Rest
#12 of 39 in Haputale
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Amarasinghe Guesthouse
Amarasinghe Guesthouse
#8 of 39 in Haputale
132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Polo Region Rest Inn
Polo Region Rest Inn
#18 of 39 in Haputale
12 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Olinka
Hotel Olinka
#4 of 18 in Haputale
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABC Guest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABC Guest Inn

Address: No. 109 Sherwood Part, Haputale 90160, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Haputale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Haputale
Price Range: $10 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — ABC Guest Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We pride ourselves on our hospitality and our home cooked food. We have family rooms available with attached bathroom or double and twin rooms. You can enjoy authentic Sri Lankan meals cooked for breakfast or dinner. Spice or no spice it is not a problem as we can tailor meals to your diet. The views are great from our balconies and we are relaxed about what time you would like to order breakfast. As well we have WiFi and internet for low price. And every bathroom has hot water.Free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your ABC Guest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing